2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)
DS HCL always around pass. SA1 managed to bring up to merit. Prelims dropped but still merit. No tuition. Wonder if can opt for CL in IP school? Or must take HCL?
MyPillow\" post_id=\"1934416\" time=\"1567949403\" user_id=\"70594:
leeyl
Yes, prob diff Sch diff standardslee_yl\" post_id=\"1934414\" time=\"1567948052\" user_id=\"17023:
All along, DD1’s English is never her strongest subject. Or maybe SCGS has higher expectations for English? My girl was like a lost sheep during the transition from P6 to sec 1. Poor time management due to the need to cover lazy project mate’s duty’s plus heavy involvement in CCA and VIA.
Btw, DH now then mentioned to me DD1 sec 1 term 1 DD1 maths fail, history fail, fail until left right upside down!
Nonetheless, the tumble has been a positive experience for all of us. As parents, we learnt that while we may go hands-off, we can’t be totally unaware of what's going on. Girl on the other hand also learns the importance of managing her time properly.
IP yr 1 prob more difficult than Os for some Sch too
Frankly, I din take note too, after psle is like put down a huge boulder to parents . So tired le.
lucky my chill kid din fail any subjects in sec 1; can pass HCL in lower Sec , this make me continue to din take note till upp Sec lor.
the transition looks like not easy..and also I think kiddo still in after psle honeymoon hor..but to get back on track so fast is good!
MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1934419\" time=\"1567950061\" user_id=\"43981:
leeyl
Yes, prob diff Sch diff standardsMyPillow\" post_id=\"1934416\" time=\"1567949403\" user_id=\"70594:
[quote=lee_yl post_id=1934414 time=1567948052 user_id=17023]All along, DD1’s English is never her strongest subject. Or maybe SCGS has higher expectations for English? My girl was like a lost sheep during the transition from P6 to sec 1. Poor time management due to the need to cover lazy project mate’s duty’s plus heavy involvement in CCA and VIA.
Btw, DH now then mentioned to me DD1 sec 1 term 1 DD1 maths fail, history fail, fail until left right upside down!
Nonetheless, the tumble has been a positive experience for all of us. As parents, we learnt that while we may go hands-off, we can’t be totally unaware of what's going on. Girl on the other hand also learns the importance of managing her time properly.
IP yr 1 prob more difficult than Os for some Sch too
Frankly, I din take note too, after psle is like put down a huge boulder to parents . So tired le.
lucky my chill kid din fail any subjects in sec 1; can pass HCL in lower Sec , this make me continue to din take note till upp Sec lor.
the transition looks like not easy..and also I think kiddo still in after psle honeymoon hor..but to get back on track so fast is good![/quote]@MP, after going through the 1st PSLE, I was like totally burnt out liao. Lol. I just wanna take a breather and was also preoccupied with DD2’s PSLE preparation but didn’t expect within a short time DD1’s results took a tumble.
@MKS, DD1 got back on track fast because we have a “live-in tutor” who got traumatized and now he regularly goes through their homework before he sleeps. Lol. -
lee_yl\" post_id=\"1934414\" time=\"1567948052\" user_id=\"17023:
hi lee_yl,
All along, DD1’s English is never her strongest subject. Or maybe SCGS has higher expectations for English? My girl was like a lost sheep during the transition from P6 to sec 1. Poor time management due to the need to cover lazy project mate’s duty’s plus heavy involvement in CCA and VIA.
in the end, how did your DD1 manage the lazy project mate ? After the project ended, ensure in future, don't involve any more project with such lazy partner ? -
sweetbaby\" post_id=\"1934418\" time=\"1567949802\" user_id=\"16633:
for RI IP programme, it is compulsory to take HCL from Sec 1 ?
