Budget 2017 on 20 Feb

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    -1 Posts 20 Posters 31.4k Views 1 Watching
      jetsetter

floppy:
      this whole reserved for \"x\" race thing is a hogwash.
      a necessary 'hogwash' that is consciously construed by the aides ๐Ÿ˜ž
      [quote]We want to grow this cooperation with China and take full advantage of our familiarity with the culture and language. Not just bilingualism but biculturalism and we make a big effort to develop those links. Yet, there is a risk. Because of our population composition and cultural familiarity, people may misunderstand us to be a Chinese country, and forget that in fact, Singapore is an independent sovereign country, cooperating with other countries on the basis of our own national interests and positions. It can lead to misunderstandings, it can lead to unrealistic expectations and it can lead to us being carried away, even domestically, and forgetting this fundamental fact about Singapore. [/quote]The \"people\" in PM's parliamentary address refers to the middle kingdom. There's just too much expectations from them. They were hurt, offended and felt betrayed by the positions we took as they'd assumed \"own race must support own race\"! ๐Ÿ˜†
      floppy:
      Unless it's a walkover, I've a niggling suspicion that the chosen one may not be chosen after the election is over.
      What do u mean? PE will most probably during the Sept hols. No rally sites reserved; likely a new media and broadcast campaign and max 1 rally.

jetsetter

floppy:

Unofficially, G wants to avoid another \"Battle of the 4 Tan\". It's great for a movie script, but terrible (for those with a weak heart) when your appointed-nominee almost lost (and has garnered less than half of the eligible votes).
        Don't think it's because of the 4 Tans. Maybe to a teeny extent initially, but won't be because of TCB. He thinks too highly of himself! Don't give him such a big hat leh.

Anyway, he's not a threat. ESM Goh had a round of golf with him recently. Probably all had been explained to him at the fairways:) LOL!!! His liberal supporters have been rather quiet of late. Roy's back to normal. Amos' in the US seeking asylum. HHH and her mentor are also fairly quiet. TJS' party is forgotten. CSJ is probably making an honest living lecturing somewhere now! TKL is probably enjoying his twilight years after his disgraceful loss.

• starlight1968sgS Offline
          starlight1968sg

JS

you really described the situation well ๐Ÿ˜„

• floppyF Offline
            floppy

jetsetter:

floppy:

Unless it's a walkover, I've a niggling suspicion that the chosen one may not be chosen after the election is over.

What do u mean? PE will most probably during the Sept hols. No rally sites reserved; likely a new media and broadcast campaign and max 1 rally.

As you said, it's not about TCB. Probably, he thinks too highly of himself. The electorate are a funny bunch. While they may have voted for PAP to form the government, they also want a calibration in the \"balance\". Hence, any moderate who runs against the candidate viewed as the government-appointee will stand a chance of winning. CCS Freudian slip could hurt Madam Speaker chances if it is seen as ๅ†…ๅฎš.

• G Offline
              grimm

Schootopia:
              I heard that when PAP G announced such changes, the person had already been decided. It'll just be a drama series playing out for everyone else ...

It was reported in the newspaper that the Chan minister mistakenly addressed the Speaker of Parliament twice as \"Madam President\" before correcting himself ...
              For that alone, I would like to say there is almost no chance I will vote for the PAP-backed candidate but unfortunately, the last PE had an alternative candidate who I won't piss on if he is on fire.

jetsetter

floppy:
                Imp75:

why this round must be Malay? I thought for strategic reasons? I also understand the unofficial reasons to avoid the Tans' clashes.

Because ah gong says so?

The last (and only) Malay President also happens to be our first President. ROD in 1970. If you are gonna start something so meritocratic, you will have to go with the race that hasn't been represented in a while. Personally, I don't see how the race can be strategic, unless we intend to join the federation again.

One of them as I've mentioned is to indicate to the Chinese we're not a China vassal state. lol.

Next, the obvious one is cos the next PM after GE2020 is going to be Chinese, i.e. from the 4th gen leaders pool. 2 Chinese leaders may entail further misunderstandings! ๐Ÿ˜†

Another has to do with history. I think from our founding fathers' days, we've always been on high alert, in the event that we might one day come under seige by abang due to change of leadership, rise of religious fundamentalism, stronger military backing by external forces, etc. Not about race, but sovereignty, but that sovereign power happens to be of that race.

Guess you probably have to go back to your secondary school history textbook. :rotflmao:

http://news.asiaone.com/news/singapore/forest-citys-critics-are-jealous-johor-sultan

starlight1968sg

Budget 2017 statement to be delivered at 3.30pm on Feb 20 โ€ฆ

starlight1968sg

Budget Statement 2017 in brief:

http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/data/budget_2017/download/FY2017_Budget_in_Brief.pdf

starlight1968sg

Budget Statement 2017 Summary:

http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/data/budget_2017/download/FY2017_Budget_Summary.pdf

Is your wish granted?

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

starlight1968sg:
                        Budget Statement 2017 Summary:

http://www.singaporebudget.gov.sg/data/budget_2017/download/FY2017_Budget_Summary.pdf

Is your wish granted?
                        What wish? Water charges going up by 30%?

Me: V Good! The impact will make people change their lifestyles to use less water...
                        DH: No lah, ill-thought through policy. Only penalize the poor. For the rich, will their maids use less water to wash the luxurious cars or mop floor once a week instead of on a daily basis?

As usual, our budgets will always be in surplus (and without fail, a bigger surplus than projected) despite government's claims of spending outstripping revenue. :siam:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 1