Does type of housing really matters?
winth:
知足常乐 ! :celebrate:hquek:
oh oh...regarding stories of pp who live simply, there was once a story in papers about investment. This guy stays in clementi hdb flat, drives a really old Jap car...and has 10MN in investments :!: :!: ....sigh.....dunno how to enjoy life? It's good to love to make money I guess (at least for his descendants).
Actually I still believe in living a good life and not be totally obsessed by money or live a extreme-thrifty lifestyle. It is important to use what money can buy and use it well.
U know, in our previous 5 room and our red van, we were so happy and satisfied with it that we told ourselves that we cannot get a better house than this; and our van was so nice and comfy that we won't get anything close. But now, we are even happier with our current house and we think we cannot get an even better-er house than this; and this car is now so spacious and sturdy that it's impossible to fall in love with another one. -
CookiesMonster:
hahah ! count me in to your club ! Come back still got tons of laundry to do, hate it !
i dread holidays...the night before the start of it, i always don't sleep cos i scared nvr packed enuff or scared missing the flight.tankee:
And where did you go for your holidays .... these days, take a few days' leave = overseas vacation
true holidays to me \"means vegetate at home & not at any airport sedating myself before flight take-off\"
My true holidays is - rot at home, sleep till very late, enjoy my cosy home, watch DVD, eat and eat
I used to equate holidays as going somewhere, seeing new things...then I had a hubby and now 2 kids. So holidays = packing and unpacking for 4 persons, cleaning the house after I'm back cos it's so dusty.....no wonder I have reduced my enthusiasm over the years.

Yup yup.....fully agree, contentment is THE key to a good life - not mansions, not fancy cars! (unless that is that person's wish). Wishing all here a contented life filled with laughter and happiness!! :celebrate: :celebrate: (feeling so new yearly now). -
Actually nowadays I don't even dare to ask that question. I know quite a few colleagues who are over 40 and still single.
They will ask \"How many children do you have?\" So she said that's the real wealth.
Sometimes really don't know what to talk about, then just talk about the weather lor. -
tamarind:
Yes, that's true...or sometimes also have single parent for whatever reason (if your next question is...so how did you meet your spouse...then kenna stoned face
Actually nowadays I don't even dare to ask that question. I know quite a few colleagues who are over 40 and still single.MMM:
They will ask \"How many children do you have?\" So she said that's the real wealth.
Sometimes really don't know what to talk about, then just talk about the weather lor.
) Gotta play safe and talk about something really mundane - how about the partial solar eclipse this pm?
Andaiz:
[/quote]Maybe that's why people end up asking the more common topic like housing, schools, etc... Maybe not to show off their \"wealth\" but it is topics that concerns most people especially in a social environment.
Actually nowadays I don't even dare to ask that question. I know quite a few colleagues who are over 40 and still single.tamarind:
[quote=\"MMM\"]
We are back to square one. -
CookiesMonster:
Sounds like me but I don't live alone so I have to look at family dynamics and interests.
i dread holidays...the night before the start of it, i always don't sleep cos i scared nvr packed enuff or scared missing the flight.
True holiday to me means \"Do nothing\".
So, point is...it's NOT the question
Maybe that's why people end up asking the more common topic like housing, schools, etc... Maybe not to show off their \"wealth\" but it is topics that concerns most people especially in a social environment.
We are back to square one.
but how people react to the response loh!
Tough to teach a 7-year old this eh? When we as parents sometimes can't even get it right !
[And where did you go for your holidays .... these days, take a few days' leave = overseas vacation
Actually, I feel that it's because our life has evolved. 18 years back, those who carry a \"water bottle\" handphone is considered as rich. But nowadays, almost everyone has a compact handphone.
I remember when I was a child, going on a holiday is such a grand and big event as not many people can afford to go for hols. It is deemed as very expensive. But with latest mindset and probably travel made more affordable, going for holidays become a norm. In most average family, kids have gone on an aeroplane before. I don't think we've become more \"materialistic\", but it's more like the lifestyle has evolved due to technology. So this become the \"norm\". -
I used to equate holidays as going somewhere, seeing new things...then I had a hubby and now 2 kids. So holidays = packing and unpacking for 4 persons, cleaning the house after I'm back cos it's so dusty.....no wonder I have reduced my enthusiasm over the years.

Yup yup.....fully agree, contentment is THE key to a good life - not mansions, not fancy cars! (unless that is that person's wish). Wishing all here a contented life filled with laughter and happiness!! :celebrate: :celebrate: (feeling so new yearly now).
was in the mood for spring cleaning till i broke a tea candle in the MBR...now takg a 2nd wind to continue
ah well....Luo Di Kai HUAT!!!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.