* Eunoia JC (EJC)
Since MOE is the boss, they can always make such transfer possible.
It has to be an IP JC : because the affected pioneering batch students are Sec 3 this year.zeemimi:
Why must be IPJC har? All jc at yr 5 & 6 all teach the same stuff, whether ip or not. If distance is an issue, then look at jcs near home besides RI, like Anderson, yishun, innova for those staying in the north. It's so glaring, RI is the only IPJC in Bishan. VJ is out. HCI or NJ, that's not very far from mt sinai .....
Duh ... PW, my pet peeve. JS, can get that abolished within these few years?
If these affected students wish to transfer out to another JC, has to be done before the JAE students come in, so as to avoid competition head on with JAE students, armed with O level results.
If transfer take place before JAE students take O level : then only IP JC can accept their transfer , like (RI, HCI, NJC, VJC, etc), cannot be the non IP JC, since accept Transfer done before O level (by JAE students)
from past record : for those who performed very well at O level :
many (SNGS Secondary girls, Catholic High boys) after O level, usually head to Hwa Chong, for A level. There are also some that end up in RI, but if compare RI & Hwa Chong, more end up in Hwa Chong, than RI. -
Since MOE is the boss, they can always make such transfer possible.[/quote]There'll be downstream issues to consider.
It has to be an IP JC : because the affected pioneering batch students are Sec 3 this year.phtthp:
[quote=\"zeemimi\"]
Why must be IPJC har? All jc at yr 5 & 6 all teach the same stuff, whether ip or not. If distance is an issue, then look at jcs near home besides RI, like Anderson, yishun, innova for those staying in the north. It's so glaring, RI is the only IPJC in Bishan. VJ is out. HCI or NJ, that's not very far from mt sinai .....
If these affected students wish to transfer out to another JC, has to be done before the JAE students come in, so as to avoid competition head on with JAE students, armed with O level results.
If transfer take place before JAE students take O level : then only IP JC can accept their transfer , like (RI, HCI, NJC, VJC, etc), cannot be the non IP JC, since accept Transfer done before O level (by JAE students)
from past record : for those who performed very well at O level :
many (SNGS Secondary girls, Catholic High boys) after O level, usually head to Hwa Chong, for A level. There are also some that end up in RI, but if compare RI & Hwa Chong, more end up in Hwa Chong, than RI. -
Back to why must allow transfer to IP JC ... I'm baffled. For the prestige? Other regular JCs cannot?
I think one of the option is to allow students to transfer to the O level program, since all 3 schools are running dual track. Then you can have your pick of JCs after your O level results. This will be possible for the yr 1 & yr 2 students. Yr 3 students, really depends on how the school has been conducting their ip program. By right, the IP students are put on an accelerated program so they have time to explore other things. There should be no problem taking O levels. (nothing embarrassing to take O levels, okay? actually O levels is good. the rigours prepare you well for A levels.)
Another option is to use your IP results and transfer to other IP schools if you hv no confidence in the new IPJC and still want to skip O levels badly.
To ask for special priority to other IP JCs, that's rather difficult to work out. You can try dsa to other IP JCs instead. But the truth is, IPJCs don't need to scout for more students with stellar academic results. They turn away students with stellar results in DSA. Instead these JCs go scouting for sports talents to enter their JCs. -
[/color]
zeemimi:
Yes, including the one you indicated with a \"?\" in your post. As you mentioned \" VJ is out\", I just wonder why it is out since you mentioned \"If distance is an issue, then look at jcs near home besides RI, like Anderson, yishun, innova for those staying in the north.\". Please note that I'm not referring to me alone. I'm also referring to all those affected parents who are staying in the East and now, I'm not referring to the distance. I am referring to the trust and confidence I have in MOE in getting the program to be ready for the pioneer batch in Year 2017. :?
Cos a lot of complaints is about students staying in the north, too far to travel to holland area. I would assume it would be even further to travel to the east.TTBCOOL:
Why not VJC? There are some of the affected parents like me staying in the East and VJC is the nearest JC to my home. Based on the information provided by MOE and the trust and confidence we have in MOE, despite the distance, we had finally decided to choose the new IP JC even though my child's PSLE score is eligible for all the IP schools in the East. But now, my trust and confidence in MOE are badly shaken by this change of event and wonder will the new IP JC be ready for the pioneer batch?
If you stay in the East and opted for this ip program, despite being able to qualify for other ip prog in the East (dhs?) , it would mean you are willing to travel. The distance factor is not to your favour.
