Milk

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    86 Posts 20 Posters 1.5k Views 1 Watching
      cmm

My boy used to drink Meiji fresh milk. I warmed it up in the baby bottle warmer cos I don’t like the idea of him drinking cold milk.

sashimi

EstherTan:
        sashimi - you can try sticking the entire bottle into a cup/ bowl of hot water (Taken from the hot water flask). It seems to be faster than using the bottle warmer and is a lot more convenient too. I do the same if I accidentally mix in too much hot water into baby's formula. I stick the bottle into a cup of tap water and it cools down fast.

Thanks! Actually come to think of it that's what I used to do for the formula bottle too. I'll give it a shot. thanks!
        [quote]Her appetite is the same as other kids her age, and she eats most foods without complaining. Just that she eats very s-l-o-w-l-y.....[/quote]cmm, I only wish I could say the same thing of my DD. She eats very slowly too (like DW) - which is actually a GOOD thing, cos it's better for digestion. But she's a fussy eater.

But nevertheless, I tend to trust kids' appetites (i.e. volume) more than adults, who tend to overeat.

cmm

sashimi:

cmm, I only wish I could say the same thing of my DD. She eats very slowly too (like DW) - which is actually a GOOD thing, cos it's better for digestion. But she's a fussy eater.

But nevertheless, I tend to trust kids' appetites (i.e. volume) more than adults, who tend to overeat.
          Actually, I eat slowly too. If I eat hurriedly, I will suffer from indigestion the rest of the day. But for a child, is taking 1 - 1.5hrs to finish a meal a tad too long?

smurf

1-1.5 hr is very good already, though slow lah. my boy if I ask him to feed himself, can take up to 2hrs. and throughou the 2 hrs, I’ve to constantly remind or nag at him. hhaha.

hairuliza

My boy (15 mths) simply refuses to drink milk (fresh milk)/formula, be it from his bottle, sippy cup or any other contraption.

Raised this up to his PD and with her suggestion, sneaked in the milk intake by mixing it in his food whenever possible & supplementing with yoghurt & cheese.
              We tried changing formula, bottles.. you name it.
              Got worried because his growth (weight & height) dropped to 10th percentile.
              Hopefully, with our strategy now he'll be better. 🙏

mathsparks

Consider meiji choc/strawberry fresh milk?

smurf

Hi hairuliza,

what about other food? is he taking them well? not necessary need to drink milk when the child reaches 1 year old. can try cheese, yoghurt, green veg (which has high amount of calcium), etc.

you can make yoghurt and put in fresh fruits if he likes.:)

if u dun mind sweetness, you can try goat sweetie.:)

hmm, choco/strawberry milk, very sweet leh, kids like it, but very hard to kill the habits once started. 😎

hairuliza

Thank you for your suggestions mathsparks & smurf.

We haven’t tried strawberry/choc milk yet… that’s our last resort.
                    We did try Pediasure Classic Vanilla & Golden Honey.
                    Didn’t work…
                    Currently, we’re giving him Nestle cereal with milk & adding addtional 120ml formula to it (he takes cereal 3 times a day).
                    Also upping his yoghurt intake.
                    He started drinking less formula when he was 8 mths but PD said not a concern because he’s taking solids well at that time.
                    He shows no sign of lethargy, sickness, malnutrition excepth the slowing of growth so PD said it is not of high concern… may be a lull period before the next growth spurt.
                    I hope so, but in the meantime, I’m doing all I can to make sure that he gets all that he needs.

• O Offline
                      OCEAN

Hi Parents,

Ever came across 2 such stubborn babies who refused formula milk (recommended by Hospital) after few months of birth:
                      1. My then baby boy six years ago. Only way to feed him was to rock him to sleep and he would finish the whole bottle milk. I changed the brand to Progress Gold (Weyth Product) when he turned to 1 yo. And amazingly it was the first time I saw him finished the bottle milk with his eyes opened.

2. Last year, I was told that this baby (3 months old then) refused the formula milk even when he was very hungry, and was forced to drink some when he was very very very hungry. I suggested Weyth brand (S26) and after that, he live happiliy there after.

hairuliza

OCEAN:
                        Hi Parents,

Ever came across 2 such stubborn babies who refused formula milk (recommended by Hospital) after few months of birth:
                        1. My then baby boy six years ago. Only way to feed him was to rock him to sleep and he would finish the whole bottle milk. I changed the brand to Progress Gold (Weyth Product) when he turned to 1 yo. And amazingly it was the first time I saw him finished the bottle milk with his eyes opened.

2. Last year, I was told that this baby (3 months old then) refused the formula milk even when he was very hungry, and was forced to drink some when he was very very very hungry. I suggested Weyth brand (S26) and after that, he live happiliy there after.
                        Hi OCEAN
                        Do they have small cans or trial sachets?
                        Don't want to buy a whole can & having my boy reject it yet again & us using the formula to add in to his food only.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 9