Secondary School Pocket Money
Hahaha, good joke, money no enuf!
Is it bcos they have too much money ?verykiasu2010:
I am worried my kids not interest in money
My DS1 got 50 cents for P1 and the allowance slowly increased to $3 when he was in Sec 4. Didn't know it was a bit too little till someone pointed it out to me. He got $5 a day for poly. Both DS2 and DS3 get more due to inflation.
DS2 now gets $40 a week for poly and DS3 $25 for sec 1. This is pocket money purely for food only. Transport and everything else are paid for. If they go out with friends, they'll get extra. Of course tithes and offerings come from their own pocket.
They get it weekly. However DS3's allowance goes into a box and his wallet gets top up every day. Surprisingly, he managed to save up quite a sum. :lol:
Personally I don't believe in giving children too much money cos they may think that money falls from the sky. :roll: Still can't be too little that they may resort to other means in getting money. Have heard of older students stealing valuables like handphone from their classmates to sell while the younger ones borrow money and don't return.
Some are from disadvantaged families but there are others who don't seem to get enough no matter how much their parents give them.
So, the rule of the thumb is to check out the canteen food prices and give enough for 3 meals : recess, lunch and CCA. 
tutormum:
My DS1 got 50 cents for P1 and the allowance slowly increased to $3 when he was in Sec 4. Didn't know it was a bit too little till someone pointed it out to me. He got $5 a day for poly. Both DS2 and DS3 get more due to inflation.
DS2 now gets $40 a week for poly and DS3 $25 for sec 1. This is pocket money purely for food only. Transport and everything else are paid for. If they go out with friends, they'll get extra. Of course tithes and offerings come from their own pocket.
They get it weekly. However DS3's allowance goes into a box and his wallet gets top up every day. Surprisingly, he managed to save up quite a sum. :lol:
Personally I don't believe in giving children too much money cos they may think that money falls from the sky. :roll: Still can't be too little that they may resort to other means in getting money. Have heard of older students stealing valuables like handphone from their classmates to sell while the younger ones borrow money and don't return.
Some are from disadvantaged families but there are others who don't seem to get enough no matter how much their parents give them.
So, the rule of the thumb is to check out the canteen food prices and give enough for 3 meals : recess, lunch and CCA. 
How about fast food visits with friends, such as mcdonalds or mos burgers? Should we pay extra ? Or should we ask them to eat in school canteen? I worry she loiter around after fast food visits...but cannot be helped if there is projects right?
Sec 1 tis year.alamak :faint: laio
If my son said this n meant it
I will kick him out of the house.
no, i don't think he meant it in a negative sense.
I have always emphasized the need to have a will, so he casually mentioned it. Any way i told him not much property to give him. It would be better if he could work hard and support me in my old age. -
Looking at how crazy the property prices are now, I think 10-20 years down the road, they will be beyond the reach of our children. So better
keep the house for our kids. Who knows they may have to live in Pulau
Ubin HDB flats next time :!: -
pinky:
Maybe it will be like Japan. i heard that you must have a kid in order to get a loan. Bcos the property prices are so high, the loan amount is also high, so the repayment period is long until not possible to repay in one's life time. So the repayment period pass down & continue to be paid by the kid !!Looking at how crazy the property prices are now, I think 10-20 years down the road, they will be beyond the reach of our children. So better
keep the house for our kids. Who knows they may have to live in Pulau
Ubin HDB flats next time :!:
Not sure if the above is true or not ... -
westmom:
If the allowance is given weekly, does your kid bring the full or balance of allowance everyday? Or you expect her to split accordingly ...say $5 each day or put the full $30 or whatever in her pocket? Any risk of losing the money?
For me right, I use irregular amounts each day, so I get 35 dollars one shot. -
xxjustakidxx:
So like westmom's question, do you bring all the $35 to school every day or you split to whatever smaller amount you feel comfortable for that day ?westmom:
If the allowance is given weekly, does your kid bring the full or balance of allowance everyday? Or you expect her to split accordingly ...say $5 each day or put the full $30 or whatever in her pocket? Any risk of losing the money?
For me right, I use irregular amounts each day, so I get 35 dollars one shot. -
I always tell my kids that their occupation is student.
wah, how can monetise every thing one ?carebear:
Looks like i kena ketok by my DS (Sec 1).
He gets $5 per day (excluding ez link card, stationery), $2 for every tuition session (he has tuition in eng, math and science).
That means he gets $31 per week.
He saves most of it!
Then my DD who is in P5 i have to give her $5 per day cos she agreed to do higher chinese, also $2 for every tuition session.
That's why now i have to pack food to work for lunch.
So they say if they have to work harder, eg take higher chinese, or go for more tuition classes, they say must get more pay! -
I have a friend, who wanted to encourage her daughter (who was in upper primary then) to read more books, told her daughter that for every story book that she finished, she would give her $10.
wah, how can monetise every thing one ?carebear:
Looks like i kena ketok by my DS (Sec 1).
He gets $5 per day (excluding ez link card, stationery), $2 for every tuition session (he has tuition in eng, math and science).
That means he gets $31 per week.
He saves most of it!
Then my DD who is in P5 i have to give her $5 per day cos she agreed to do higher chinese, also $2 for every tuition session.
That's why now i have to pack food to work for lunch.
Her daughter told her \"Not interested\".
How long can we use $$ as a carrot ?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.