Milk

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    86 Posts 20 Posters 1.5k Views 1 Watching
      mintcc

hi buds,

actually my boy is mainly on BM before 1 year old but supplemented with Enfalac. We made the mistake of supplementing from the beggining. I think my boy is small because he used to get sick quite often between 1-2.5 yrs so whenever he got sick he doesn't put on weight and the intervals between illess to quite close so he did not catch up. Some more he does not eat vegetables and is very choosey with food.

mincy, your 3in1 tea already have non-dairy creamer, you still add milk??? Fainted
      hee he ...ya lor, I am never a teh o or kopi o person....must have lots of milk in my tea then it is yummy to me...
      šŸ˜‰

Heyya mincy,

I like tea. Not so big on coffee tho, but yes i like mine
        milky too. So, when my girlfriend introduced me to
        Teh-Chino, i was hooked!

It is so nicely creamy, milky and frothy like cappucino!
        Yummy!!

Alamak! Just describing it makes mouth water lah... šŸ˜„

schellen

Ah, maybe that's why I prefer latte to kopi-o too. :drool:

...Waaaayyy fresher than cow's milk and

confirmed melamine free. Heheheh... :love:
            err... depends on how many rabbit sweets you have taken over the years... :lol:

Anyway... I never touch the so-called \"low-fat\" stuff myself... it tastes like water... yucks. Gimme full-cream any time. But I notice a strange \"feature\" in myself... if I haven't taken milk for more than a week... the next time I drink milk, I will have the runs. Once I take it for a few days, I'll be fine again. Wierd, huh?

insider:
              My sister does not feed her kids with animal milk but relies on soya milk coz she trusts plants more than animals.

I need to have my daily intake of Anlene daily but am quite disturbed by the many negative reports on milk.

Just one for sharing:

http://www.second-opinions.co.uk/milk-1.html
              Soybean milk is what I drink these days too. I'm actually afraid of the calcium in cow's milk because of I'm a so-called kidney/bladder \"stone-former\".

phantom

insider:
                My sister does not feed her kids with animal milk but relies on soya milk coz she trusts plants more than animals.
                I would have love to feed my kid soy based milk, but my spouse said soy based milk will result in difficulty passing motion. I just can't convince my spouse, so still taking animal milk for my kids.

• O Offline
                  Observer

[quote]Heyya observer,

Kudos to you for pushing on, or else your kiddies may
                  have had to grow up without milk if you hadn't pushed
                  on the decision with formulae. Its good to know
                  that you and your spouse's effort to make them down
                  the Pediasure Choc, has made them grow healthily now.

As long as you don't YUCK in front of them when they're
                  drinking their milk, okay already lah... [/quote]In fact, the smell of milk with PediaSure really YUCKS me, but I dun show it with my boys. Otherwise they'll take me as a reason to avoid.
                  [quote]PS : May i know why you dislike milk... All flavours?[/quote]May be probably, when I was younger, my parents forced me to drink lots of milk. :lol:

In fact, I like some flavoured milk - Mango flavoured . . . But after the Melamine scandal I stopped that too.

Today morning I read - \"Milk causes the body to produce mucus, especially in the gastro-intestinal tract. Cancer feeds on mucus. By cutting off milk and substituting with unsweetened soya milk, cancer cells are being starved.\" from a forwarded email on \"The Best cancer article\" quoting John Hopkins.

No intention to scare anyone.
                  šŸ˜Ž

schellen

Observer:
                    Today morning I read - \"Milk causes the body to produce mucus, especially in the gastro-intestinal tract. Cancer feeds on mucus. By cutting off milk and substituting with unsweetened soya milk, cancer cells are being starved.\" from a forwarded email on \"The Best cancer article\" quoting John Hopkins.

No intention to scare anyone.
                    šŸ˜Ž
                    My DH and I found out that if you have a cough/cold/flu with phlegm, best is to stop drinking milk (hot or cold) until it clears cos something inside milk will produce more phlegm. Probably is linked to the mucus thing but in the airways instead?

This also includes all dairy products so when our DD is sick, we stop her intake of dairy completely and so far her recovery is faster. As for me, I always physically feel more horrible (nose stuck more often, throat more irritated) when I take dairy when sick so I automatically avoided them till I recovered. And this was before my DH found out about this.

sashimi

Very simple - lactose in the milk, which is a sugar, feeds the bacteria that is in your throat during a flu/cough. This causes phelgm to multiply.

Thus, whenever you are coughing badly , and esp., if you have a wet cough, avoid dairy products.

BTW, according to the Blood Type diet, type B blood type people thrive on dairy products.

I hate powdered milk! I hate plain milk! (didn't i mentioned that already earlier in pg 1? šŸ˜‰ )

The first pregnancy, after a few rounds of Dumex, I switched to Choc Fresh Milk.
                        The second pregnancy, intending to start 'afresh', I got mysef a tin of Annum. After a few rounds, I switch back to Choc Fresh Milk.
                        My ds1 (P1) hates plain milk, so we switch to Choc Dugro after he turns 1. Even now, he can hardly stomach a cup of milk... he said he'll vomit :roll: if he drank anymore.
                        My ds2 (26mth old) loves plain powdered milk (gave him a sip of his bro's choc dugro and he goes 'YUCKS!'), and I hope to keep it this way. He can drink up to 450ml of milk before bedtime.
                        Maybe thanks to milk, for height, ds2 is under the 97th percentile while ds1 hovers between 50-75th percentile.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 9