Club Only Child Club
Donkey Kong:
I beg to disagree that having more kids will ensure one be looked after in old age. I know of someone who has 4 sons, and now that he is in his twilight years, ill and bed-ridden, they all sent him to an old folk's home instead of hiring a maid to look after him at home. So sad...True. Anything, 1 person settle.
Saw neighbour Ah Pek has 7 kids, plus in-laws, is like a football team. Any crisis, wow, :!: so many pple turn up to help.... :celebrate:
My kid will be very stress if any crisis. satu orang
unless I find him 4 wives? :love: :celebrate:
Nowadays, having kids does not guarantee one can an siang wan nian, so better to save enough for our old age, keep ourselves in good health instead of depending on our kids. -
2 kids are idealy for a modern family, at least they can take care each other when they grow up…
Angelight:
Yup, that's true. There's no guarantee that having more kids will ensure the kids will look after the parents in their twilight years. There could be a variety of reasons ranging from 'disagreements' between siblings - who should looked after the parents...to the inability of the children either financially or otherwise since they may have their own families to look after too etc. The concept of 养儿防老 does not hold water anymore....
I beg to disagree that having more kids will ensure one be looked after in old age. I know of someone who has 4 sons, and now that he is in his twilight years, ill and bed-ridden, they all sent him to an old folk's home instead of hiring a maid to look after him at home. So sad...
Nowadays, having kids does not guarantee one can an siang wan nian, so better to save enough for our old age, keep ourselves in good health instead of depending on our kids.
So the best bet is still to make sure we are financially capable of looking after ourselves, and to keep ourselves as fit as we can, at least to 'lighten' the emotional burden of our only child
Agree whole-heartedly :celebrate:
That's why DH is working very hard now to save for our twilight years so as not to be a financial burden to our only child in future. Not easy, since he is the sole bread winner...sakura_2009:
Yup, that's true. There's no guarantee that having more kids will ensure the kids will look after the parents in their twilight years. There could be a variety of reasons ranging from 'disagreements' between siblings - who should looked after the parents...to the inability of the children either financially or otherwise since they may have their own families to look after too etc. The concept of 养儿防老 does not hold water anymore....Angelight:
I beg to disagree that having more kids will ensure one be looked after in old age. I know of someone who has 4 sons, and now that he is in his twilight years, ill and bed-ridden, they all sent him to an old folk's home instead of hiring a maid to look after him at home. So sad...
Nowadays, having kids does not guarantee one can an siang wan nian, so better to save enough for our old age, keep ourselves in good health instead of depending on our kids.
So the best bet is still to make sure we are financially capable of looking after ourselves, and to keep ourselves as fit as we can, at least to 'lighten' the emotional burden of our only child
Angelight:
Alamak, my colleague's financial planning is wrong? :?
I beg to disagree that having more kids will ensure one be looked after in old age. I know of someone who has 4 sons, and now that he is in his twilight years, ill and bed-ridden, they all sent him to an old folk's home instead of hiring a maid to look after him at home. So sad...Donkey Kong:
True. Anything, 1 person settle.
Saw neighbour Ah Pek has 7 kids, plus in-laws, is like a football team. Any crisis, wow, :!: so many pple turn up to help.... :celebrate:
My kid will be very stress if any crisis. satu orang
unless I find him 4 wives? :love: :celebrate:
He works to pay for their tuitions, so that all three kids become GEP, then all universities. Then, educates them daily by chanting: must give dad/mom $$$ when you grow up.
He expects to collect $1500 each from 3 kids after 60. Wow, S$4500 monthly income.. better than annuity from AIA. He said educating them now very important. Programming into their brains. Must feed parents. :celebrate:
Do you think it will work? :lol: -
If one of his kid end up giving him more than 1k a month very lucky liao.. ...
My DH's friend earning big bucks, but give parents $200 a month..
its really heng sway..
Juz me 2 cents
I will ask DD to give a token sum of allowance, based on her salary, to us when we are retired. You can't force such things (giving money to elderly parents). It has to come from the heart. There is a saying: \"You can give without loving (like giving to charity), but you can't love without giving.\"
Of course, I pray and hope that DD will take care of us in our old age, not so much physically but also emotionally. Especially if she is going to be our one and only child...
But most importantly, it will be dear old hubby who will walk with me the rest of the life. :love: -
It’s indeed true that having more kids doesn’t necessarily mean the parents will definitely have it easy after retirement. But all else being equal, the chances of this happening (parents have it easy) to parents with more kids are higher than those of parents with one kid. Other factors will play a (sometime big) part in the eventual outcome, but we’re saying all else being equal - take away other variables lah…
The analogy is to be really health conscious and eat right, exercise well, live right, etc. with the intention of living a long life. Despite doing all these, there is no guarantee that such a person will not meet with any accident or ill fortune to be struck by serious/incurable disease along the way. But if you take away all these ‘variables’, this person is indeed likely to live longer than one who smoke, drink heavily, eat unhealthily, don’t exercise, etc.
To have more siblings (if circumstances allow) does have some advantages. DW and her then still-single younger bro had to take turn to care for and tend to my ailing Mother-in-law during the 7 yr that she was diagnosed with cancer. The first 6 yr were ok, with the occasional surgery or chemo sessions that DW would have to make arrangements to care for her. But during the final year, when we have 2 kids already, it was obviously a bit of a strain physically (on top of emotionally) for DW. But she knew that it was her responsibility too, and she genuinely want to spend more time with my mil - and of course she wanted to help my bil out, as he was even more physically and emotionally-drained as he’s working and staying with my mil. It would have been unimaginable if either one of them was not supporting each other, as well as my mil, during those days.
All these time, they have 2 other siblings who were overseas and did/could not chip in to help. The good thing is we’re not blaming them, and just get it over with. But to have siblings offering support during such times is obviously a big advantage.
Can you imagine this unlikely - but not impossible - scenario:
- very old grandparents in 90s x 2; sicky (nothing serious, but just typical old age)
- ageing parents (who are single child and in their late 60s, retired) and in-laws x 4; need to take care of their parents at times; one suffers a fall, need surgery + hospitalised
- a couple in mid 30s, both working, and both too are single child, and they have a young toddler at childcare, who could be prone to the flu or cold that is so common at childcare centre… and suay suay at this moment kanna HFMD… so need stay home to be cared for.
given such a situation, one will really regret there isn’t more siblings to give mutual support… -
My hubby and I come from small families, and I always envy people who have large happy families. However after having our first child all thoughts of having more than 1 child flew right out of the window. We will be very happy spending all our time, energy, and resources nurturing our only child. But sometimes I will wonder if only child will grow up lonely.
Donkey Kong:
Personally, I don't think this tactic will work. At least not for me. It all boils down to the children's mentality and attitude when they become adults, and how well they respect their parents. If my parents ingrain the fact that they brought up their children just so that they have 'insurance' in old age, I will feel very sad.Alamak, my colleague's financial planning is wrong? :?
He works to pay for their tuitions, so that all three kids become GEP, then all universities. Then, educates them daily by chanting: must give dad/mom $$$ when you grow up.
He expects to collect $1500 each from 3 kids after 60. Wow, S$4500 monthly income.. better than annuity from AIA. He said educating them now very important. Programming into their brains. Must feed parents. :celebrate:
Do you think it will work? :lol:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.