2013 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
Hi all
I have been quietly following this thread since end of last year as my DS is taking his PSLE this year too.
So much information have been shared in this thread and most of them have been very helpful to me.
The PSLE oral is just 2 days away and the pressure can be felt so deeply in my house. DS didn’t do well for his Prelim Oral and we are all very disappointed. These few days we tried to do more oral practices with him but most of the time we ended up scolding him especially for the conversation part for both languages.
He also complains about feeling tired and getting headaches quite easily these days. Really very very scared that he will burnt out.
I am feeling burnt out liao … -
Thank you to all mummies for the advice and encouragement

Sun_2010, maybe I should get aromatherapy oil so it will relax me further when taking 10 deep breaths. Must buy this weekend to prepare for the PSLE written part...
icy_mama, now dark chocolate finished liao and I just gobbled any chocolate found in fridge. I hope your dd will recover soon. She needs to drink plenty of water but on the oral day itself maybe less water just in case need to go to toilet often? This is something I also don't know because the situation is tricky. Maybe the mummies here can advise?
TravelMummy, I am very tempted to buy ice cream and keep it at home but I am worried ds will also want to eat. He will definitely ask if he sees ice cream in the fridge. Sigh... we also sacrifice our food during this period...
BeContented, it really feels like I am the one taking oral. I never feel this nervous when I did my exams last time. Maybe I am old oreadi... -
I can understand the stress, but your child will be nervous if you are kancheong and that is not good for your child. As parents, we must maintain composure, and not to tell our children that it is the end of the world if they don’t do well, because it isn’t. Our role is to support and help our children relax and stay calm, so that they can look forward to the exam knowing they are ready for it. As long as they focus on problem solving rather than worrying they will do well or not, they will be fine.
Some of the service providers have provided excellent tips which we have put on our home page. At this point, you should print out those tips, let your child browse through the tips, and check off each of the tip if they understood and have internalised the point. Don’t force them to memorise the tips, as it may create fear of "forgetting", which can be damaging during an oral exam. -
PSLEguru:
Good and useful tips... Thank you.Hey guys- i wrote a two-part article on tips for oral exams. They are quite comprehensive and step-by-step instructions on what to do. Hope this will be useful for your children this Thursday and Friday. Good luck.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/six-comprehensive-tips-ace-oral-exams-week-part-1
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/six-comprehensive-tips-ace-oral-exams-week-part-2 -
messageinabottle:
I have printed a copy and passed to my dd, she is reading it now. :thankyou: :lovesite:
Good and useful tips... Thank you.PSLEguru:
Hey guys- i wrote a two-part article on tips for oral exams. They are quite comprehensive and step-by-step instructions on what to do. Hope this will be useful for your children this Thursday and Friday. Good luck.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/six-comprehensive-tips-ace-oral-exams-week-part-1
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/six-comprehensive-tips-ace-oral-exams-week-part-2 -
25hr mama:
I have printed a copy and passed to my dd, she is reading it now. :thankyou: :lovesite:[/quote]Happy to be of help. Best of luck- get your kid to relax, enjoy himself/herself at the oral exam and he/she will do great. :rahrah:
Good and useful tips... Thank you.messageinabottle:
[quote=\"PSLEguru\"]Hey guys- i wrote a two-part article on tips for oral exams. They are quite comprehensive and step-by-step instructions on what to do. Hope this will be useful for your children this Thursday and Friday. Good luck.
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/six-comprehensive-tips-ace-oral-exams-week-part-2
Kudos to you parents too. Chill :imcool: You have done your best already. Take care of your body too for ur kids--- there's another two months to \"tahan\" before this whole PSLE ordeal is over. Jiayou all! :hugs: -
DS's school gave out tips on identifying signs and symptoms of stress on children so I thought of sharing them with parents here.
Physical signs:
Headaches, stomach aches
Muscle tension, fatigue
Sleep disruption
Loss of appetite or overeating
Sweaty palms
Trembling
Emotional signs:
Anxiety and being bad-tempered
Excessive worrying, moody
Sadness, fear
Feeling inadequate
Behavioural signs:
Act in defensive, aggressive or impulsive manner
Nervous habit (eg biting nail)
Loss of interest in activities
Withdrawing from social activities
Mental signs:
Poor concentration
Forgetfulness
Lack of confidence
Everyone reacts and copes with situations differently and thus they experience stress to different levels of intensity.
All the best to our DCs for their PSLE Oral tomorrow and Friday!
:rahrah: :rahrah: :rahrah: -
25hr mama:
I have printed a copy and passed to my dd, she is reading it now. :thankyou: :lovesite:[/quote]I printed a copy too. Thank you PSLE guru.
Good and useful tips... Thank you.messageinabottle:
[quote=\"PSLEguru\"]Hey guys- i wrote a two-part article on tips for oral exams. They are quite comprehensive and step-by-step instructions on what to do. Hope this will be useful for your children this Thursday and Friday. Good luck.
PSLE guru thank you for the tips
To all fellow PSLE parents thank you for all the sharings here and to all PSLE kids best of luck. The first PSLE hurdle is now here... Stay positive. :rahrah:
Instead of oral practice we did neat hair practice yesterday since DD refused to go for a haircut...
WISHING ALL THE PSLE STUDENTS GOOD LUCK FOR THE ORAL EXAMS.....
Best of concentration and Best of everything.....Rock and score good marks....Keep away all your tensions....
My prayers to u all..... :grphug:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.