DSA 2011
TREX8:
hi Trex8,we put RGS as second choice but still get that email ... So now even more puzzling
- why send out that email only AFTER we have submitted our DSA preference
- how does RGS track the submission so that system knows when to send out the email (since submission is through moe website, not RGS website???)
firstly, GRATZ to yr DD successful COs in DSA.
you are right, the schools would probably not know your choices yet through submission via MOE. therefore, I am guessing RGS is sending to all their CO applicants.
therefore, there should be another hidden diplomatic message to those who have a few COs, making their choices.
[quote]\"DSA is a two way commitment - schools will honour the offer made to the student and the student, should likewise, commit to the school once he/she accepted the offer. Thus schools should not accept transfer requests by DSA student solely based on PSLE results, however well these students have done in the recent PSLE.\"
I think it is a diplomatic way of saying -
You applied to us via DSA, we then offered you a CO;
you have chosen us as 1st choice and we accept and reserve a spot for yr DD.
Perhaps you only got a WL for NYGH or failed to make it to NUSH, and if after PSLE results, yr DD got a super >270 Tscore, dun make us mahuan and apply for appeal to other schools after we already commit to each other hor. [/quote]
[i]footnote : for those applicants who have a few COs, pls think carefully which sch u choose as first choice.
if u choose us as 1st choice, we will gladly welcome u
if u forgo us, and choose xxxx as 1st choice, it's okay, we will allocate that spot to someone else who value us more.
BUT tell u first hor, later dun later get PSLE results, find that many of yr DD's frens going to RGS, then decide to change yr mind and come back appeal, kpkb that u HAD a CO, and results is solid, and demand that u should automatic get back yr spot. We may not accept you anymore, since you were the one who rejected our offer to start with.
Like we said in our email initially, IT is a 2-way commitment
So, think carefully before submission. I think MOE is pissed from making all the last minute changes in previous years and is trying to discourage this practice. :imanangel:
seriously, CloudeeDaz is right - it must be a pain for MOE and affected schools to keep changing the students roster, even at the last minute ( some only get successful appeals right at the end Dec or beginning of the new term ! ) -
ngbrdad:
Sometimes I wonder why they never try to affiliated RGPS with RGS .
On COP, like what vks2010 said, the COP for NYGH for affiliated NYPS girls is 250 flat or even 247 if you score HCL distinction(+3). For schools like NYGH which is more of similar category to MGS and SCGS etc in terms of allowing affiliated primary sch girls to enter at a much lower pre set COP, the remaining vacancies for S1 posting are in relation much more limited, thus leading to the seemingly higher S1 COPs for such schools. For some of such schools, the non affiliated girls who enter via S1 posting may constitute only up to 2 classes of the whole secondary 1 cohort. For affiliated schs, please refer to both affiliated COP and S1 posting COP to get a better pictureSnow Crystal:
[quote=\"cluelessmom\"]
Yep.....exactly.....I have no idea y so........ Peer influence? Hmmmmm, she is a little wavered...... I still dun get it.....
On the other hand, RGS has no affiliated primary sch ie other than DSA, it's largely public offering, no private placement
Beyond COP, NYGH vs RGS each has its merits and beauty :evil: and you can refer to another thread with relevant heading.
Just becos they have different management committee ?[/quote]RGPS is a government school
RGS is also government school
there is no affiliation between government schools
NYPS has affiliation (girls only) to NYGH because previously they were established as one single school, primary to secondary, by the founders of the school, not set up by government
till these days, both NYGH and NYPS still need to raise fund privately, and the land that NYPS and NYK currently sitting on was donated by founders
The school was founded in 1917 by Tan Chu Nan and Teo Eng Hock as the Primary section of Nanyang Girls' High School with a pioneer enrolment of 100 pupils. It functioned in a rented shophouse at Dhoby Ghaut, adjacent to the Cathay Cineplex. In 1927, the school moved to its current premises at King's Road. It was the then-chairman Lee Chin Tien and principal Liew Yuen Sien who revamped the school. -
Exactly. Think about it, if 250 is roughly top 10% and 260 is roughly top 3% (EESIS COP top 3% is 260), RGS cohort comprises largely top 3% girls :nunchuk: :nailbite: cos 2010 S1 COP is 260 flat with no bonus point for HCL. NYGH on the other hand has a cohort, including its affiliated pri sch girls, who are roughly up to the top 10% girls. Affiliated schools like NYGH, MGS,SCGS, CHIJ etc have a special purpose to serve and cater to their affiliated primary school girls :grphug:
Why would they want to? RGS is already a premier school without affiliation. Having an affiliated school will only bring down the calibre of the general student population because they would be obliged to take in students from an affiliated primary school at a lower COP compared to the general student population. Having an affiliated primary school only serves to benefit RGPS not RGS. Already schools with affiliations are trying to raise their affiliated COPs but are facing the wrath of current parents. Why step into a frying pan when you don't need to?