DS HCL always around pass. SA1 managed to bring up to merit. Prelims dropped but still merit. No tuition. Wonder if can opt for CL in IP school? Or must take HCL? -
Lol I don’t think my dd can make 260…
phtthp\" post_id=\"1934421\" time=\"1567953748\" user_id=\"35251:
My girl and another team mate had to finish the project and submit before the deadline by themselves before they went to see the teacher (aka complain). The girl was subsequently called up to see the teacher and her attitude did improve.
hi lee_yl,lee_yl\" post_id=\"1934414\" time=\"1567948052\" user_id=\"17023:
in the end, how did your DD1 manage the lazy project mate ? After the project ended, ensure in future, don't involve any more project with such lazy partner ?
Guess what, I just got to know that this year, the lazy team mate is still part of DD1’s project group. I asked DD1, aiyo why is that girl still in her team. Girl said, if “kicked” the girl to another group, another group will suffer, issn’t it? :slapshead: :rotflmao: -
Kiasu everyday\" post_id=\"1934423\" time=\"1567954270\" user_id=\"180930:[quote=\"Kiasu everyday\" post_id=1934423 time=1567954270 user_id=180930]
lol as if my kiddo could make it to 260..we talk talk only la
Lol I don't think my dd can make 260...[/quote]
Luxedream\" post_id=\"1934350\" time=\"1567928174\" user_id=\"98340:
If already taking HCL in primary and able to cope then I guess it’s fine to stop tuition.
dd cl can consider consistently at that mark too but not SAP sch level la unless something unfortunate happen..I would think quite daring to stop that's why abit worry.. but another side of me so wanted to get freed up, not only dd.MrsKiasu\" post_id=\"1934349\" time=\"1567927773\" user_id=\"43981:
[quote=Luxedream post_id=1934346 time=1567927451 user_id=98340]DS CL is consistently 80+ but no HCL. He’s planning to take HCL in IP school. I really don’t dare drop Chinese tuition. Just slog for another 4 years, get it done and over with.
DS never take HCL before but now want to take, we let him try lor, worst case scenario if cannot cope then drop HCL, take CL will do.
[/quote]My personal take is if parent/child subscribe to the view that L1R4/L1R5 can do without CL cos other subjects are strong enough, then (unfortunately) CL can be sacrificed. However, (for those that had been taking CL tuition) if we're looking at learning CL as a language and not letting years of CL learning go to \"waste\" then there's no need to be in a rush to be so \"chuck\" CL aside.
Sec sch CL is different to Pri sch CL - there's more literacy skills involved
In every 单元 (3 课文each),the textbook covers different skills, for e.g.
修辞手法 - metaphor, personification, simile etc.
景物描写 - scenery description: space, time
论证方法 - argumentation theories
They will be tested on these in school (Sec 1 to 3) tests/exams. However, majority of the assessment books do not cover these areas as they are geared towards O'Level format.
Then, there's also the added styles of passages in comprehension - expanded from narrative to argumentative, discursive, informative, news etc.
Next, there's no more 看图作文 and there's a email writing section. For this email writing section, compo writing as well as oral discussion, wide range of reading/exposure to news and social events will come in handy.
Some schools expose the kids to local novels and/or Chinese classical novels via project work/holiday assignment or tropical tests too.
The contents that they are exposed to in Sec CL are actually much more interesting that that in Pri CL - they are really learning about language, rather than just focusing on words and phrases. If that additional 1.5 or 2 hr of lesson can make it easier for the child to adapt and support his/her understanding of the subject, it's a pity IMO to give it the cold shoulder. Besides, if the child manage to cope considerably well in the subject, he/she can stand out among his/her peers, rather than just be like them. :evil:
(Sorry, I may sound bias, given my love for the language) -
@MP. I was explained by teachers, that there may be a difference in demands between SAP Sec CL/HCL and Non-SAP Sec CL/HCL. But, both OLevel CL/HCL and IP CL/HCL are targeted at the same end, hence unless assignments/ projects, demands are also the same. Your dc powerful lah!

@chenlaoshi. 谢谢老师的讲解!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.