Milk

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Health
    86 Posts 20 Posters 1.5k Views 1 Watching

Heyya guys,

My P2 is like that too!
      Ya, quite costly if the milk doesnt come
      with discount. I personally prefer those
      fresh chilled ones, where the cheese are..
      Hubs thinks that is one heck of a milk
      investment. He wud rather get those
      unchilled $1+ kind and wud buy a few
      to prove a point. ( Cos the nicely chilled
      ones are like $3+ usually. Cheapest times
      oso about $2.90.

By the way, i dunno abt the \"abnormal thingy\"
      but it does taste weird and waaayy less creamy.

Milk shud taste like milk. Creamy and yummy.. 😉

PS : My hubs complains of the replenishing too... I tell you, with all
      this housework, i sure need more milk less i get osteoporosis (???)
      and crack my spine while lifting the laundry poles, esp with jeans on
      them..

mintcc

😄 you two are so cute. Milk is good. I used to drink one gallon a week when I was in Uni. Now I love to mix with 3in1 tea or coffee half cup water half cup milk :love: DS also love liquid milk and keep asking for more whenever it is served.

But milk from milk powder is another thing. I hate the smell of DS's powdered milk and I think he dislike it too. But then it is suppose to be nutritions with all those DHA, SA, GA added in, right? So every night is a cat and mouse game with him running away at the sight of the milk...

Heyya mincy,

My K2 also lurves the cat and mouse with those
          milk powder thingy, but with certain brands only.
          she doesn’t like how some of them has that fatty
          oil layering on top of the milk… and the fact that
          she does not like milk to be served too warm,
          its kinda hard to avoid that…

So, as long as she wants to drink it we follow only
          lah. She’s currently on DUGRO in chocolate flavour.

PS : She’s a shortie. So, i suppose as long as she
          consumes milk, shud be ok right?

What’s your opinion on flavoured formulae…?

mintcc

hi hi buds,

my boy also a shortie… which make the grandparents worried hence the milk continues I read somewhere that as long as they are having a balance diet, don need to force them if they don’t like.

Never try flavored milk with him though. been using Enfalac for different age group since he was a baby. But someone recently recommend PediaSure and we got the classic vanilla flavor to try. Have not tried it yet as we were waiting for him to finish his big tin of Enfalac before opening it up…though.

Heyya mincy,

My shortie reali short leh.. Next year P1 some more.
              Dun think uniform got size. Dun think she can carry
              her bag load of P1 books even.. heheee.. 😛

Everywhere we go, people get so amused that she
              can speak so well being such a small baby-ish girl.
              People been asking me, which playgroup your girl
              goes to? We oso want to put.. can talk so well!

When she wants to read her books in the train, i
              get wide-eyed stares from commuters and they
              never fail to ask which phonics centre i put her in.
              The usual question i get wud be, \"Wah, so small
              can read so well. My ah-boy now K2 still cannot
              read.. Yours can read so clear some more. How
              old ah? 2+ or 3yrs?\" Then, you'll hear my girl
              saying, \"Ehehem, i am 5 yrs old actually... going
              to be 6 this year..\" :lol: :lol: Ooh, she's very
              offended. She ever asked us how come she is
              very short. We told her must try drinking more
              milk... help build up strong bones and teeth with
              the calcium.

Hospital started her on Enfalac from birth onwards.
              She was fully breastfed, cos i stayed at home after
              delivering her. (Had to stay home, ehemm..) So,
              milk back then was like a buffet table for her...
              Anytime... Anywhere... Open 24-7 some more.
              On off occasions where we slip in formulae intake,
              we went from Enfalac to Neslac 1 followed by
              Neslac 3+. Her elder sista oso the same. But the
              size, fuyoh... poles apart.

So, hubs was quite stressed see her so tiny like that.
              She came to this world quite big, bigger than her sista
              in fact.

We kept encouraging her to drink milk, various kinds
              that she was willing to try. We let her choose.. In the
              end, to not have an entire shelving cabinet full of the
              variety of milk powder, the sista offered to help mei-mei
              finish all the milk! Only up till today, mei-mei is now
              willingly requesting the Chocolate Dugro for her milk
              intake and nothing else. We have no issues with her
              daily meals, she eats fine. Thank goodness for that!

