When your child wants this and that...
Hi Mincy,
That's what I'v been doing. but it doesn't seems to work on him.
usually a kid will get the idea after few times right? but my boy just doesn't get the idea that no matter how hard he throws tandrum, h will NOT get what he wants.haiz. -
smurf:
oh no that is a tough one... does time out works on him? I remember there was a phase where when my boy have behavior problem and we use to put him on time out almost every day. It was pretty bad with him crying away during the time out sessions and refusing to apologize for what he did.Hi Mincy,
That's what I'v been doing. but it doesn't seems to work on him.
usually a kid will get the idea after few times right? but my boy just doesn't get the idea that no matter how hard he throws tandrum, h will NOT get what he wants.haiz.
but it got better after awhile when he understood what he did was wrong.
have been using that as well, but doesn't seem to work.haiz.very tough.

OK let me try a different tack.
When a child starts to throw a tantrum, be aware that at this point the part of his mind that listens to reason has been overwhelmed by the emotional machine.
I've read that in a 2-year-old's tantrum, the crying and screaming is actually *BEYOND THe CHILD'S CONSCIOUS CONTROL* - he actually becomes incapable of shutting down the emotional explosion. This is one reason why reasoning with the child is utterly useless.
In such a situation, it has been recommended that the best thing one can do as a parent is to provide emotional support. Calm the child down and let him know you are there for him, that you still love him even when you say no.
So let's say after the initial no, your child begins a long cry, or throws a tantrum.
If trying to shush him does not work, you could try hugging and holding him and just tell him that \"It's ok. It's for your own good.\" What you say is not as important as the tone you use.
If the crying is very serious to the point that he's obviously not hearing you, you may need to catch his attention, squarely in the eye. My DD has a habit of not looking at me when I give orders, so sometimes I have to begin an order with \"Look at me.\" Pause. \"No.\"
Hopefully after you've got your child's attention, you can either enforce the \"No\" one more time, or go straight to consolation. Be your child's friend even when you say \"no\". Never become the enemy. Disperse the negative emotions asap.
There is one other tactic I use - pre-empt the request. If a reasonable time has passed since the last opportunity for a request - before your child asks you for something you tend to reject, get it for her.
In this way, you satisfy the child's craving without her having to request it (from you at an inopportune moment.) If you persist, there's a good chance your child will become retrained NOT to ask for this thing at all. More effective if you satisfy the craving once in a while according to your comfort level.
My DD likes to go the arcade. In the recent past, she would ask us to bring her, every few days. My limit is once a fortnight. She's past tantrums, but she would become very upset if I rejected her request. I stuck to my methodologies above. After a couple of months, I realized that she's forgotten the habit of asking every few days, or even every week. Nowadays she hardly asks any more.
What I would do now is surprise her every now and then, \"Would you like to go to Timezone?\" She would gleefully accept.
Do you see what has happened? Instead of the child asking you (and you rejecting her), it has become YOU asking the child and the child agreeing with you, at your convenience. The extra bonus is that child will love you for it.
I also do this with ice cream as well, and the occasional toy. (But toys are a different ball game altogether...) -
this tactic hor, sometime it works for him, sometime it doesn't. if the thing is not really want he wants and all he wants is attention, then hugging him is enough.but if he really wants, for example, ice cream, hugging him and saying no to him will result in screaming leh. :!:
so difficult to understand him. haiz. :? -
Understand.
Keep trying, sometimes he just needs to grow up a little more.
I've had my share of the same. My DD is now 7, she has improved a lot. -
sashimi:
Understand.
Keep trying, sometimes he just needs to grow up a little more.
I've had my share of the same. My DD is now 7, she has improved a lot.
Yup, now hardly any tantrums. She sulks instead and ignores/avoids us but it is usually short-lived cos she knows that it is more fun to be happy; being sulky and aloof is a waste of time. -
7 year old, ok, still got 3 more years to go.

smurf:
hee, I try to distract rather than say no out right. for ice cream... I volunteer to buy a box of 12 mini for him and he gets to eat when he is good or when I want to give him a treat. So when he wants ice cream outside, I will go like, \"okay lets go home to eat ice cream!\" and he is happy with that. by the time we get home, some times he forgets he wanted ice cream hee hee .this tactic hor, sometime it works for him, sometime it doesn't. if the thing is not really want he wants and all he wants is attention, then hugging him is enough.but if he really wants, for example, ice cream, hugging him and saying no to him will result in screaming leh. :!:
Heyya smurf,
I apply similar discipline tact with sashimi & schellen..
My kiddies one 7yrs and the other 5 yrs old.
It works for me the same..
I do not really experience major disciplinary issues with the
kiddies even now that they're bigger. I suppose parents have to
perservere thru' a fixed disciplinary measure to ensure children
know whose the boss. Meaning that, say.. we have first decided the time
out method (at home), to deal with childrens' petty tantrums, we gotta
follow through.. stick to it till we see some form of concrete response.
It takes time to cultivate the disciplinary measures, but if started from
young... eventually god willing it will be automatic.
If say... we decide to not use the time out for one occasion cos we
were tied up with something and offer him say... a candy to quickly
shush child down, child will know that somehow something had
worked that made us not use it. The child will then try similar
tactics to test market. It may be occasions when we were busy
cooking, or talking on the phone, and heck... just give it a quick
fix so we can get back to what we were doing but... Ting!! :idea:
That's one slip child will come to know that what he just did when
parent was busy, worked for him. He didn't have to do time-out.
Likewise if we're shopping, and all the while we have practised the
ignoring method... then for some reason that day there was a huge
crowd and people were looking, parent caves in to the pressure stares
child will continue to do the roll around the floor dance till we give up
our initial discipline measure. I reali think real parents will be polite
enuf not to stare and allow the parents of the tantrum throwing child
to deal with it their way. We're parents too... so it shudn't be a big of
a deal for us to discipline our children how we want. Even if it means
allowing the child a big loud cry at the corner of the mall.
If child does not make effort to cease the tantrum, i wud just get up
with them and go. Excursion over. These will be the moments where
the immediate discipline method wud not work and since we want to
avoid an audience (people can be really kaypoh!) gathering up our
discipline corner, might as well bring the child home and deal with
hin/her, properly :evil: ...
There were some occasions where i flopped too... and none else but,
by giving way. I said, \"If anyone misbehaves, straight home we go...\"
Buuuuttt, at times i didn't stay true to what i promised. It may be cos i
JUST happen to see-a-dress-i-liked-at-a-discount and it-was-the-last-
one... So i thought, neh-mind aah... just scold a bit there and then but
forgetting my pre-empt warning, the outing still continues.. And my
smarty pants, 5 yr old will observe and say, \"Mummy, you said if we
weren't behaving you wud take us straight home? But you're not?
Are you giving us another chance?\" :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
Children are smarter than we think..
So, gotta outsmart lor.
Important to stay firm. Mean what you say.
Do what you said you WILL do in the event of an outburst.
Weak threats will not work eventually..
And finally like sashimi said, when we catch them being all nice and
angelic... just how we want them to... surprise them with that one
thing you know they wud reali like. They'd remember and love you
for it, thus encouraging good behaviour at all other times.
>schellen : my kiddie's pout can reach the floor! :roll:
So, i noe watcha mean..
Just wanna quote Horton :
I meant what i said,
I said what i meant,
An elephant's faithful 100%.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.