Difficult Relationship with Parents
Well, I don’t think I’ll vote cos my relationship with my dad is very good. It’s more my mum…
I also dunno why it’s like that. I feel sad for her cos she sacrificed her career to look after me and the home, and then this is what she gets. And she’s always been warm and supportive towards my studies, never pressurising, not overprotective etc.
but in recent years (actually it’s been about 10 years) she has changed.
She’s very negative towards my dad, though she always sees herself as the victim.
then when I side my dad (because he’s right) she gets mad, so I’ve stopped trying to take sides, even though one side is obviously right and one side is 无理取闹. But my mum genuinely believes she is right, so there’s a huge impasse there. So when she starts I tell her to stop, I don’t wanna hear.
So bad hor? as a daughter.
The only silver lining is after my daughter was born is that my mum became more focused on caring for her, and less focused on negative thoughts.
But when I was sahm she really drove me up the wall. Cos she’s come over to help. I would need her help (so i can go toilet, prepare dd’s food when she was less than a yr old and needed constant supervision, etc) but would really resent the interference that came along with it. She had set ideas on how to bring up a baby which were outdated and sometimes she’d do things behind my back and then I’d scream at her when I found out…
So now that I have gone back to work, I still see her at least 3 times a week cos she helps look after DD, but it’s a bit better.
I guess in such situations absence really helps in reducing friction. -
lovekidsverymuch:
Thats why I concluded that she is not that maternal a person :D, cuz it hasn't made any difference.autumnbronze:
Sometimes I think maybe its because DS is IL's first grandchild. For my mom, its her 9th ...
But then, as I gathered from elsewhere u really had problems having ur DS and she should be more than happy with him
mummy of 2:
Yes, the visits are nothing more than an obligation. I'm more than happy to tell her I can't make it, if there's any plausible excuse. Bad daughter but I really can't help it.
Hi, mummy of 2 - may I asked if you have siblings and if you do, what is their relationship with your mum? If its not convenient to mention, its ok...
Well, my mother has always been like that but she's become more stubborn this few years, after getting to know some auntie downstairs. She prefers to listen to that auntie rather than her own daughters, when we try to reason with her.
When I was growing up, my parents always quarrelled. She's living with my brother, and i really sympathise with him. There's conflict between almost everybody in that family - my father and my mother, my mother and my SIL, my brother and my SIl. So there's always some quarrel/cold war going on. Exhausting to live in such a family. I would go :frustrated: -
sakura_2009:
My sis used to be the favoured daughter, but after she started trying to speak up for my father, my mother is very angry with ehr, and always complaining about her to me. So I imagine she mst hv compplained abt me to my sis before.mummy of 2:
Yes, the visits are nothing more than an obligation. I'm more than happy to tell her I can't make it, if there's any plausible excuse. Bad daughter but I really can't help it.
Hi, mummy of 2 - may I asked if you have siblings and if you do, what is their relationship with your mum? If its not convenient to mention, its ok...
My bro has no choice but to live with her, as she's the traditional thinking type, must live with son, and he is, needless to say, her favourite child. My siblings are much older than me, and when I was young, my brother used to bully me by making me run errands for him. I feel that my mother has actually done him a disservice by over-pampering him. -
mummy of 2:
Wah! That's kinda 'xiong' for your brother & SIL...Well, my mother has always been like that but she's become more stubborn this few years, after getting to know some auntie downstairs. She prefers to listen to that auntie rather than her own daughters, when we try to reason with her.
When I was growing up, my parents always quarrelled. She's living with my brother, and i really sympathise with him. There's conflict between almost everybody in that family - my father and my mother, my mother and my SIL, my brother and my SIl. So there's always some quarrel/cold war going on. Exhausting to live in such a family. I would go :frustrated:
My mum lives with my dad, and well, my brother (who has always been my mum's favourite by the way) has told me and my sister that there is no way my mum is going to stay with him and my SIL. He said he doesn't want to go :frustrated: -
hi there
i am back
i can't really vote cos i can't say my r/s with in-laws is that fantastic. anyway, r/s with my parents was really bad at one time. whenever i miss my weekly visit, wil kena scolded. when dd not close to them (since they seldom play with her even when we visit), they blame it on the fact we dun come weekly.
but fact is, when we are around, my mum wil b taking nap or busy cooking in kitchen. dad is also not the type who r good with kids. so its like they just want our \"presence\" in the house lor...
nowadays is better. but r/s is \"superficial\" as in we dun really confide in each other. just that we dun argue. sigh, talking abt arguing, bad r/s started when me and siblings were teenagers (sec school). mum started working when i started sec 1. before that, we were really close cos she works from home and was able to be around for us to coach us to study plus cook etc. after she started work, she would be so tired after work. when we try to reason with them, and they can't win on reasoning, they would say \"we r right becos we say so\". so after a while, we stopped talking to them. in fact i dun dare to comment on things in front of my dad. eg. if i comment something new on the road, he will scold me and say y i so unobservant, haven't seen it earlier? very negative lor.
thats y for me, i m a bit scared to go back to work, even when dd is much older cos i could see where that led to, for my family. also thats y i try to respect dd, consider her feelings and see things from her point of view. -
sakura_2009:
Yes, in fact I think she's a contributing factor to their frequent quarrel/cold war.Wah! That's kinda 'xiong' for your brother & SIL...
My mum lives with my dad, and well, my brother (who has always been my mum's favourite by the way) has told me and my sister that there is no way my mum is going to stay with him and my SIL. He said he doesn't want to go :frustrated: -
mummy of 2:
:!: can't believe your brother can take it!
When I was growing up, my parents always quarrelled. She's living with my brother, and i really sympathise with him. There's conflict between almost everybody in that family - my father and my mother, my mother and my SIL, my brother and my SIl. So there's always some quarrel/cold war going on. Exhausting to live in such a family. I would go :frustrated:
for me, i tel dh even i dun want to stay with my mum, can't imagine my SIL has to put up with her... guess thats y she rather work fulltime. -
foreverj:
I can't imagine how he copes with it too! A lot of time I feel very sorry for him, because he has to live in such an environment, r/p with SIL not good, not close to his kids, financially not well-off too.:!: can't believe your brother can take it!
for me, i tel dh even i dun want to stay with my mum, can't imagine my SIL has to put up with her... guess thats y she rather work fulltime.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.