Travel: China - Shanghai

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    358 Posts 69 Posters 125.5k Views 1 Watching
      Song22

Excel99:
      Can someone please share with me which is a better market that is near da tong yang market in shanghai?Thank you.I hope to get some winter cloths.

Excel
      Not sure about da tong yang market but if if u want to get winter clothing, u can try decathlon, but they are of more sporty selection and very good value.

Dnls_mum

Song22:
        Excel99:

Can someone please share with me which is a better market that is near da tong yang market in shanghai?Thank you.I hope to get some winter cloths.

Excel

Not sure about da tong yang market but if if u want to get winter clothing, u can try decathlon, but they are of more sporty selection and very good value.

I'll be going Shanghai for a few days on business. Will be staying at Grand Hyatt at Jin Mao. Will be there for a few nights, not like previously zip in and out and schedule so tight always eat in hotel or near office. Anyone has any good makan place to recommend for dinner? I heard Haidilao is very gd but always long Q. Worth it?

Song22

Dnls_mum:
          Song22:

[quote=\"Excel99\"]Can someone please share with me which is a better market that is near da tong yang market in shanghai?Thank you.I hope to get some winter cloths.

Excel

I'll be going Shanghai for a few days on business. Will be staying at Grand Hyatt at Jin Mao. Will be there for a few nights, not like previously zip in and out and schedule so tight always eat in hotel or near office. Anyone has any good makan place to recommend for dinner? I heard Haidilao is very gd but always long Q. Worth it?[/quote]Somehow I don't really like haidilao. For hotpot, I like 小辉哥. The is one located near grand Hyatt at 正大。老吉士 at 天平路 for shanghainese food or there is a branch at pudong. You can also check http://www.dianping.com for address and the popular dishes. Others such as Korean 本家, Japanese 九井 (super good!), are some good places. Hope this helps 😄

Dnls_mum

Song22:
            Dnls_mum:

I'll be going Shanghai for a few days on business. Will be staying at Grand Hyatt at Jin Mao. Will be there for a few nights, not like previously zip in and out and schedule so tight always eat in hotel or near office. Anyone has any good makan place to recommend for dinner? I heard Haidilao is very gd but always long Q. Worth it?

Somehow I don't really like haidilao. For hotpot, I like 小辉哥. The is one located near grand Hyatt at 正大。老吉士 at 天平路 for shanghainese food or there is a branch at pudong. You can also check http://www.dianping.com for address and the popular dishes. Others such as Korean 本家, Japanese 九井 (super good!), are some good places. Hope this helps 😄

:thankyou: Song22. Will try to check some of these out 🙂

fatmama75

I need some advice for my trip to Shanghai in December.

I’ll b arriving in Shanghai on 8Dec midnight and leaving on 18Dec midnight. This means I have 9 full days in Shanghai. I am thinking of visiting Suzhou, Hangzhou and Nanjing. How many days shall I allocate to these 3 locations? I’ll be traveling with my 3kids aged 5,7 and 9.

Thanks!

jetsetter

fatmama75:

I'll b arriving in Shanghai on 8Dec midnight and leaving on 18Dec midnight. This means I have 9 full days in Shanghai. I am thinking of visiting Suzhou, Hangzhou and Nanjing. How many days shall I allocate to these 3 locations? I'll be traveling with my 3kids aged 5,7 and 9.

Thanks!
                2 nights each for SZ, HZ and NJ? Depends on how u move from city to city-by car, train or air?

SZ - just visit the beautiful gardens (the one Nixon visited and now replicated in Met Museum in NYC) + a half day tour of Zhou Zhuang. Can go to Tiger Mountain. Got time drop by SIP too.

HZ - I love HZ, esp lake-cruise of the Westlake. Eat at Lou Wai Lou, the Qing dynasty restaurant serving Su-Zhe cuisine.

NJ - I also enjoyed NJ, cos I'm a history buff. Do visit the NK Massacre Museum, Ming Tombs and Sun Yat Sen Mausoleum with your kids...

fatmama75

jetsetter:
                  fatmama75:

I'll b arriving in Shanghai on 8Dec midnight and leaving on 18Dec midnight. This means I have 9 full days in Shanghai. I am thinking of visiting Suzhou, Hangzhou and Nanjing. How many days shall I allocate to these 3 locations? I'll be traveling with my 3kids aged 5,7 and 9.

Thanks!

2 nights each for SZ, HZ and NJ? Depends on how u move from city to city-by car, train or air?

SZ - just visit the beautiful gardens (the one Nixon visited and now replicated in Met Museum in NYC) + a half day tour of Zhou Zhuang. Can go to Tiger Mountain. Got time drop by SIP too.

HZ - I love HZ, esp lake-cruise of the Westlake. Eat at Lou Wai Lou, the Qing dynasty restaurant serving Su-Zhe cuisine.

NJ - I also enjoyed NJ, cos I'm a history buff. Do visit the NK Massacre Museum, Ming Tombs and Sun Yat Sen Mausoleum with your kids...

Hi Jetsetter

Thanks for the info. I'll plan my itinerary with your recommendations.

What's SIP in SZ?

I'm planning to take the speed rail (is that how they call it?) from Shanghai to HZ to NJ then to SZ (if I studied the map correctly).

Betw Suzhou and HZ, which one is worth spending 2 nights, in your opinion? I initially tot of 1 night in either SZ or HZ.

Thanks

jetsetter

fatmama75:
                    jetsetter:

[quote=\"fatmama75\"]Hi,

Thanks!

Hi Jetsetter

Thanks for the info. I'll plan my itinerary with your recommendations.

What's SIP in SZ?

I'm planning to take the speed rail (is that how they call it?) from Shanghai to HZ to NJ then to SZ (if I studied the map correctly).

Betw Suzhou and HZ, which one is worth spending 2 nights, in your opinion? I initially tot of 1 night in either SZ or HZ.

Thanks[/quote]
                    Oh, it's Suzhou Industrial Park 🙂

I think if u skip the water town Zhouzhuang, 1 night should suffice for SZ. I personally like HZ...maybe it's cos I missed sipping my coffee at the (West)lakeside Starbucks...

Why dun u do this: SH - HZ - SZ - Wuxi - NJ - SH? Because HZ and NJ are so far apart and SZ is in the midpoint.
                    http://www.chinaholidays.com/tours/shanghai-hangzhou-suzhou-wuxi-nanjing.html

• floppyF Offline
                      floppy

fatmama75:

Thanks!
                      Actually, with only 9 days to spare, I would pick 3 out of 4 destinations max. My pick would be Shanghai, Suzhou and Hangzhou, leaving Nanjing for another trip.

jjxy mum

floppy:
                        fatmama75:

Thanks!

Actually, with only 9 days to spare, I would pick 3 out of 4 destinations max. My pick would be Shanghai, Suzhou and Hangzhou, leaving Nanjing for another trip.

Hi floppy,

We did a similar trip too 2 years back, West Lake is nice , can take tram to tour around the lake. We joined their local tour a day to Zhouzuang too.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 36

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies