Tutor MathsGuru: Ask me for your burning Maths questions!
wkong:
After Belinda given 36 to Samantha
Belinda has a collection of some stamps. If she gave 36 stamps to Samantha, she would have 4 times as many stamps as Samantha. If she gave 23 stamps to Samantha, she would have 5 times as many stamps as Samantha. How many stamps did Belinda have at first?
S [u+36]
B [u+36][u+36][u+36][u+36]
After Belinda given 23 to Samantha
S [u+23]
B [u+23][u+23][u+23][u+23][u+23]
B [u][u][u][u][u][92] - (Y)
Compare (x) & (Y) 1u=108-92=16
Belinda original = 4u + 36 x5 = 244 stamps.
Correction, I think my modeling method hilited in red is wrong, because I have changed the fact that, the total sum of B and S should remain unchanged in both given scenario.
the equations should just be
5u + 36x5 = 6u +23x6
u=42
Belinda original = 4u +36x5 = 348 stamps.
My mistake was failed to identify what remained unchanged, with 1000 apologies... -
MUMMYOF3:
A+B+C =114Hi,
Pls help me with the flwg questions : -
There are altogether 114 beans in bags A, B and C.
There are 8 more beans in bag A than B.
The number of beans in bag C is twice the total number of beans in bags A and B. How many more beans are there in bag C than B ?
Thanks.
A [ u ][8]
B [ u ]
C [ u ][ u ][ u ][ u ][16]
Thus, 6 u + 24 = 114 ==> 6u = 90 ==> u =15
3u + 16 = 45 + 16 = 61.
Ans: Bag C has 61 more beans than B. -
Hi adhdadhd,
Thanks for the solution.
I have another Maths question:-
James had $6 less than Patrick. Patrick had 4/7 of what Kathy had. When Kathy gave $14 to Patrick and $20 to James, the 3 of them had the same amount of money each.
a) How much money did Patrick have at first?
b) What was the total sum of money the 3 of them had? -
delete
[quote=\"wkong\"]
Welcome
Pai seh, vanilla answered liao... -
wkong:
BeforeJames had $6 less than Patrick. Patrick had 4/7 of what Kathy had. When Kathy gave $14 to Patrick and $20 to James, the 3 of them had the same amount of money each.
a) How much money did Patrick have at first?
b) What was the total sum of money the 3 of them had?
James: 4u-$6
Patrick: 4u
Kathy: 7u
Change
When Kathy gave $14 to Patrick and $20 to James
After
James: 4u-$6+$20 = 4u+$14
Patrick: 4u+$14
Kathy: 7u-$14-$20 = 7u-$34
3 of them had the same amount of money each,
4u+$14=7u-$34
3u=$48
u = $16
a) Amount of money that Patrick had at first=4u = 4($16) =$64
b) Total sum of money the 3 of them had = 3x(4u+$14) = 3x(4x$16+$14) = $234
Pls wait for http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6311 to provide her model solutions.
Thanks. -
delete
Hi Maths Guru
I have the following of 2 questions which needs your help:
1. Zul has 18 sweet. He has thrice as many sweets as Shania. How Many more sweets does Zul have than Shania?
2. A fruit seller sold some fruits on Tuesday morning. He sold 3 times as many oranges as apples. He sold 684 fruits that day.
a) How many oranges did he sell?
b) How many more oranges than apples did he sell?
Thank you very much… -
wkong:
1st conditionHi Maths Guru,
i have another Maths question that need helps:
Belinda has a collection of some stamps. If she gave 36 stamps to Samantha, she would have 4 times as many stamps as Samantha. If she gave 23 stamps to Samantha, she would have 5 times as many stamps as Samantha. How many stamps did Belinda have at first?
Thanks.
B:[...][...][...]
S:[...]
2nd conditon
B:[...][...][...][...][...]
S:[...]
Total remain the same for both conditions
therefore
1st condition
B:[.6u.][.6u.][.6u][6u]..........24u
S:[.6u.].................................6u
.....................................total 30u
2nd conditon
B:[.5u][5u.][.5u][5u.][5u.].......25u
S:[5u..]....................................5u
.......................................total 30u
6u-5u=36-23
.....1u=13
Belinda has =24u+36=24x13 + 36
...............................=348 -
Jolyn:
1) Zul has 18 sweets. Shania has 18/3 = 6 sweets. Difference is 18-6=12 sweets. Alternatively using a model approach, draw 1 unit for shania and 3 units for Zul.Hi Maths Guru
I have the following of 2 questions which needs your help:
1. Zul has 18 sweet. He has thrice as many sweets as Shania. How Many more sweets does Zul have than Shania?
2. A fruit seller sold some fruits on Tuesday morning. He sold 3 times as many oranges as apples. He sold 684 fruits that day.
a) How many oranges did he sell?
b) How many more oranges than apples did he sell?
Thank you very much.....
2)Similarly draw 1 unit to represent the number of apples and 3 units to represent oranges (because 3 times as many oranges as apples).
Together the 3+1=4 units represent 684.
1 unit = 684 / 4 = 171
a) no . of oranges = 171 X 3 = 513
b) difference = 171 X 2 = 342
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.