Travel: Japan - General

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    3.2k Posts 386 Posters 804.5k Views 1 Watching
      jetsetter

ptb7476:

hilton shinjuku .. dun raise my hope .. cos we will be staying there coming tokyo trip ... :oops:

i dunno the price ..it is arranged by my hubby ..he said it is cheap if book early and they even give us an extra bed for free for my boy .. my DD will sleep on king bed with us
      Big lah šŸ˜› 30sqm! Enough for family of 4.

http://i64.tinypic.com/5z0c46.jpg\">

Btw, 10 yrs ago, I also stayed at Hilton Tokyo Bay (near Disneyland) before! Even bigger šŸ˜› But it's in the Mahaima outskirts where Disney is.

http://i64.tinypic.com/jud7uu.jpg\">

Actually the Quad one that lexis recommended Excel at Shibuya is also large.

jetsetter

Imp75:
        Japanese hotels are very strange, some quote per pax while some per room. Are they also very strict on the number of occupants? I am having the same problem, can't find a family room that fits 5 (2A 3C all pri sch). I wonder if we could secretly squeeze 5 into a room meant for 4 (usually 2 double beds I think).

We try to go budget but still wants privacy for eg hostels with private rooms could cost as much as low-end hotels, now not sure what to get or how to get (family size issue). Anyone overcame this prob?
        Yeah, but if you book a Quad on Expedia and walk in with 5 people on actual day, don't think they'd bother if the 5th person squeeze in between parents or siblings behind closed doors! It's only when you request for that 5th bed, then they will talk about additional charges. I think you can email Reservations about the 5th bed. Sometimes, room might be too tight to accede to your request.

ptb7476

jetsetter:
          ptb7476:

hilton shinjuku .. dun raise my hope .. cos we will be staying there coming tokyo trip ... :oops:

i dunno the price ..it is arranged by my hubby ..he said it is cheap if book early and they even give us an extra bed for free for my boy .. my DD will sleep on king bed with us

Big lah šŸ˜› 30sqm! Enough for family of 4.

http://i64.tinypic.com/5z0c46.jpg\">

Btw, 10 yrs ago, I also stayed at Hilton Tokyo Bay (near Disneyland) before! Even bigger šŸ˜› But it's in the Mahaima outskirts where Disney is.

http://i64.tinypic.com/jud7uu.jpg\">

Actually the Quad one that lexis recommended Excel at Shibuya is also large.

woah all quite big ... good ... can consider these on next trip hehehe :evil:

Dnls_mum

Dnls_mum:
            ptb7476:

Hi Dnls_mum , thanks for your advice . really appreciate that .

guess i am abit ambitious with my itinerary šŸ˜‰ ... ok will scale down abit .. cos i have no idea how the kids can take it lolz ..all the past holiday we had are quite relax cos it is a repeated trip for my 1st born so can skip those on subsequent trip. my gal still too young to notice ...lolz i am more worried of me carrying her whole day outside :rotflmao:

ok will go research on nissin factory ... i also toying with strawberry picking
            http://www.kawatsura15.com/e/

btw is food easily available for my gal ... currently she is on milk and porridge combi ... i wonder should i buy those instant porridge ... since electric lunch box is not an option due to diff voltage ... any one has recommendation where to buy these instant porridge ?

Come to think of it, I rarely see porridge in Japan. They mainly eat rice. I have bought maggi instant porridge for trips, but it has a lot of msg, so may not be suitable for a 1yo. Have you come across a travel cooker? I have that. Can use it to cook noodles or porridge but cooking porridge may take longer time. My Japanese colleague is not in the office these 2 days. He has a young child too. I'll ask him about child food when he is back and PM you.

This is the link to the nissin cup noodle museum in Yokohama

http://www.cupnoodles-museum.jp/english/index.html

ptb7476
            Check your PM. I have PM you details of baby food in Japan.

ptb7476

Dnls_mum:

ptb7476
              Check your PM. I have PM you details of baby food in Japan.
              thanks for your pm and recommendation...

• Imp75I Offline
                Imp75

any recommendation of family sized affordable rooms in Osaka?

Song22

Anyone has been to Hakone during winter time around christmas? Is it too cold? Is it worth just spending a day trip there? Thanks!

ptb7476

Dnl_mum my instant porridge is here

quite small pack .. And expensive too lolx

http://i68.tinypic.com/2e3u6jc.jpg

• Imp75I Offline
                      Imp75

hi DNLS mum spoke about Toyoko Inn in Ikebukuro. I read from the travel forums that Ikebukuro is an undesirable area with red-light district and Yakuza activities. Is staying at Toyoko Inn (Ikebukuro) safe for a family? I had originally wanted Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro but was warned about the potential vice activities there. I like the connectivity of Ikebukuro to other areas though.

Dnls_mum

Imp75:
                        hi DNLS mum spoke about Toyoko Inn in Ikebukuro. I read from the travel forums that Ikebukuro is an undesirable area with red-light district and Yakuza activities. Is staying at Toyoko Inn (Ikebukuro) safe for a family? I had originally wanted Sakura Hotel Ikebukuro but was warned about the potential vice activities there. I like the connectivity of Ikebukuro to other areas though.

Haha. Yes, I have heard comments about Ikebukuro too. šŸ˜„ This is also a common question. You may want to read the for and against for Ikebukuro in the TA link below. That thread is a bit old, but I feel still pretty relevant up to today. Hopefully, someone else on KSP can share their experience with you.

You must think I may be :siao: šŸ˜„
                        I have personally not stayed there, but went shopping there as my kids are huge Pokemon fans. I actually found it ok when I was there. We only left after dinner and didn't think it was any different from Shinjuku even at night.

https://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/ShowTopi ... Kanto.html

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 213 / 322

mrandmrssiowstuitionM
                        mrandmrssiowstuition
                        llwiniooL
                        llwinioo