Palm View Primary
TheHockminatrix:
Some vendors charge different rates.. but the difference could be like $10 or $20. The reason for the small insignificant difference is that even if your child opts for 1 way.. the bus vendor will still have to use the same size bus and take almost the same route both ways. Hence in terms if cost it is the same regardless. Just like full day and half day childcare.. most places the difference is rather small (not even near half the price for half day childcare).TheHockminatrix:
Btw peeps, sorry if this QN has been answered before ... Is it true that school buses will cost the same whether one-way or two?
This was what we were told (by the bus op). When we signed up, we were asked which we needed. If the price was the same regardless, why bother to ask? Should just be default two-way.
We asked around our contacts and was told that this is not usual practise.
Appreciate additional insights. Thanks.
Clarified at general office (and courtesy of two other parents there) - yes, same charge whether 1 or 2-way. Which I disagree with but will wait and see if other options appear.
But i feel the same way ah.. when I opt for transport 2 years ago I felt that it was rudiculoud that I had to pay almost similar to those taking 2-ways. -
Phew, we survived the 1st day of school!!! :rahrah:
Ya.. I know it's kind of sian to hear that be it one-way or two way transport, the fees are going to be the same if not just $10 lesser. Actually it is the common practice for bus vendors. My son was also taking schoolbus during kindy times, it cost $10 lesser for a one-way. On top of that, I have to pay for the June and Dec months as well even though it's holiday months. After that I decided to send him to and from school myself.
Son so far has positive feedback on 1Aristotle. The teacher Miss Liu is kind and friendly. I also like the principal's vision and his attitude towards the school. Even the Vice-Principal is very warm hearted. I think they genuinely want this school and the kids to excel. There is no homework on the first day and son required me to sign on his timetable form.
Only issue is the dismissal which can be quite tricky esp at the security gate. A lot of parents were crowding around waiting for their kids' dismissal which cannot be help. Saw a few Primary one kids upon release don't know where to go because their parents were not there yet. so was a bit worried for them. Shared with other parents to tell them that they have to tell their P1 child to NEVER leave the gate if they cannot find the parents.
For me, I was already there early and the Form teacher Miss Liu safely handed over my son.
Other than this, I am just glad that we survived the 1st day!
Lovekids22 :rahrah: -
saw a lot parents sign up for the parent suport group
so far good experience seeing the kids paying for their food themselve -
Wonder what time your kids reach home/ student care for those taking school bus (sengkang area)?
Anyone there for last Fri’s first day of school? Share your experience…
Overall good experience, the school has added some new enhancements, to name a few… the canteen , good that they now have the grills, at least the birds won’t fly in. I like the toilets at the ground level, well decorated with famous people & this is what I like most-the Science theatre! I presume the school is going to conduct science activities there.
I also like the drone flying demo. Attracted quite a large crowd.My son was asking me to get him one of those…the school really make learning interesting for the children.
That’s all. Also to benefit parents who may have missed last Friday’s session. -
cyranocrash & lovekids22,
Thanks for your insights on the school transport arrangements. Still trying to get used to the whole ecosystem of primary school education in Singapore. Don't like feeling as if being held \"hostage\" (altho truth is everything also \"hostage\" lah in Singapore =P).
I hadn't realised it was only going to be $10-20 difference for one-way arrangements. That IS ridiculous. I know at the end of the day transport ops are still plying the same route, but practise persist because customers too tired to fight it, I guess. Like me lor.
Nevertheless, even though we're effectively paying DOUBLE the price for our boy's rides home (two-way = $4 per ride per day, ergo one-way = $8 prpd!), still made the conscious choice to personally send him in the mornings so he gets an additional half hour of sleep :snooze: and we get to spend the 1.5 hours together in the mornings.
Not ideal, but as ideal as it can be for now
How's everyone doing?
ilovechocolates: Drone demo - how exciting! When was this (during the day) if you don't mind me asking? Obviously didn't register with my boy because he hasn't talked about it! -
ilovechocolates:
what time was the drone flying demo as my son din saw thatAnyone there for last Fri's first day of school? Share your experience....
Overall good experience, the school has added some new enhancements, to name a few... the canteen , good that they now have the grills, at least the birds won't fly in. I like the toilets at the ground level, well decorated with famous people & this is what I like most-the Science theatre! I presume the school is going to conduct science activities there.
I also like the drone flying demo. Attracted quite a large crowd.My son was asking me to get him one of those....the school really make learning interesting for the children.
That's all. Also to benefit parents who may have missed last Friday's session. -
Hi all, I m very new this forum and I will like to know more information about the after school care.
My girl will be P1 next year and I intended to apply her for either Palm View or North vista. I was wondering if any of them provide this service?
Thanks in advance -
actually, I found it in school website.
Hi my son is in 3 Aristotle and gal in 1 Hillary. I find the pricing of the transport does not make sense to me. I was paying only 120 one way for my son last year from school to Punggol. I received the payment card asking for payment of 180. Two children will cost 360. Even though we are paying for 10month it still work out to be 150 per month this is 25% increase. may i check how much are you paying for the bus fee?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.