2013 P1 Registration Exercise for 2014 In-Take
I don’t understand why everyone would encourage such behavior. It’s precisely of things like these that everyone is so damn unhappy. So you couldn’t make it to the school of choice. Did the world stop spinning? Will getting someone else in trouble guarantee that you will get the place instead? If this is the way you think then sadly out society has degenerated to building joy on someone else’s misery. Well done Singapore.
Hobbes:
I don't understand why everyone would encourage such behavior. It's precisely of things like these that everyone is so damn unhappy. So you couldn't make it to the school of choice. Did the world stop spinning? Will getting someone else in trouble guarantee that you will get the place instead? If this is the way you think then sadly out society has degenerated to building joy on someone else's misery. Well done Singapore.
wow dont know you are so wei da. I think you either never go through this,
or managed to get in your choice of
sch thats why you were talking 风凉话. Clarify with the school or not, it's my matter. You as a passer by can ignore my words. I am seeking adv from parents here, not here to listen to sacastic words from
u. I am not a saint, probably u r i guess! -
pls just put a full stop here. Dont want to stir shits further. Thanks
all for your kinds words n advices, but not
to sacastic people! -
Hobbes:
I don't understand why everyone would encourage such behavior. It's precisely of things like these that everyone is so damn unhappy. So you couldn't make it to the school of choice. Did the world stop spinning? Will getting someone else in trouble guarantee that you will get the place instead? If this is the way you think then sadly out society has degenerated to building joy on someone else's misery. Well done Singapore.
I'm not sure why you would classify this as \"deriving joy from someone else's misery\". This is not about being vindicated. I don't think I felt joy when I had to pointedly tell my colleague to do the right thing and leave a note on the car she damaged. I would have much preferred she did it herself without me opening my mouth. Yes, things would have been much more pleasant for me and her if I had just went along with her decision to just drive away. But the innocent owner of the other car will probably think about how \"society has degenerated\" to people just getting away with wrongdoings if they think they can. Is his misery not as important as my wish to stay friends with my colleague?
It's a simple matter of fair play, of working within the rules rather than around them. It is people who try to work around the system by taking advantage of the loopholes in the system who add misery to those who genuinely stay near the schools. Schools like Nanhua are impossible to get in without balloting against great odds, even for those who stay right next to them.
I have no sympathy for anyone who rents an address just to register for a school, without ever intending to stay at that address. The system, for all its quirks, must retain its integrity in applying its rules. If people think that they can get away with fraud just because the system does not have the resources to enforce the rules, they will do that. What kind of society or culture will we be building then? One whereby we condone poor behavior of people we know just because they are our friends, bosses, professors or church leaders? -
I'm not referring to the example of the car. You did the right thing of course. With regard to schools, I have 2 kids both in school. I also did not get their school of choice. But we worked to get the in later on. Certainly not by trying to report anyone to any authorities. Are we begrudging someone a place in school just because they can afford it? Or are we saying that living within a km of a school gives u privilege to get in? That being the case, that's why people are buying or renting in the first place. It's their choice to spend their money right? Anyway I apologize if I have offended anyone. You can also choose to ignore my post.Hobbes:
I'm not sure why you would classify this as \"deriving joy from someone else's misery\". This is not about being vindicated. I don't think I felt joy when I had to pointedly tell my colleague to do the right thing and leave a note on the car she damaged. I would have much preferred she did it herself without me opening my mouth. Yes, things would have been much more pleasant for me and her if I had just went along with her decision to just drive away. But the innocent owner of the other car will probably think about how \"society has degenerated\" to people just getting away with wrongdoings if they think they can. Is his misery not as important as my wish to stay friends with my colleague?
It's a simple matter of fair play, of working within the rules rather than around them. It is people who try to work around the system by taking advantage of the loopholes in the system who add misery to those who genuinely stay near the schools. Schools like Nanhua are impossible to get in without balloting against great odds, even for those who stay right next to them.
I have no sympathy for anyone who rents an address just to register for a school, without ever intending to stay at that address. The system, for all its quirks, must retain its integrity in applying its rules. If people think that they can get away with fraud just because the system does not have the resources to enforce the rules, they will do that. What kind of society or culture will we be building then? One whereby we condone poor behavior of people we know just because they are our friends, bosses, professors or church leaders? -
Hi, may I know where to see the info on the numbers who withdrew from phases 1 to 2B? Can’t see from MOE website now.
Thanks -
Hobbes:
... With regard to schools, I have 2 kids both in school. I also did not get their school of choice. But we worked to get the in later on. Certainly not by trying to report anyone to any authorities. Are we begrudging someone a place in school just because they can afford it? Or are we saying that living within a km of a school gives u privilege to get in? That being the case, that's why people are buying or renting in the first place. It's their choice to spend their money right? Anyway I apologize if I have offended anyone. You can also choose to ignore my post.