So, hopefully this current milk intake will help boost
              her growth. And she has abt 10mths more to go...
              to grow with Dugro!
              🙏

PS : We were given the trial sachets of milk powder
              by our family doctor. Gave us the vanilla and choc,
              but that time different brand. Thats when my tiny one
              found out she had a choice of flavours. She didn't
              reali fancy the vanilla one tho.. she said it smelt too
              strong even before drinking. Sigh.. Children nowadays,
              huh.. This is what happens lah when children have choices.
              Heheh.. 😉 Last time we just down whatever we're given...
              No questions asked. Dun dare to ask oso! :!:

schellen

By the way, i dunno abt the \"abnormal thingy\"

but it does taste weird and waaayy less creamy.

Milk shud taste like milk. Creamy and yummy.. 😉
                Yay! Hi-five, buds! 😉

schellen

mincy, your 3in1 tea already have non-dairy creamer, you still add milk??? :faint:

buds, I have the opposite \"problem\". My DD is 7 but she is taller than her P4 buddy. And when my DH's friends tried to guess her age, they said 10. :roll: She outgrows a lot of things very, very fast. She seemed to have a growth spurt everytime my body manages to catch up to her appetite. This was when I was still breastfeeding her. Then, when we switched her to formula (Neslac), occasionally, we had to top up her milk bottle cos she seemed to want more, and she finished it too!

You know that the newborn sets that we can buy from places like Kiddy Palace to give as presents? Well, my DD received a few. Even as a newborn, she couldn't wear them all! Those that she could put on lasted barely 1-2 weeks on her. Luckily, when one my friends had a premature baby and was complaining about not being able to find clothes small enough, I gave them all to her, almost all brand new some more. :roll:

We wonder how much more she will grow since she loves milk so much. My own dad is 1.8m tall and she jokes that one day, she will \"look down\" on him to greet him. :lol:

By the way, I hate powdered milk too. Not only the artificial flavour but the powdery residue at the bottom, no matter how thoroughly you stir the mixture. 😛

sashimi

Actually, I have two beliefs regarding healthy growth. One of course is the classic one - having a healthy diet with enough protein and calcium for mass and bone growth. And milk is of course a vital ingredient.

The other key ingredient I believe is sleep, a much under-rated need among many Singaporean parents. Getting enough good sleep, and at the right times, is absolutely vital to a growing child. I think it’s the prime time when a child’s body undergoes growth.

I’ve never been a big fan of formula. The only time I liked formula was when we used it to keep baby DD full and asleep overnight. After age 3 I think we completely stopped.

I just don’t trust these modern-day manufactured alchemical concoctions - melamine notwithstanding. In fact, the longer the ingredient list in formula/milk, the more scary I find it. To me, the best milk is the kind where the ingredients list says, "100% Fresh Milk". full stop.

Heyya schellen,

Your DD is the same as P2 (elder one)…
                      Everytime must either top up or drink 2 bottles!
                      There was a time my mum suggested to slip in
                      a small teaspoon of baby cereal (ie. nestum)
                      inside the milk to make it more filling for her
                      so she will not wake up earlier than the usual 3
                      hourly routine.

Heyya sashimi,

Then, breasfeeding mothers shud have
                        100% fresh milk tatooed on our chest!!
                        Yeah! 😉

Waaaayyy fresher than cow's milk and
                        confirmed melamine free. Heheheh..

I agree on your take with regards to sleep.
                        Under-rated, yup!

Btw, i think its great that you're so involved
                        with how your DD is raised. Judging from your
                        inputs in this forum, you seem to have equal (if not more)
                        participation in how you wish for your child to be
                        brought up. This, I LIKE.. and its lacking in
                        daddies, at least the ones i know... There are
                        daddies who are totally hands off. They find
                        that child raising is ultimately a woman's job.

Bringing up children shud be a together thing,
                        regardless of who and how many people brings
                        back the bacon. I'm happy for you and your
                        family... You guys got a good thing going here.
                        :love:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 9