2018 P1 registration exercise for 2019 intake
Ambless:
See balloting history, if is a pop school and ballot under 1km, should be no chance.I am staying >2km of St Margaret Pri.
Do I still stand a chance if we apply ? -
Hi all, just to understand the table. Chances for SC within 1KM of st andrew is ok under 2C? i do not have a 2nd choice as the ones near my house at 1KM is Hong Wen and Bendemeer. Hong Wen is too hot and i am worried to spend my 2C chance on it and get balloted out. i am not taking part for this year but would love to hear your views pls.
Pls share your thoughts with me experienced parents!! -
jolie:
Based on the balloting History of St Andrew Junior, there were years where balloting was required for SC living less than 1 km. P1 registration is all about luck. If your child is not applying this year, you can increase your chance by being in earlier phrase. You have more tries.Hi all, just to understand the table. Chances for SC within 1KM of st andrew is ok under 2C? i do not have a 2nd choice as the ones near my house at 1KM is Hong Wen and Bendemeer. Hong Wen is too hot and i am worried to spend my 2C chance on it and get balloted out. i am not taking part for this year but would love to hear your views pls.
Pls share your thoughts with me experienced parents!!
I am zooming in for Hong Wen this year. Backup plan will be bendemeer in 2CS -
Hi all, I have a dragon girl, going to P1 in 2019. My husband is in the alumni of Peichun, which allows my daughter to
register in 2A1. We don’t stay within 2km from the school. Based on historical result of the P1 admission from Peichun
website, there is no balloting required for 2A1 the past few years. However, no information is available for 2007 admission
(previous dragon year).
Would like to hear from the expert here. What is the chance of my girl having a place in Peichun as I understand is a popular school.
Do I need a plan B?
My option for Plan B are
- Paya Lebar Methodist (2C - within 1km)
- Yang Zheng (2C - within 1-2 km)
- Zhong Hua (2A2 - my primary school merged with Zhong Hua, so I should be considered as an old girl).
What should I choose for Plan B (if I need)?. My hubby and I are more inclined to Yang Zheng for plan B but was thinking should we try Paya Lebar Methodist (may have higher chance since is within 1km)? Should we tried Zhong Hua as well in 2A2?
If we have got a seat in the previous phase, can we still apply for other school in another phase? Eg got a seat in other school but still try for Yang Zheng in phase 2C?
Thanks in advance for the expert advice. -
imuki:
You can't hold on to the seat given to you in previous phase if you want to apply to another school in subsequent phase. You will have to de-register and once you do that, the seat is gone. You won't get it back when you fail to secure a seat in subsequent phase.Hi all, I have a dragon girl, going to P1 in 2019. My husband is in the alumni of Peichun, which allows my daughter to
register in 2A1. We don't stay within 2km from the school. Based on historical result of the P1 admission from Peichun
website, there is no balloting required for 2A1 the past few years. However, no information is available for 2007 admission
(previous dragon year).
Would like to hear from the expert here. What is the chance of my girl having a place in Peichun as I understand is a popular school.
Do I need a plan B?
My option for Plan B are
- Paya Lebar Methodist (2C - within 1km)
- Yang Zheng (2C - within 1-2 km)
- Zhong Hua (2A2 - my primary school merged with Zhong Hua, so I should be considered as an old girl).
What should I choose for Plan B (if I need)?. My hubby and I are more inclined to Yang Zheng for plan B but was thinking should we try Paya Lebar Methodist (may have higher chance since is within 1km)? Should we tried Zhong Hua as well in 2A2?
If we have got a seat in the previous phase, can we still apply for other school in another phase? Eg got a seat in other school but still try for Yang Zheng in phase 2C?
Thanks in advance for the expert advice. -
firstda:
Don’t scare Jolie lah...I paste the balloting history for SAJS here for you: https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/toa-payoh/
Based on the balloting History of St Andrew Junior, there were years where balloting was required for SC living less than 1 km. P1 registration is all about luck. If your child is not applying this year, you can increase your chance by being in earlier phrase. You have more tries.jolie:
Hi all, just to understand the table. Chances for SC within 1KM of st andrew is ok under 2C? i do not have a 2nd choice as the ones near my house at 1KM is Hong Wen and Bendemeer. Hong Wen is too hot and i am worried to spend my 2C chance on it and get balloted out. i am not taking part for this year but would love to hear your views pls.
I am zooming in for Hong Wen this year. Backup plan will be bendemeer in 2CS
The last time it was red color for phase 2C was wayyyyyyy back in 2010 (8 years ago). The recent years <1km very safe, despite the plenty of new condos TOP in that area.
Jolie, if u have free time, by all means try PV, but if not, I think u can just observe this year’s Dragon babies registration to see whether there’s balloting or not. My bet is no balloting, even with the Bidadari HDB completion. Nothing bad about the school btw, although u can try to ask around your neighbors about the new principal who just took over. Not sure what changes being implemented, if any. -
zac's mum:
Don’t scare Jolie lah...I paste the balloting history for SAJS here for you: https://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/article/toa-payoh/
Based on the balloting History of St Andrew Junior, there were years where balloting was required for SC living less than 1 km. P1 registration is all about luck. If your child is not applying this year, you can increase your chance by being in earlier phrase. You have more tries.firstda:
[quote=\"jolie\"]Hi all, just to understand the table. Chances for SC within 1KM of st andrew is ok under 2C? i do not have a 2nd choice as the ones near my house at 1KM is Hong Wen and Bendemeer. Hong Wen is too hot and i am worried to spend my 2C chance on it and get balloted out. i am not taking part for this year but would love to hear your views pls.
I am zooming in for Hong Wen this year. Backup plan will be bendemeer in 2CS
The last time it was red color for phase 2C was wayyyyyyy back in 2010 (8 years ago). The recent years <1km very safe, despite the plenty of new condos TOP in that area.
Jolie, if u have free time, by all means try PV, but if not, I think u can just observe this year’s Dragon babies registration to see whether there’s balloting or not. My bet is no balloting, even with the Bidadari HDB completion. Nothing bad about the school btw, although u can try to ask around your neighbors about the new principal who just took over. Not sure what changes being implemented, if any.[/quote]
Thanks Zac Mum. I am applying to be PV! Will try my best effort for two chances. And yes. I will be monitoring for this year registration.
Hi Firstda, I thought Hong Wen is the one with ballot for less than 1km for SC. I thought the table looks like competition is super stiff. You may wish to have a look again at the chart. I have been studying them for the past few days... I wasn’t sure if I got it correct hence I asked. Heng Zac Mum assured that I was correct in my understanding. Thanks! -
Hi Jolie,
My main point is the past balloting history is our reference only. Nobody can predict the future. The best is to have a backup plan if things do not happen within your expectation. As stated before you can increase your chance by being in the earlier phrase like doing PV as suggested by Zac Mum. However, no guarantee that you can get the PV. Best to apply for PV for both Hong Wen and St Andrew Jr. Quite likely you can get in Hong Wen and St Andrew Jr in 2B. -
Hi Firstda. Ya. Balloting history is more for reference. U r right. No one can predict what will happen. Got it. Will have a back up plan! I just got a bit gan Chong when u said got balloting history. I have been having a tough time understanding the whole p1 data. Haha. But sure. Thanks for your pov!
galaxyraider:
Thanks for the advise. I think best is to have a Plan B (likely to be Yang Zheng in 2C).
You can't hold on to the seat given to you in previous phase if you want to apply to another school in subsequent phase. You will have to de-register and once you do that, the seat is gone. You won't get it back when you fail to secure a seat in subsequent phase.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.