Pat's Schoolhouse
smurfy:
true that it wld be sad if the kids end up with unhappy experiences / memories from their presch.
what i want to say is.. that teacher does not live pat's values.. imagine u see the kids scrambling quickly to queue up coz the teacher was counting down 5....4... 3....2...1...it's preschool.. not army daze or from boys to men...
my boy loves his presch and we recently had a gathering. everyone had a great time chit chat and catch up.
maybe the new / old pats really different.... -
All the above bad feedbacks shocked me. My girl had very encouraging and patient teachers in Pats last time. Infact, they were a lot more patient than me! She had very wonderful learn through play experiences although I must agree that the teachers did instilled more discipline as the kids progressed to higher level. As for pri sch, her teachers are also very nice.
applemum:
All the above bad feedbacks shocked me. My girl had very encouraging and patient teachers in Pats last time. Infact, they were a lot more patient than me! She had very wonderful learn through play experiences although I must agree that the teachers did instilled more discipline as the kids progressed to higher level. As for pri sch, her teachers are also very nice.
my child oso had very encouraging teacher in playgroup n nursery leh.. only K1-K2.. luck luck luck..
my younger child's teacher can sms me last year to ask me to put my child back on diapers coz they spent too much time to change the kids.. whereas the older child playgroup teacher then kept on encouraging us to let the child wear undies.. luck luck luck -
smurfy:
my younger child's teacher can sms me last year to ask me to put my child back on diapers coz they spent too much time to change the kids.. whereas the older child playgroup teacher then kept on encouraging us to let the child wear undies.. luck luck luck
huh... so charm? she kept having accidents?
mine opp... kept asking me to start together to get him off diapers. I am the lazy one that want to wait alittle longer.
mtdt:
correct.. the different treatment by different teachers.. the older one keeps telling me to get the child off the diapers.. the younger one told me to put the child back on diapers.... the younger one cried one month every morning when going to school in june last year..(imagine it's the same child who never cry during first day of school, first week of school, first month of sch at all.. ).. i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..smurfy:
my younger child's teacher can sms me last year to ask me to put my child back on diapers coz they spent too much time to change the kids.. whereas the older child playgroup teacher then kept on encouraging us to let the child wear undies.. luck luck luck
huh... so charm? she kept having accidents?
mine opp... kept asking me to start together to get him off diapers. I am the lazy one that want to wait alittle longer.
smurfy:
hmmm... in this case, maybe the tr feels the kid is not ready... no point stress her if she is not willing to speakup that she needs to go?
i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..
not all kids needs to be trained by age3 mah..
mtdt:
she is ready at home leh.. not ready in school nia.. but i am somehow sure that a lot of other parents commented on this class teachers.. coz voila ... neither of the teachers follow the class up to nursery (usual practice is one of the trc will follow up)
hmmm... in this case, maybe the tr feels the kid is not ready... no point stress her if she is not willing to speakup that she needs to go?smurfy:
i suspect it was because of the toilet training issue.. Accidents coz the younger one dun dare to speak up.. quiet :(.. teacher tell me is the character... HARD to change..
not all kids needs to be trained by age3 mah..
empressplace:
Same here :sad:smurfy:
recently i attend a birthday party organized by my kid's classmate parents. one of the mummies who had an older kid graduated from pat's.. said something is missing in pats now.. majority of us have doubts now.. even though our kids are in K2, we are all wondering whether we should let our younger kids continue in pats.....
Yes, same thoughts. -
smurfy:
My DS' communication book doesn't even have this piece of paper. We are totally ignorant until my DS told us that he has to bring something to school for show and tell. Totally not aware of the schedule. And when he was late for school that day, I got a SMS from teacher saying that he missed it. Think he reached school at 9.10 or 9.15am. I was like :whut:empressplace:
May I enquire when your K2 child started spelling this year and do they have Show & Tell sessions?
for my k2 child.. Show and tell officially started this year, term 1. there was a piece of paper inside their communication book.. telling them the theme of the show and tell, and which week they were supposed to perform.. e.g. each week on a friday.. 3-4 kids perform the show and tell within their own class.
Pretty sure had it been my DD's teacher years ago, it wouldn't be so harshly handled. -
breezie80:
btw, the PE prog is across all Pat's centres.
Oh is that so? I am not aware of this. Wonder if this was the reason that DS said last Thurs that he had to wear sports shoes to school?!
Already, his Chinese S&P is on alternate week with English S&P (and I feel short-changed for that as there is one day each week where he doesn't get EP, which is supposedly a daily program). Why can't his centre just do weekly Chinese S&P instead?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.