It looks like you should hv followed your gnawing doubts and instinct and change ip school last year. -
iRabbit:
Prefer and demand are 2 separate things. Let's not lump them together. I would also prefer Bishan if I have a choice. Didn't read the petition but I assume what you implied is factually correct.sinoboy:
If you don't mind please also post those comments asking to transfer directly to an IP JC of their choice or transfer directly to the IP JC nearest to their homes to show what these people are really asking for. If you bother to read through all the comments, most of them seem to prefer or demanding Bishan...
I think those who are indeed demanding transfer directly to the Bishan sch bcoz of this debacle, are indulging in wishful thinking. MOE will not, and cannot set such a precedence.
But let's not tar everyone who is affected with the same brush, just bcoz some of them made outrageous demands. Let's be fair to the rest, can?
:goodpost: -
Zeemini,
It’s not about any embarrassment transferring to O level. You put yourself in their shoes. If your kid is doing well in the IP, but at Sec 3/4 was asked to transfer to O level due to unforeseen circumstances. Would you be able to accept it?
Mabbe you would, but I would find that amazing. -
iRabbit:
Be fair to people like me who are stating facts ok? Can?
Prefer and demand are 2 separate things. Let's not lump them together. I would also prefer Bishan if I have a choice. Didn't read the petition but I assume what you implied is factually correct.sinoboy:
If you don't mind please also post those comments asking to transfer directly to an IP JC of their choice or transfer directly to the IP JC nearest to their homes to show what these people are really asking for. If you bother to read through all the comments, most of them seem to prefer or demanding Bishan...
I think those who are indeed demanding transfer directly to the Bishan sch bcoz of this debacle, are indulging in wishful thinking. MOE will not, and cannot set such a precedence.
But let's not tar everyone who is affected with the same brush, just bcoz some of them made outrageous demands. Let's be fair to the rest, can?
I'm just stating the fact that there are such people stating their preference and making hard demands. If you let the latter group drive the process and setting a harsh tone like some of the aggresive folks here you'll end up with nothing.
you look at these IP students no up? I'm sure with their calibre can compete fairly and squarely with the JAE students. Got JAE students also can go IP but opt not to go.
It has to be an IP JC : because the affected pioneering batch students are Sec 3 this year.zeemimi:
IP or no IP JC, all start formal lessons at around the same time. That's why no more first 3 months in a JC like donkey years ago, and after 3 months gotta reteach everything again. IPJCs maybe start a few weeks earlier for the IP students, not to teach them more stuff than the JAE students, but rather to give some subject talks, CCA talks. Nothing that the JAE students can't catch up with lah. -
iRabbit:
I didn't ask them to transfer to O level. I'm saying this is an option for those who don't want to go to the new IP JC and want to have more choice of which JCs to go to. This option is also an option brought up by affected parents themselves.Zeemini,
It's not about any embarrassment transferring to O level. You put yourself in their shoes. If your kid is doing well in the IP, but at Sec 3/4 was asked to transfer to O level due to unforeseen circumstances. Would you be able to accept it?
Mabbe you would, but I would find that amazing. -
zeemimi:
What? 全跑光,Mt Sinai 岂不变空城?! :slapshead:jetsetter:
[quote=\"sinoboy\"]
Wah liddat, 不离不弃忠臣 loyal stayers must be rewarded with PW 100% A, and a couple of PSC and President Scholars (My \"dark\" forces at work again!) to thank them for their unwavering support and faith in the school! :yikes: :siam:
But their T-score must first and foremost qualify for the IP JC of their choice, so as to be fair to those who worked hard to get into those B-Mountain schools requiring higher T-scores. I read some got >260, so mebbe they can have the option.
There's cohort cap too, otherwise will impact on teacher:ratio in those coveted IP schools, no?! Don't forget over-crowding too.
Duh ... PW, my pet peeve. JS, can get that abolished within these few years?[/quote]Then go join IBJC at SJI @ Bishan ITE? :rotflmao:
CJC, NYJC, AJC are not in the same \"band\" I presume?
Btw, I dun think affected parents are trying to exploit the situation, at least not from the 217 comments I read in the petition link.
It's not like due to a delay in my flight on economy class, I now demand a free upgrade to Raffles class on the next flight lor...
I read it as they just want some logical answers, feasible options and perhaps another suitable location in Bishan-AMK-Serangoon vicinity.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.