2013 P1 Registration Exercise for 2014 In-Take
OMG!!! Most of the schools in the East are over subscribe.
So worry... Need advice on ST Stephen and Ngee Ann Pri.
My first choice is NAP (1-2km) and ST (>1km) as my backup plan.
I am more keen on a co-ed school. That's why I prefer NAP, but now NAP is already over subscribe on the 1st day!
Dilemma:
- shld I stay with NAP for ballot? (1-2km) 92/88 seats - 1st day
- I know I'll get a better chance with SSP (1km), but their Chinese standard is not so promising
I heard there will be no P2Cs. -
sembgal:
Since you are staying with 1km, you should have a higher chance. I'm worried I do not even get the chance to go for balloting for SC 1 -2km for PLMGS if the figures continue to rise tomorrow for SC <1km. Therefore, taking into consideration that Marymount Convent School is the safest bet and my child can sleep longer hours and wake up in late morning. Marymount Convent is a partial-single session school which means that P1 and P2 girls go to school in the afternoons.carolkch1308:
Looks like marymount convent have no balloting for all distances for p2c.
I m tempted to apply there to avoid possible balloting
Then I will apply for waitlist at PLMGS to transfer my child from Marymount Convent School back into PLMGS if my child's results are stellar enough for PLMGS to take her in. This is my goal for my child at this moment.
Sembgal, I really salute u for all the detailed research.
My hub is all in to go for balloting if necessary at PLMGS. But I really dread the ti kam feeling. Its really about luck on that day. And luck is something that I dun usually have :rotflmao: -
carolkch1308:
Since you are staying with 1km, you should have a higher chance. I'm worried I do not even get the chance to go for balloting for SC 1 -2km for PLMGS if the figures continue to rise tomorrow for SC <1km. Therefore, taking into consideration that Marymount Convent School is the safest bet and my child can sleep longer hours and wake up in late morning. Marymount Convent is a partial-single session school which means that P1 and P2 girls go to school in the afternoons.sembgal:
[quote=\"carolkch1308\"]Looks like marymount convent have no balloting for all distances for p2c.
I m tempted to apply there to avoid possible balloting
Then I will apply for waitlist at PLMGS to transfer my child from Marymount Convent School back into PLMGS if my child's results are stellar enough for PLMGS to take her in. This is my goal for my child at this moment.
Sembgal, I really salute u for all the detailed research.
My hub is all in to go for balloting if necessary at PLMGS. But I really dread the ti kam feeling. Its really about luck on that day. And luck is something that I dun usually have :rotflmao:[/quote]I wish you luck and pray hard. Print the school logo out and worship it everyday and pray the child can get balloted in. I will really do this if there is remaining vacancies for SC 1 -2km to go for balloting. This is the desperate thing that parents will do. I have done all I can. Pray and pray but everything still depends on luck. :rahrah: -
Sembgal, I will pray that what u says materialise. That all applicants within 1km has applied today. Then at least u will have a chance to get in too.
My last resort will be to appeal to my MP to let my child study in PLMGS. The reason must be very solid. As long as one has a very valid reason to support why the MP must help you to appeal for your child, you can go try it out as a last resort.
I gathered the following from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meet-the-People_Sessions
Meet-the-People Sessions (MPS) is the name of a feedback/redress system developed in Singapore for citizens to meet their member of parliament. The MPS are usually held once a week. Many citizens see the MPS as an opportunity to resolve problems that they are having with the bureaucracy.The MP will write a petition letter to the relevant ministry, statutory board or any concerned parties to appeal on behalf of the resident. The letters are accorded a higher priority by the Civil Service as they come from elected representatives.
Cases deal with a wide range of problems. These include, but are not limited to, family financial problems (e.g. health-cost issues, jobs, financial assistance), CPF matters, various licenses, HDB related problems (e.g. subsidized rental housing, obtaining a subsidized HDB flat), immigration issues, and appeals for school admissions and school fee subsidy.[1] -
Plus affliated to ACJC :boogie:Paya Lebar MGS getting popular -
because her academic standard has improved, plus an affliated Secondary school.
I'm planning ahead for my child in case she decides to go JC instead of poly in future. -
Regarding about not so good feedback about schools, I supposed each school would have their shares, just to share that even most popular highly sought after school in SK also has not so good feedback from one of my ex-colleagues whose girls studied there when I asked him how was that school. He told me his girls couldn’t understand the Maths being taught in the school but can understand when taught by tuition teacher. Hence, sometimes a school with good academic results may not necessarily means that the school is full of good teachers who can teach well, it may be that most parents have sent their children for tuition or guide them personally. I have a friend who took half a year no pay leave to prepare her girl for PSLE this year. Hence, developing a child holistically and good in academic, also depends on how much parents spend time & efforts on them, at least this is what I think.
Thanks carolkch1308 . I even told my hubby to pray in his dream too. hahaha :rotflmao:
juliechiachiewlee:
Anyone has updates on the Applicants for SJI-Junior and Cat High?
Was stucked in a meeting and unable to call the school.
Thank you!
Hi! I called up SJIJ at 12 noon. As of that time, the numbers were as follow:
<1km 32 applicants, 1-2km, 11 applicants and >2km 7 applicants.
Do remember tho that this is int figures for physical registration. The online figures aren't included.
Are u within 1km? I'm out of 2km and am still praying for a miracle! Good luck!
Anyone knows what’s the update for Marymount convent then.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.