Any Updates As To When PSLE T-Scores Will Be Scrapped?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    1.2k Posts 1 Posters 235.0k Views 1 Watching
    • Z Offline
      zulu

sembgal:
      cherryc:

[quote=\"sembgal\"]http://www.fivestarsandamoon.com/what-y ... chun-sing/

We have a living example, Minister Chan Chun Sing, came from a humble family background and succeed.

Poor or low-income background doesn't mean children cannot study.

In the past people like him can succeed through meritocracy with zero tuition, Neighbourhood school and no \" exotic \" parent - funded Cca. This is much more difficult now. No one is saying poor or Low income background cannot study . In fact , we are trying to defend these kids as there seems to be a lack of level playing field now and the new scoring system doesn't seem to help at all.

Agree with your part that more has to be done to level the playing field. The meritocracy system has to be \"fair\".[/quote]Wouldn't the current scheme of things be better for the less privileged children? The standard of neighbourhood schools are quite good generally and if the child is smart, he/she can get into the top schools thru their PSLE scores.

• dimsumD Offline
        dimsum

cherryc:
        sembgal:

http://www.fivestarsandamoon.com/what-y ... chun-sing/

We have a living example, Minister Chan Chun Sing, came from a humble family background and succeed.

Poor or low-income background doesn't mean children cannot study.

In the past people like him can succeed through meritocracy with zero tuition, Neighbourhood school and no \" exotic \" parent - funded Cca. This is much more difficult now. No one is saying poor or Low income background cannot study . In fact , we are trying to defend these kids as there seems to be a lack of level playing field now and the new scoring system doesn't seem to help at all.

+1

• dimsumD Offline
          dimsum

jetsetter:
          dimsum:

[quote=\"zulu\"]

DD's year has a golf DSA in RGS πŸ˜‚

Wow! I feel this DSA really discriminates against low income families.

But Naval Base primary school offers golf as CCA too la. Don't think this govt school has many kids from high income families.

http://www.navalbasepri.moe.edu.sg/cos/o.x?c=/wbn/pagetree&rid=37173

Will we see a tsunami of applicants at Naval Base this July? :evil:[/quote]Maybe I am sceptical. The school offers golf, thus providing all the students the opportunity to learn golf FOC (I should think so). But if the student wants to excel in it so as to apply DSA (golf), I believe he/she will still require external coaching.

Ikid

Infact current DSA via academic domain, the application form also ask for academic and non-academic achievements.

Hence, parents have started to groom all-rounder kid to ensure he/she has holistic learning journey. Also if the kid has both academic and non academic achievements, their profile will always look good, higher chance to be called for DSA interview πŸ˜„

ngl2010

I have ever seen a P5 boy (I saw his books on a table nearby) helping his father in the father's noodle stall in hawker center on weekdays. Do you think he has time for CCA? 🀷

• cool_hiC Offline
                cool_hi

dimsum:
                lee_yl:

To stand out from the crowd, must learn something exotic, such as swallow a sword or spit fire. πŸ˜‚

η¬‘ζ­»ζˆ‘δΊ†! :rotflmao:

Wahaha! Lee_yl,u so funny! I also burst out laughing:)

One more option!! Go learn circus skills!!
                Reported on straits times today 1st page!!!
                So kiasu parents now can start looking out for special aptitude
                From toddler stage..
                If a child seems to be able to kick/juggle balls well,(or whatever)
                Quickly go find circus skills trainer train from 2yr old!!
                So now,child-minding become stressful also,
                Coz we need to be
                on the look-out for special aptitude in a child!! :evil:

debpch

Our minister says
                  [quote]The main issue to address is that the way we currently score the PSLE is too precise, and differentiates our students more finely than necessary. A student may score one point more than his friend at the PSLE, but educationally, that one point does not mean that he is better prepared for secondary school than his friend. It also does not mean that he is very much smarter or will grow up to be more capable or lead a more successful or fulfilling life. We should, therefore, in time, move away from such fine distinctions, which are not meaningful, especially at this young age. [/quote]Frankly, I cannot figure out why are we moving to bands instead of t-score when it will amplify minute differences in scores for borderline students who are placed into separate bands.

If anything, going to bands will raise the stakes for PSLE especially for borderline students. Previously a difference of 1-2 score will mean the most you will miss out on 1 school. now, it could mean you will miss out of 10 schools if you are unlucky to just fall into the next lower band.

This change is really illogical

nicnac:
                    That is why they need to start from the P1 batch.. So these kids can make a wise CCA choice. Put on their best performance 24/7 so that they can increase their chances of being selected for leadership/prefect roles. πŸ˜‚

Must start on the right foot :evil:
                    πŸ˜‚ yes, that is precisely the point. It doesn't take much to figure out MOE's kiasu intentions, doesn't it. So parents with kids in P1 and kindy... you have been forewarned. MOE wants your kids to be T-shaped well-balanced kids. Otherwise they won't meet the mark. You have got 6 years to whip them into shape. Time to send your kids to those leadership training courses. :evil:

• sharonkhooS Online
                      sharonkhoo

nicnac:

That is why they need to start from the P1 batch.. So these kids can make a wise CCA choice. Put on their best performance 24/7 so that they can increase their chances of being selected for leadership/prefect roles. πŸ˜‚

Must start on the right foot :evil:

πŸ˜‚ yes, that is precisely the point. It doesn't take much to figure out MOE's kiasu intentions, doesn't it. So parents with kids in P1 and kindy... you have been forewarned. MOE wants your kids to be T-shaped well-balanced kids. Otherwise they won't meet the mark. You have got 6 years to whip them into shape. Time to send your kids to those leadership training courses. :evil:

Perhaps they have realised that no matter what they change, kiasu will be kiasu. So their intention now is to make it so impossible for try for everything necessary that people will give up and just take life as it comes (and accept their kids as they are)?

• cool_hiC Offline
                        cool_hi

But it's not fair!!!

This year's P1,those who NEVer join any CCA(like my son!! πŸ˜† )
                        ,already lose out!!!
                        Started late/on wrong foot liao!!
                        Next year p2 probably many \"good\" CCAs already full!! :stompfeet:
                        So they should implement for next year's p1 onwards!! :slapshead:
                        Think i need to go look for circus training centre liao :moneyflies:
                        Since i notice my son is quite agile!! :rotflmao:
                        But money-no-enough leh.. :slapshead:
                        Haiz!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 25 / 121

WenBinW
                        WenBin
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo