* Eunoia JC (EJC)
Justice_justin:
cherryc:
I'm impressed with the swift response immediately after my question of what is the exact amount of cost. Seems to me like some official response.
Internet Bridgade at work :censored:
After I read through 60+ pages, I find some of the posts highly suspicious leh. HWZ forurmers will understand.
Why are so many unaffected parents drawn to a thread that doesn't quite concern them huh? Why are some of these unaffected parents so passionate about a seemingly unrelated matter huh? Moreover, much efforts appear to go into diverting attention and distracting serious discussions on hot-button issues. Perhaps to prevent resentment from building up?
PS: I am sure I will be relentlessly criticized after this post but truth shall prevail.... :xedfingers:
U new to ksp? -
:imanisland:
So IB not anything new here ? Or you already so used to them? Some looked obvious. -
rains:
:goodpost:I think I would have been as indignant as the affected parents if it had happened to me.
It's one thing knowing where the school is and sending my kid to the school knowing from the start that my kid will, for sure, travel for more than an hour for 6 years, and another to have a beautiful picture of what and where the school will be like to get a nasty shock later.
There are quite a few things to get upset about if I were an affected parent:
1) the time frame - the promised time was mid 2018 and now it's end 2019. I think the diff is very the great lor. Delayed by a bit, people still can understand. Delayed by such a large margin - who has been sleeping?
2) the venue itself - you can't deny that there are parents who choose schools
based on proximity. After all, isn't this the greatest concern of many parents during P1 registration? If you look at the highest T-scores in various neighbourhood schools, there are students who enter those really neighbourhood schools at 260+. I am quite sure these students just want to go to the nearest possible school and hence the 'strange' phenomenon.
Not everyone wants to go to RI or HCI so please don't shove them down everyone's throat.
3) the integrity of the promise/vision itself
If I had been one of the parents, I would not know how to trust the authorities with their vision anymore. They are not any Tom, Dick or Harry that you find on the street. They are entrusted with such an important mission, and they could mess it up. What else can I trust them with?
4) enjoyment of the promised facilities
I hope I get this right and you are free to point it out if I am wrong. I read somewhere that IP was introduced when the 2012 batch of students were due to choose their secondary schools. If it had been completed in mid 2018, the students could still enjoy half a year of the new JC? Now that it's postponed to end of 2019, these pioneer students don't even get to smell the promised building. I would be quite miffed if I were one of the students.
It doesn't feel quite the same if you have never set foot in the building. It doesn't feel like the school's yours. Hope it's not too abstract.
All in all, I feel that it's completely justified for the affected parents to feel very upset by the (lack of) arrangement.
I feel that just becos we are not in the situation, we should not feel entitled to pass snide remarks about being strawberries. Like that it's kinda durian to me - spiky and smelly. And we shouldn't be pineapples and papayas either - a pregnant colleague shared with me that these two fruits have enzymes that dissolve foetus (students). Not old wives' tale hor. Instead, let's be watermelons - sweet and refreshing. -
Justice_justin:
:imanisland:
So IB not anything new here ? Or you already so used to them? Some looked obvious.
you yet to see the fiery discussions that went onto personal attacks. -
How about asking MOE to provide FREE feeder bus from Bishan MRT and Bouna Vista MRT to Mt Sina campus and also start school later?
Lani:
How about asking MOE to provide FREE feeder bus from Bishan MRT and Bouna Vista MRT to Mt Sina campus and also start school later?
DHS has a late starting hours
RI also has late starting hours for certain group of people
HCI has some days late starting iirc (some one can confirm?)
as for free shuttle bus - this is very risky for MOE - later kena kpkb by parents again that walking time is faster than waiting for the shuttle bus, and if there is traffic jam, MOE and LTA will kena scolded for no foresight no planning, no transparency, giving excuses for sleeping on the job .... bla bla bla -
Lani:
Are you an affected parent/student - no referring to taxpayer? -
pirated:
Starting sch later is not difficult to get. But not sure how rigid is this Mdm Cheang. Parents should fight for this on 25 May.Lani:
DHS has a late starting hours
RI also has late starting hours for certain group of people
HCI has some days late starting iirc (some one can confirm?)
as for free shuttle bus - this is very risk for MOE - later kena kpkb by parents again that walking time is faster than waiting for the shuttle bus, and if there is traffic jam, MOE and LTA will kena scolded for no foresight no planning, no transparency, giving excuses for sleeping on the job .... bla bla bla
I was also thinking of the same free shuttle suggestion, Lani. And is this what MOE is intending to offer when they said \"appropriate transport arrangements for affected students\"?
But then I am aware some non-affected taxpayers might complain abt wasting public funds on a small group of JC students.
Won't future pri/sec sch parents affected by PRIME demand for similar service if a precedent is set?
Agree with pirated that walking is sometimes faster than waiting for the shuttle bus to arrive on fixed intervals. -
Lani:
FroM Buona vista MRT to Mt Sina i can understand but out of the few hundred students, how many students needs feeder from Bishan MRT to the campus? :scratchhead: -
jetsetter:
U can't be walking in the rain, on rainy thunderstorm days.
Agree with pirated that walking is sometimes faster than waiting for the shuttle bus to arrive on fixed intervals.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.