How do you not succumb to temptations?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    105 Posts 20 Posters 42.8k Views 1 Watching

ponyo:
      Hi ya buds,

Thanks. Yup agree with you too on the other commonly used phrases.

Cheers
      ponyo
      p/s: Very upset to learn over the new year of another 2 marriages on the rocks due to straying husbands. Pity the kids involved. Wish I could clobber these men and make them wake up to their selfishness! :x

hence been reading all these EMA threads to rant... :rant:
      Me too! Upset to hear from my side of people too! :x
      Oh please clobber.. mebbe i'd hire a hitman! :evil:

Hence, here i am ranting away too.. Ahaks! :lol:

just as what insider predicted ... this is turning into another EMA thread. :lol: :rotflmao:

This should just go into the EMA thread lah actually.
        We all know it will spiral towards that anyhow mah.

no la. Ema are cases that happened, we are looking for tempted cases but exercised the strength of mind to overcome it. This discussion is inspirational like what insider shared. Ema cases are those already fallen into the hole.L

• 3 Offline
          3Boys

I would avoid being in a position or place that allow myself to be tempted.

Yep. Safest thing to do.

My Pastor once said, you can't avoid pigeons flying overhead and dropping things on your head, but you can prevent them from landing, or better yet, move to shelter and avoid altogether.

Values are important, and can be trained. For instance, some people who turn vegetarian, after a while, completely lose the taste of meat and find the idea of eating it repugnant.

Likewise, we need to 'train' to the idea that EMA is 'repugnant'. That can come from several sources, typically moral standards. That is not to say that we test ourselves with temptation, for quite often that has the quite opposite effect of wearing down our defences. I read an article once about a lady who attended a wild 'hen party' with her friends, and with all the thrill and alcohol on board, did something impulsive with the male 'entertainer'. She, and her friends at the party, have to live with a lie for the rest of their lives, keeping this secret from her husband. I am sure the same applies to 'stag parties'. Whose idea was it anyway to stage such things? Openly courting temptation? Just asking to be burnt....

• U Offline
            UncleLim

Be on the Offensive. Actively strive to love your spouse.

(My real method is hanging around men only. And only fat and ugly ones.) :celebrate:

Andaiz

UncleLim:
              Be on the Offensive. Actively strive to love your spouse.

(My real method is hanging around men only. And only fat and ugly ones.) :celebrate:
              Good advice, UncleLim...one can never be too sure so BE PREPARED! :shock: Ehmmm as to the fat, ugly men - oso can be attractive to some love-starved or scheming women who want to get PR leh!

• E Offline
                en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

I don’t know what man really see but I have been having a hard time trying to buzz of the "flies" buzzing near me.

How do I resist these temptations? Avoid being over friendly to male colleague. Open talk in the office strictly on business discussion & no discussion of any personal matter. I ensure my business flight doesn’t coincide with male colleague or I have another female colleague with me.

If I’m on business travel (sometime strangers hit me while I’m on flight), while I’m dining, while I was sightseeing. I always put on my big bling on my wedding finger & will subtly show it to them. But if the person is direct (ever a man doesn’t care that I am married), I will simply just say NO!

When I go out for shopping, I will usually have at least 1 little bodyguard (haha) either my ds or dd. If stranger stare at me too long (sometime they strikes conversation, sometimes they just simply like to look), my little bodyguard will just say very loudly and will point "Mummy, why is that man staring at you." That remark is a sure joy killer to the man trying to strike a conversation.

Anyway, these happen when I was in my early 30s. Now approaching 40 liao. Very minimal disturbances. Hope my sharing will help those young mothers out there when they are often disturb by unwanted attention.

I dont want to be tempted. Never mind if the one following me is rich and successful or from the foreign land. I’m happy with my life. I have enough headache managing my man, my little demanding boy & my very strange but adorable daughter. No need another man to come into the picture to complicate my already complicated life.

ponyo

woohoo EN, you must be really a headturner. That's why the wolves are drooling :drool:

But I must salute you for standing firm. :ugogirl:

Join the club of the One-Man-Woman!

Honestly, 1 man, 2 kids and with ILs to handle, how can anyone have any more energy to cast a roving eye at others 😐

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

It is quite amazing how some people seem to have no qualms in soliciting married persons with kids into illicit relationships. My DW was receiving PMs from strangers on FB until I helped her tighten her privacy settings.

• E Offline
                      en107rn.01056yahoo.01056com.01056sg

[quote]woohoo EN, you must be really a headturner. That's why the wolves are drooling [/quote]

Hai ya ponyo. You missed this line that I wrote [quote]I don't know what man really see[/quote] Because there is nothing to see. Very ordinary lor. I think some man are so daft :stupid: . Their heads can still turn even when dh is walking with me & the kids. You know what dh usually do. Approach that man and say \"That's your wife & this is mine. Stop looking.\" When he does that I feel so :oops: .
                      [quote]It is quite amazing how some people seem to have no qualms in soliciting married persons with kids into illicit relationships. My DW was receiving PMs from strangers on FB until I helped her tighten her privacy settings. [/quote]I've got a fair share of problem in FB too. What I do is to change my privacy setting, change my avatar into landscape instead of my face, twist my name to become common. I have overseas work contact (distributors) trying to add me in, then make unrelated work calls in the office. I buay tahan.

• tankeeT Offline
                        tankee

EN:
                        ...... I always put on my big bling on my wedding finger & will subtly show it to them. But if the person is direct (ever a man doesn't care that I am married), ......

To those looking for one-night-stand, married person means safe & no-strings attached.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 11

neilbN
                        neilb
                        iisterryI
                        iisterry
                        celiberryC
                        celiberry
                        sc88bnccomS
                        sc88bnccom