Ang Pow Issues...

384 Posts 86 Posters 130.5k Views 1 Watching
      auntieM

umm.... really got sch bus driver remind kids ... (feels like tour guides). My first time so maybe swaku. šŸ˜‰

Augmum

BlurBee:

talking abt ang pows issues,

it'll be nice if my cousins are as \"considerate\" as u guys here.......
        u see.....they never know what is \"paiseh\"
        our family's side, me , brother and sister, all of us only have 1 child
        but my cousins' side all of them have 3 to 4 kids
        and they are giving our kids $4 each, (all these yrs)
        for the first yr, i was dumbed to enclose $10
        even by giving $4 ang pows, i also \"lugi\" ......
        (fyi, one of my cousin's hub is earning at least $20,000 per mth, and yet they they're not paiseh to do such thing).......

Hi Augmum, mine DH's cousins also like this. Most of them will give $4 to my 2 kids, and I normally give $6 to their 2/3 kids. Although I lugi but I lugi little.
        Must think those who has no kid giving $4 to every kids but no return. :roll:
        Anyway its only once a year. šŸ˜‰

yes, those who has no kids, then \"bopian\" lorr........
        me, waiting patiently to see when they'll \"zi4 dong4\"
        1 yr, 2 yrs, 3 yrs......but then still the same......haha

Augmum

maybe your DH cousin is hopping that people will mixed up all the ang pow and wouldn't figure out his ang pow is only $4
          oh yes, there 're pple who thot of that.....
          encountered it during my wedding's dinner ang paos,
          those nameless ones, enclosing 20 bucks......... šŸ˜‰ :?

KSP

(fyi, one of my cousin's hub is earning at least $20,000 per mth, and yet they they're not paiseh to do such thing).......

Earn more does not equal to spend/give more.

• tankeeT Offline
              tankee

maybe your DH cousin is hopping that people will mixed up all the ang pow and wouldn't figure out his ang pow is only $4

oh yes, there 're pple who thot of that.....
              encountered it during my wedding's dinner ang paos,
              those nameless ones, enclosing 20 bucks......... šŸ˜‰ :?

:!: :!:

tutormum

DS3 was very mad yesterday cos some didn't give him angpows at a friend's CNY party. :x One woman brought her 3 children and her DD's 2 friends. After dinner, she disappeared to chat with friends outside the house (to avoid giving angpows, I guess). :roll: I gave out about 15 while DS3 received only 3. 😢 DS3 is very calculative and told me not to give any next year. :idea:

kuzco

KSP:

Earn more does not equal to spend/give more.

Agree. Sometimes, those who earn more are even more kiam siap (to borrow this word from the other thread) than those who are less well-off.

(Remember the story about those who drive Mercs rushing for free textbooks?)

• MMMM Offline
                    MMM

kuzco:
                    Agree. Sometimes, those who earn more are even more kiam siap (to borrow this word from the other thread) than those who are less well-off.

(Remember the story about those who drive Mercs rushing for free textbooks?)
                    Actually it doesn't mean that those who earn more will give more. They probably got more financial commitments, etc.... house, cars, etc... so they are not that \"cash rich\"??? Also, I suppose they rather give a market rate as there is 'no incentive\" to give more except if they want to \"flaunt\" your wealth? which doesn't make sense.

I remember a angmoh big boss went to our wedding (another colleague and mine) with his spouse and he only gave $40 angpow..... Not even enough to cover our cost.

KSP

[quote]\"MMMI remember a angmoh big boss went to our wedding (another colleague and mine) with his spouse and he only gave $40 angpow..... Not even enough to cover our cost.[/quote]
                      $40 from a angmoh couple attending wedding dinner? This is ridiculous!!
                      The market rate for wedding dinner
                      - Hotel min $100 per person
                      - Restaurant min $80 per person

• tankeeT Offline
                        tankee

maybe angmo not familiar with local practise

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 9 / 39