Opinions of the Primary School Registration System

2.2k Posts 485 Posters 1.0m Views 1 Watching
    • 3 Offline
      3Boys

rains:
      Khamullotr:

😂 That will be very interesting.

Then alumni of popular schools will have no choice but to move nearer to the school too.

I suspect that most alumni would not move near their alma maters judging from the crazy prices of flats and houses. Take me for example: I live in the north. Our alma maters are in the east and central. If our kids don't get in via phase 2A, we will go for the popular neighborhood school within 1km at phase 2C. So while removing or limiting vacancies at phase 2A2 frees up vacancies and benefits the richer residents living near our alma maters, it has repercussion on phase 2C - of other schools. Perhaps by then, another group of parents would kbkb that those with alma maters should not compete with those without at phase 2C.

Its benefiting all residents living near the alma mater, not just the richer ones.

As far as a I know, those with alma maters are as equally distributed throughout the island as those without, so the effect is diluted.

There is obviously a bit of downside, but far outweighed by the social justice upside. (Not to mention the illogic of alumni priority to begin with)

Dora1

rains:
        Khamullotr:

😂 That will be very interesting.

Then alumni of popular schools will have no choice but to move nearer to the school too.

I suspect that most alumni would not move near their alma maters judging from the crazy prices of flats and houses. Take me for example: I live in the north. Our alma maters are in the east and central. If our kids don't get in via phase 2A, we will go for the popular neighborhood school within 1km at phase 2C. So while removing or limiting vacancies at phase 2A2 frees up vacancies and benefits the richer residents living near our alma maters, it has repercussion on phase 2C - of other schools. Perhaps by then, another group of parents would kbkb that those with alma maters should not compete with those without at phase 2C.

Well, at least if a ballot occur at a neighbourhood school for <1km, everybody is on equal footing. If you get ballot out, then can only blame your luck and nobody else. Cannot kbkb abt those with alma mata because the priority would have ceased to exist. Everybody is on equal footing. You try to get into the most popular school in your neighbourhood, by ballot. You get priority if you are alumni AND staying in the neighbourhood. If you can't get in, you still can get into a school in your neighbourhood - I think MOE has done sufficient planning to ensure that happens. However, there is no way that MOE can guarantee that everybody gets into their school of choice, that is insane. But what the alumni priority scheme is doing is upsetting the entire MOE planning, and squeezing kids out of the schools in their neighbourhood because kids from other towns have totally overtaken one of the schools in the neighbourhood because their parents are alumni.

sean wife

Maybe as part of marriage counselling, young couples should be advised to stay near to their alumni if they have the intention of enrolling their future kids into their alumni school? Saves the hassle of moving here moving there… in fact I do dish out this consideration to those younger colleagues who are planning to get married… 😂

limlim

rains:
            So while removing or limiting vacancies at phase 2A2 frees up vacancies and benefits the richer residents living near our alma maters, it has repercussion on phase 2C - of other schools. Perhaps by then, another group of parents would kbkb that those with alma maters should not compete with those without at phase 2C.

If there is no restrictions at P2A2, these nearby residents (including you) may not even have any vacancies to compete for in the first place..

There is no reason or them to kpkb when there is more places at P2C up for grabs..

Your speculation don't makes sense leh..

And, as pointed out by 3B, everyone near your alma mater benefits, not only the rich ones, but also the peasants who cannot afford to buy a car or travel to faraway land to send their kids to school and pickup everyday.

In fact, having to travel far to school hits who hardest? It's those poor families.

For the very rich, traveling is not an issue at all, with availability of private transport.

Ikid

I fully support ‘do away with affiliation to sec sch’ to allow fair competition. MOE should set 1 standard year-end exams papers from P3-P5 to enable all schools to prepare their students for PSLE. It will allow all schools to tune their teaching standards and all primary schools will then be able to be good schools.

ngl2010

Ikid:
                I fully support 'do away with affiliation to sec sch' to allow fair competition. MOE should set 1 standard year-end exams papers from P3-P5 to enable all schools to prepare their students for PSLE. It will allow all schools to tune their teaching standards and all primary schools will then be able to be good schools.

:goodpost:

durianlove1974

so ma fan....

Just cut HP manpower into 4 portion and distribute to unbranded schools in NSEW region can already. :evil:[/quote]

No need open new branch or cut HP manpower lah.

Just re-distribute all principals & teachers.

Everything will be reset then. No schools can get to build up reputation.

Principals and teachers can only serve a number of x years in a certain school and will have to relocate to another school.

Thus popular schools with good track academic records history previously will not mean they will produce good students in future. Then parents will not all clamour to them and this will free up places.

Then there will be enough places for those who are really interested in putting
                  child for old times sake and for those living near.

Then nobody will complain of property prices shooting up. :evil:

Every school will be then a good school.

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

durianlove1974:

No need open new branch or cut HP manpower lah.

Just re-distribute all principals & teachers.

Everything will be reset then. No schools can get to build up reputation.

Principals and teachers can only serve a number of x years in a certain school and will have to relocate to another school.

Thus popular schools with good track academic records history previously will not mean they will produce good students in future. Then parents will not all clamour to them and this will free up places.

Then there will be enough places for those who are really interested in putting
                    child for old times sake and for those living near.

Then nobody will complain of property prices shooting up. :evil:

Every school will be then a good school.
                    Or will it be 'every school will be then a bad school'? :scratchhead:

Dora1

Let’s make an assumption here. If we put only students from the lower and middle income to study in schools in the Bukit Timah area - same principal, same teachers, same facilitites. Would the PSLE results still be as high as now? There are some schools in Singapore where >90% of the students come from lower and middle income families. These schools typically are at the bottom of the academic ranking. Is it fair to say that the quality of the Principals and teachers there are inferior to the ones in the elite schools?

So what purpose does it serve to disperse the Principals and teachers? If we were to implement this, we are suggesting that the staff of the elite schools are better than the rest of Singapore. Is it really the case? Are there no bad teachers in the elite schools and no good teachers in the unpopular schools?

dorisp

If we identify a problem, let's fix THE problem rather than going round and round to find ways that tries to ease the extent of damage caused by the first problem.

First thing first.

😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 217 / 218