Opposition pulls off shock victory at Malaysia GE14

-1 Posts 28 Posters 43.4k Views 1 Watching

Angelsdontexist:
      KUALA LUMPUR: Two people died on Wednesday (May 9) as they stood in line to vote during Malaysia’s general election.

A woman in her 50s died after falling as she queued to vote at a polling station in Dungun, Terengganu, Malaysia's national news agency Bernama reported citing the local police chief.

Rokiah Sulung, 54, collapsed at 8.20am and was pronounced dead by a medical officer on duty.

Her eldest daughter Nurzita Md Nur, 36, said her mother, who had high blood pressure, did not show any visible signs of distress before the incident.

She was lining up to vote in another queue when she was informed of her mother's condition.

\"She was still conscious when I got to her, and I saw her take a few short breaths before she passed away.\"

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/asia/2-die-waiting-to-vote-malaysia-general-election-10216554
      rest in peace

• floppyF Offline
        floppy

Zeit:

Just wondering cos Liow Tiong Lai was ousted quite early last night...

Oh yah, I forgot he can replace Kak Wan's seat. Depends on how many votes wifey's and DD's constituents won, otherwise very risky to give up for 65-yr-old Pa.

Agree with you won't be cancelled, but based on past experiences with Tun, it could be on-off-on-off like the Points of Agreement before Jib's time. Who knows he will be more hardline on Pedra Branca also.

Did they sell HSR during the hustings? Didn't really read all the articles. Not sure how convenient the HSR stations are to the densely populated cities and how the constituents stand to benefit.

Tun isn't very pro-China, isn't it, from his comments about Proton-Geely. Not sure if he will 'award' to a Chinese contractor or take more loans from the Chinese going fwd. We'll see how Wily manoeuvres.

JRL did appear like a 'favour' indeed! A few times Jib got into some sh*t domestically, our side will announce something optimistic re the rail (just my observations on the sidelines).

PS: Jib is not Gor-Gor. He is younger than Loong Gor Gor by 1 year.
        Both seats are safe seats, Anwar should win either easily if they resign to trigger a by-election. Liow defeat was more or less anticipated - he barely beat the same opponent by the slimmest of margin (379 votes) in 2013 (GE13).

As for Pedra Blanca (or Pulau Batu Puteh), it really doesn't matter which side (BN / PH) wins as Malaysia is always going to take an increasingly hard line. The hard line is favoured by most, if not all, Johoreans. In 2008, the respected, late Sultan of Johor, Sultan Mahmud Iskandar made the following comments as he made Pedra Blanca his (unfulfilled) mission:
        \"Suka beta ingatkan bahawa beta tak lupa pada Pulau Batu Puteh, bukan hak Singapura tetapi milik Johor. Sampai bila pun beta akan mencari ikhtiar untuk mendapatkan semula pulau milik Johor itu.\"
        (Let me remind the subjects that I will not forget the loss of Pulau Batu Puteh. It is not Singapore's territory but Johor's. I will continue to make efforts to get the island which belongs to Johor.)

I once made a similar comment (on announcing something optimistic to support Jib-gor in times of trouble) to probably the most important person in SG-MY diplomatic circle. His comment is \"better to sleep with the devil you know than the devil you don't know.\" 😂

PS: Jib is my Jib gor-gor leh. Was hoping one day in future, maybe he or his crony can 关照 小弟.

• ZeitZ Offline
          Zeit

floppy:

Didn’t know PKR & DAP never formalised the coalition. Duh…

They said it’s Kak Wan (DPM designate) whose party PKR got the simple majority (104 seats) will be the one forming the govt and meeting Agong, not Tun. After forming the govt, she can then pass the baton to Tun. This is in accordance with their constitution.

• EstéemaE Offline
            Estéema

What a silly oversight coming fr an experienced politician!

• floppyF Offline
              floppy

Estéema:
              Zeit:

floppy:

Didn't know PKR & DAP never formalised the coalition. Duh...

They said it's Kak Wan (DPM designate) whose party PKR got the simple majority (104 seats) will be the one forming the govt and meeting Agong, not Tun. After forming the govt, she can then pass the baton to Tun. This is in accordance with their constitution.

What a silly oversight coming fr an experienced politician!

It's not a silly oversight, just normal politics at play. People underestimate the ease for Malaysia to 改朝换代. It’s an example of UMNO / BN having a lot of institutional power due to past patronage / cronyism (the same that a new Government will face in Singapore if PAP is to lose one day).

https://www.nst.com.my/news/politics/2018/03/348480/ppbm-cause-delay-pakatan-harapans-registration-process-ros, they refuse to process PH registration (one month before election) due to lack of information from Bersatu (Tun's party). That's despite the various parties meeting up with RoS more than half a year ago. I wonder what was being discussed in those meeting 😂

• laughingcatL Offline
                laughingcat

Estéema:
                Hoping for Tharman to awake & throw in to serve in an impt role. I'd then respect our politicians as having made personal sacrifices.

I would prefer Tharman as compared to the other one.....

ngl2010

Would Tun hunt Jib for the 1MDB money?

• EstéemaE Offline
                    Estéema

If there was really funds going into Rosnah’s hubby’s pocket, I’m sure for justice, the ppl & next govt to show proof & convict nec perpectrators of shameless crime with such shameless figure when they shld be using legitimate funds for the ppl & country devpt.

Actually not for me to comment. Not M’sians. Only bros, sisters, SILs, BILs, nieces & nephews M’sians.

• lee_ylL Offline
                      lee_yl

Grandypa:
                      Mahatir talk about bombin Singapore

https://www.facebook.com/FLOPSingapore/videos/1658121640891800/
                      Want to bomb Singapore can joke one meh?

• lee_ylL Offline
                        lee_yl

When Mahathir becomes PM, it will be very difficult for Singapore.

HSR is likely to be postponed for another decade or longer, and Iskander quite gone case too!!

People forgot all about the kris waving, cries of “potong” when talking about Singapore and how he poured money into Port Klang and Tanjung Pelepas to compete against Singapore port. Not to mention the CLOB saga

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 1 / 1