To me, the issue is about whether people who rent the place actually use the place as they promised. I have nothing against anyone who genuinely needed to rent and stay in these rented homes. It is for these people that the system has to introduce flexibility (kudos to MOE), which unfortunately also leaves a large gaping loophole.
This is exploited by landlords who would receive rent from people whom they know will never stay in their premises, which makes the landlords happy, and the perpetrators are happy because they get the school they want. Since everyone is happy, no one will say anything about this, and the practice continues. While we have little evidence to say that this is widespread, the fact that http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=699 say that they would use an address that they do not stay in just to get priority is a sad reflection that this could be a significant problem if the system has no mechanism to enforce fair behavior.
Obviously if one is rich and owns multiple properties, he can easily beat the system by using the address of the property nearest to the school, even if the child does not actually stay there. He is even working within the rules of the system because that's what it allows. But would you consider this to be morally right?
By the way, with regards to your question of whether staying \"within a km of a school gives u privilege to get in\", this right is already accorded by MOE within each Phase that requires balloting. It makes little sense to \"begrudge\" anyone staying close to the schools a place in the school. For the same reason, it makes little sense to give a place to anyone who do not stay close to schools but uses money to buy a temporary address near schools. Of course its their money. But it is both morally wrong and a felony. They can be charged under the http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/aol/search/display/view.w3p;page=0;query=CompId%3A7dfa1723-212b-46e0-a105-d67544669fd0;rec=0 for submitting a false contact address in their NRIC, and for defrauding MOE on its P1 Registration rules. -
Ok point taken. Thanks man.
To the various gurus of KSP,
I’m helping a friend here (cos my gal got into Marymount in phase 2C, so I’ve retired from the competition already!)…
Her gal balloted at a popular gal’s school and lost. So now, she’s thinking of applying for marymount for phase 2CS, but she knows that based on historical trends, there’ll definitely be balloting (likely a 50% chance only cos she’s > 2km). Alternatively, I asked if she would like to just secure a place at Canossa Convent (though she much, much prefers Marymount). Here’re some questions she asked me:
- if she play safe and secure a place at Canossa, and put her name on waitlist for Marymount, what’re the chances that children will leave Marymount? Would it be like those popular schools whereby students may hardly leave?
- if she play dangerous and choose to ballot at Marymount and lost, what are her chances of getting into Canossa if she put it on waitlist? Again, she wonders what are the chances of kids leaving Canossa?
Basically, she really wants to calculate her odds… In the meantime, she has already put her name on her original choice popular gals’ school, which she knows is really little hope lah…
Many thanks for your help as my friend is really desperate now, cos the online registration started already?!! -
lil_jade:
Hi, I would offer my humble opinion from my perspective. Personally, I prefer Marymount Convent to Canossa Convent. Your friend should consider if she can take the stress of not being balloted into Marymount Convent in Phase 2Cs. If she's mentally prepared, I would recommend her to try for Marymount Convent as it is a school that focus on the overall development of the child and has a proven record of producing girls who enter top girls' sec sch either through stellar PSLE results or DSA admission. This was one of the factors why Marymount Convent was my choice in Phase 2C as I wanted to be sure of a guaranteed slot in a girls' school for my girl and I really cannot bear to go through that stress of balloting. What won me over at Marymount Convent was the CCAs being offered to Pri 1 and 2 girls.To the various gurus of KSP,
I'm helping a friend here (cos my gal got into Marymount in phase 2C, so I've retired from the competition already!)...
Her gal balloted at a popular gal's school and lost. So now, she's thinking of applying for marymount for phase 2CS, but she knows that based on historical trends, there'll definitely be balloting (likely a 50% chance only cos she's > 2km). Alternatively, I asked if she would like to just secure a place at Canossa Convent (though she much, much prefers Marymount). Here're some questions she asked me:
- if she play safe and secure a place at Canossa, and put her name on waitlist for Marymount, what're the chances that children will leave Marymount? Would it be like those popular schools whereby students may hardly leave?
- if she play dangerous and choose to ballot at Marymount and lost, what are her chances of getting into Canossa if she put it on waitlist? Again, she wonders what are the chances of kids leaving Canossa?
Basically, she really wants to calculate her odds.. In the meantime, she has already put her name on her original choice popular gals' school, which she knows is really little hope lah..
Many thanks for your help as my friend is really desperate now, cos the online registration started already?!!
I would also suggest to your friend to look through both Marymount Convent and Canossa Convent school websites. Do a comparison of the CCAs offered and see which school is a better fit for her child.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.