Pat's Schoolhouse
mtdt:
correct.. the different treatment by different teachers.. the older one keeps telling me to get the child off the diapers.. the younger one told me to put the child back on diapers.... the younger one cried one month every morning when going to school in june last year..(imagine it's the same child who never cry during first day of school, first week of school, first month of sch at all.. ).. i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..smurfy:
my younger child's teacher can sms me last year to ask me to put my child back on diapers coz they spent too much time to change the kids.. whereas the older child playgroup teacher then kept on encouraging us to let the child wear undies.. luck luck luck
huh... so charm? she kept having accidents?
mine opp... kept asking me to start together to get him off diapers. I am the lazy one that want to wait alittle longer.
smurfy:
hmmm... in this case, maybe the tr feels the kid is not ready... no point stress her if she is not willing to speakup that she needs to go?
i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..
not all kids needs to be trained by age3 mah..
mtdt:
she is ready at home leh.. not ready in school nia.. but i am somehow sure that a lot of other parents commented on this class teachers.. coz voila ... neither of the teachers follow the class up to nursery (usual practice is one of the trc will follow up)
hmmm... in this case, maybe the tr feels the kid is not ready... no point stress her if she is not willing to speakup that she needs to go?smurfy:
i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..
not all kids needs to be trained by age3 mah..
empressplace:
Same here :sad:smurfy:
recently i attend a birthday party organized by my kid's classmate parents. one of the mummies who had an older kid graduated from pat's.. said something is missing in pats now.. majority of us have doubts now.. even though our kids are in K2, we are all wondering whether we should let our younger kids continue in pats.....
Yes, same thoughts. -
smurfy:
My DS' communication book doesn't even have this piece of paper. We are totally ignorant until my DS told us that he has to bring something to school for show and tell. Totally not aware of the schedule. And when he was late for school that day, I got a SMS from teacher saying that he missed it. Think he reached school at 9.10 or 9.15am. I was like :whut:empressplace:
May I enquire when your K2 child started spelling this year and do they have Show & Tell sessions?
for my k2 child.. Show and tell officially started this year, term 1. there was a piece of paper inside their communication book.. telling them the theme of the show and tell, and which week they were supposed to perform.. e.g. each week on a friday.. 3-4 kids perform the show and tell within their own class.
Pretty sure had it been my DD's teacher years ago, it wouldn't be so harshly handled. -
breezie80:
btw, the PE prog is across all Pat's centres.
Oh is that so? I am not aware of this. Wonder if this was the reason that DS said last Thurs that he had to wear sports shoes to school?!
Already, his Chinese S&P is on alternate week with English S&P (and I feel short-changed for that as there is one day each week where he doesn't get EP, which is supposedly a daily program). Why can't his centre just do weekly Chinese S&P instead? -
breezie80:
Anyway, swimming is an optional program which you have to pay if you want to sign up for it. In our DS' school, they still have it but it is at the expense of English and Chinese S&P whereby they combine both by alternating between English and Chinese on bi-weekly basis. That's why my DS does not have any EP on the day when others go for swimming lesson as we didn't sign him up for swimming.
That's exactly my thoughts! have u tried asking the principal? i think the swimming lessons etc are also removed for other branches. I know serangoon does not offer.princesskaris:
Any differences between Lim Ah Pin and Aroozoo branches ? I'm not very happy with the switch from speech and drama to PE class too. Why do the kids need to have so many outdoor activities when they have outdoor activities every morning? And why replace speech and drama class instead of other enrichment classes? Is it because Pat's English teachers are not up to standard to teach Speech and drama? I seriously wonder.
I seriously need to consider whether to let my child continue pre-school there. -
smurfy:
Do you mean Harmony Road? I was told a year ago that it will be removed eventually when the current batch who have had it graduate. The idea is not to introduce to the new playgroup students, but those who have started doing the program should be able to continue till graduation.LAP branch english speech n drama oso removed and replaced by PE.
i know LAP branch stopped offering swimming coz of the timing issue, due to some government guidelines. Keyboard not too sure status. -
empressplace:
The children will get the spelling lists when they are in P1. For me, I am happy that I am not given the spelling list to teach my DS. The children spend so much of their time in school as it is. We shouldn't be taking over the teaching from the teachers, a complaint that many parents with older children in primary schools are harping about.applemum, thanks for the information.
However I thought this system is not efficient/ideal. Why should the parents not be kept aware of the learning progress and participate in it or at least reinforce teaching at home? For example, if the child is not spelling words properly, an accurate assessment should be given to parents and remedial action should be suggested to parents. Perhaps some simple correction exercises over the weekend would help. Why wait till P1 to struggle?
In my own memory of spelling ....ahem..decades ago, spelling means learning a list of words, being tested on a specified date and doing some corrections if needed. What's wrong with this simple method?
If you feel that your child needs to memorize spelling, you can come out with your own list, or use the high frequency word list. My older child is in P3 and I don't find her being in any worse off position despite not having any spelling list to memorize when she was younger. -
mtdt:
Agree with everything you wrote above. However, during my DD's time, I don't know if there was any spelling, as we didn't see any spelling book at the end of each term. But this is still fine with me, as long as she has a strong foundation in the language which I believe Pat's has taught her well, spelling can be picked up.My boy was ex Pats kid... now in P1. Sad to learn the changes in PATS.
Eng S&D - is getting more and more impt as it would help in kids Show and tell in future. After the year end concert - all the kids were also given a Certificate of Distinction on DRama by a UK uni. Will this be gone too?
Chi S&D - also helps kids to have more love in the language using interesting chi stories and acting out. I rem my kid love all the chinese S&D time.
Spelling - same as applemum. Although there was no spelling list given, we do see the spelling book at the end of each term. According to the trs, they dont need to give spelling list to prep the kids as kids are expected to spell via phonics and not rote memory. It was indeed a useful way to teach spelling as it would works wonder after that...
Chinese ting xie - no way its going to be phonics based but kids do get it right and rem the words longterm.
Well - I would say the old ways of pats teaching does works. but I would be sad/angry with the removal of the enrichment classes offered.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.