However, there is a much larger group of GEP girls in RGS compared to NYGH. -
Hi, I am pretty new in this forum

Has anyone came across DSA via Weiqi to any of the top schools and IP schools?
Thanks! -
Snow Crystal:
it is not just purely catering to the brightest in PSLE, it is also about giving an opportunity to their own girls (and boys for other affiliated boy schools), in the belief that they are some who will bloom later and the continued culture and ethos of the affiliated sec schools would suit them better - that was the whole purpose of education, how to be a person, more than just getting the best grades in exams
Exactly. Think about it, if 250 is roughly top 10% and 260 is roughly top 3% (EESIS COP top 3% is 260), RGS cohort comprises largely top 3% girls :nunchuk: :nailbite: cos 2010 S1 COP is 260 flat with no bonus point for HCL. NYGH on the other hand has a cohort, including its affiliated pri sch girls, who are roughly up to the top 10% girls. Affiliated schools like NYGH, MGS,SCGS, CHIJ etc have a special purpose to serve and cater to their affiliated primary school girls :grphug:jtoh:
Why would they want to? RGS is already a premier school without affiliation. Having an affiliated school will only bring down the calibre of the general student population because they would be obliged to take in students from an affiliated primary school at a lower COP compared to the general student population. Having an affiliated primary school only serves to benefit RGPS not RGS. Already schools with affiliations are trying to raise their affiliated COPs but are facing the wrath of current parents. Why step into a frying pan when you don't need to?
However, there is a much larger group of GEP girls in RGS compared to NYGH.
if there is affiliation for NYPS boys, my DS won't have gone to other school -
No what. Your son could have gone to the closest affiliated school to NYGH but chose to go to the other mountain. :siam:
if there is affiliation for NYPS boys, my DS won't have gone to other school -
no lah, that is affiliated to NYGH, but the boys for year 1 - 4 have no affiliation and no discount, school motto also different, so near yet so \"different\"....well, could have been, but no leh ......
No what. Your son could have gone to the closest affiliated school to NYGH but chose to go to the other mountain. :siam:verykiasu2010:
if there is affiliation for NYPS boys, my DS won't have gone to other school
it is more like \"marriage of convenience\" ... :siam: :siam:
no lah, that is affiliated to NYGH, but the boys for year 1 - 4 have no affiliation and no discount, school motto also different, so near yet so \"different\"....well, could have been, but no leh ......
No what. Your son could have gone to the closest affiliated school to NYGH but chose to go to the other mountain. :siam:jtoh:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
[/quote]Haha.. I know it's not affiliated to NYPS but it's affiliated to NYGH which is affiliated to NYPS so close relative twice removed.
No what. Your son could have gone to the closest affiliated school to NYGH but chose to go to the other mountain. :siam:jtoh:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
[/quote]No lah... your DS prefers Dragon Fruits to Apples lah...
:siam: :rotflmao:
Song22:
I think you can check with HCI . I think they are open for DSA for non sport cca which I suppose Weiqi should be included. During their open house, they have set up classroom for chinese chess and Weiqi .... Seems like they are sourcing for pri 6 kids who can play well as they took down names And contacts of those pri sch kids who manage to win their chess representatives ...Hi, I am pretty new in this forum

Has anyone came across DSA via Weiqi to any of the top schools and IP schools?
Thanks!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.