Detached Retina
That was one of the reason why I went for lasik as well. Plus in the long run more cost effective as I was on daily disposables.lovekidsverymuch:
Lucky u... u went on time!! hope u recover soon!!
Thanks.
Autumnbronze,
The wierdest thing is, my contact lens are intact. I did the inspection when I am back. I am wearing those monthly disposable lens. I suspect that I could have gotten it from my bed while sleeping. As I woke up feeling that I've scratched my eye ball.
But was most happy to get it out though still having blur vision on one eye now. Hope that tomorrow is back to normal. I was soooo worried that the condition is worst that I could ever imagine. Can't imagine having to wear specs for the rest of my life :roll: Also... think it's a wake up call to seriously consider if I should go for lasik.
Anyone done that and has someone good to recommend???
Had eye infection oso and ulcers on the eyelid before too when on contacts.
I went to LSC. Tough myopia totally corrected but estig still there and night vision is compromised by starburst effects. But still dun regret doing lah. -
MMM, you can refer to this link:
Also... think it's a wake up call to seriously consider if I should go for lasik.
Anyone done that and has someone good to recommend???
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7263&start=0
It seems that Dr Jerry Tan is highly recommended but v exp. But he is v v thorough and is v strict abt follow-up treatment.
Most prob I will go to him. -
Ladies,
If you’ve been on contact lens, do take extra precaution. I used to wear contact lens but stopped after 2 years because my eyes are very dry…besides I feel more tired wearing it. Glasses not very comfortable but safer. Fortunately hubby stopped contact lens too.
Muffin,
My neighbour told me she and her hubby go to Dr Gerald Chua for surgery. My hubby is under Dr Doric Wong at SNEC. -
Ok, thanks for all the help, you guys. :grphug:
hi janet,Ladies,
If you've been on contact lens, do take extra precaution. I used to wear contact lens but stopped after 2 years because my eyes are very dry...besides I feel more tired wearing it. Glasses not very comfortable but safer. Fortunately hubby stopped contact lens too.
Muffin,
My neighbour told me she and her hubby go to Dr Gerald Chua for surgery. My hubby is under Dr Doric Wong at SNEC.
I've been wearing contact lenses since my JC days. Everythg's fine so far. *touch wood*
But when I take the flu tablet for too many days (to help me sleep), my eyes do feel very dry. So , for me it's either insomnia or uncomfy eyes the next day.
Muffin,
Do get your appt soonest. Take care! -
mathsparks:
Yes. Will plan an appointment VERY soon!
hi janet,janet_lee88:
Ladies,
If you've been on contact lens, do take extra precaution. I used to wear contact lens but stopped after 2 years because my eyes are very dry...besides I feel more tired wearing it. Glasses not very comfortable but safer. Fortunately hubby stopped contact lens too.
Muffin,
My neighbour told me she and her hubby go to Dr Gerald Chua for surgery. My hubby is under Dr Doric Wong at SNEC.
I've been wearing contact lenses since my JC days. Everythg's fine so far. *touch wood*
But when I take the flu tablet for too many days (to help me sleep), my eyes do feel very dry. So , for me it's either insomnia or uncomfy eyes the next day.
Muffin,
Do get your appt soonest. Take care!
My hubby had a new pair of glasses made because of his higher degree sight after the op. The gas bubble in the eye has gone, and a catarat has formed instead. The optician mentioned something about wearing contact lens later bcos there will be a time his eye sight will be very uneven - 700 degrees (right eye) and 0 degree in left eye (eye which had retina detachment).
Can anyone advise what else to expect please ? Thanks. -
Hi Janet, this is a little :offtopic: but I would like to know what the difference is between a gas bubble and a cataract. TIA.

Gas bubble is to push the retina back into original place…catarat is the blurring of the natural lens. Sorry, that’s about all I know.
It’s been a tough 3 weeks since the op…still worried about his vision now. -
Hi, Janet. Was reading my ‘food as cures’ book and it said Chinese Wolfberry is good for the retina. It’s a common ingredient in Chinese food so I suppose there’s no harm in your hubby having more of it. Take care.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.