2019 PSLE Discussions and Strategies (Children born in 2007)

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    8.7k Posts 511 Posters 1.7m Views 1 Watching
      Swc

phtthp\" post_id=\"1950361\" time=\"1574929152\" user_id=\"35251:

Swc\" post_id=\"1950360\" time=\"1574929014\" user_id=\"178585:

I think you mentioned you think rgs this year more stingy in giving out CO.

pls read again, my original message

i only said, more stingy for RGS (3 academic domain), for this year (2019)
      And did you notice that i didn't even mention nor include Chinese academic domain, right from the beginning ?

did i say stingy for other domain like Sports or Performing Arts ?

No, i didnt what
      right from the beginning till the end of my original message posted, i didnt even mention anything about Sports or Performing Arts domain, inside RGS

how u wish to interpret what i write, is up to you, because i do not have control

so how, Swc, going forward -
      if ever i share something insight info about my alma mater (RGS), and u anyhow jump to conclusion, doesnt this frighten and discourage people from sharing insight info ? So, those who have insight DSA info better seal their mouth (lips) tight, better dont anyhow share. Share already, see, fired back, worse, right ?

i suggest that, perhaps can learn from Hynion. He is very careful, in what he write, and he doesn't jump to conclusion easily. Notice how Hynion write ?
      He wrote, \"I don’t know DSA percentage of girls schools ...\"
      After that, Hynion went on to share statistics of HCI plus another school.
      Hynion is willing to share info, yet he is prudent in writing and sharing

btw, i noticed that there is a gang out here : FLOPPY, and that person who said \"here we go again\", always out and ready to attack me

anyway, Swc, i respect u,
      because i can see that u are kind and shared good, info readily with people in this forum. At least, u bother to share reliable info. That's why in this regard, i respect u, Swc.
      So, i apologize, because i know u dont belong to above gang

Come to think of it, there is this Chinese saying, \"hao xin mei hao bao\"
      In the first case, i dont even need to share openly, but why i still go on to share, some more in so great detail ?

because

got people sent me pm privately, asked me stuff like,

\"is it very tedious, spend so much time preparing for DSA ?\" This person is asking, spent so much time on DSA, in the end, if rejected, not worth it, might as well just focus on PSLE instead
      Then, another person sent me a different pm, \"can share, what is the profile of students like, gotten into RGS, via DSA ?\" Plus some other pple also asked, along similar line

so, since got people asked, and these group of children are preparing for next year (2020) DSA, as well as for 2021 AL pioneering batch DSA, so i thought, might as well share openly, so that at least these group of future potential applicants, going forward have a rough idea, how is it like (the outcome), to dsa into RGS ?

so i shared, lor.
      But never expect Floppy and his gang of feathers flock together, to jump upon me

I am sorry if I came across as accusing you or jumping on you. It wasn't my intention. I just wanted to express my personal opinion that likely the top few IP schools give out the same number of COs last year and this year. I dun have the actual confirmed number so dun flame me. It is just my personal opinion.

• peasantsP Offline
        peasants

phtthp\" post_id=\"1950407\" time=\"1574936096\" user_id=\"35251:

Kialoukui\" post_id=\"1950406\" time=\"1574935413\" user_id=\"182021:

[quote=phtthp post_id=1950361 time=1574929152 user_id=35251]
        pls read again, my original message

i only said, more stingy for RGS (3 academic domain), for this year (2019)
        And did you notice that i didn't even mention nor include Chinese academic domain, right from the beginning ?

did i say stingy for other domain like Sports or Performing Arts ?

No, i didnt what
        right from the beginning till the end of my original message posted, i didnt even mention anything about Sports or Performing Arts domain, inside RGS

how u wish to interpret what i write, is up to you, because i do not have control

so how, Swc, going forward -
        if ever i share something insight info about my alma mater (RGS), and u anyhow jump to conclusion, doesnt this frighten and discourage people from sharing insight info ? So, those who have insight DSA info better seal their mouth (lips) tight, better dont anyhow share. Share already, see, fired back, worse, right ?

i suggest that, perhaps can learn from Hynion. He is very careful, in what he write, and he doesn't jump to conclusion easily. Notice how Hynion write ?
        He wrote, \"I don’t know DSA percentage of girls schools ...\"
        After that, Hynion went on to share statistics of HCI plus another school.
        Hynion is willing to share info, yet he is prudent in writing and sharing

btw, i noticed that there is a gang out here : FLOPPY, and that person who said \"here we go again\", always out and ready to attack me

anyway, Swc, i respect u,
        because i can see that u are kind and shared good, info readily with people in this forum. At least, u bother to share reliable info. That's why in this regard, i respect u, Swc.
        So, i apologize, because i know u dont belong to above gang

Come to think of it, there is this Chinese saying, \"hao xin mei hao bao\"
        In the first case, i dont even need to share openly, but why i still go on to share, some more in so great detail ?

because

got people sent me pm privately, asked me stuff like,

\"is it very tedious, spend so much time preparing for DSA ?\" This person is asking, spent so much time on DSA, in the end, if rejected, not worth it, might as well just focus on PSLE instead
        Then, another person sent me a different pm, \"can share, what is the profile of students like, gotten into RGS, via DSA ?\" Plus some other pple also asked, along similar line

so, since got people asked, and these group of children are preparing for next year (2020) DSA, as well as for 2021 AL pioneering batch DSA, so i thought, might as well share openly, so that at least these group of future potential applicants, going forward have a rough idea, how is it like (the outcome), to dsa into RGS ?

so i shared, lor.
        But never expect Floppy and his gang of feathers flock together, to jump upon me

Sharing is caring. I don’t see anything wrong with that. Furthermore, most parents are seriously concern about DSA 2020/21 since MOE is scrapping TScore soon. Focus will eventually land on DSA for future intakes.

Depending on AL scores will be much riskier as most students will be having the same points, may end up balloting.

Thank you for your kind words and support, Kialoukui
        it is sweet of u, to say thoughtful words. Appreciate 🙂

for me and those who have completed PSLE this year, the info on DSA is of no use to us, because we will be moving onto Secondary schools. But the info is still useful and benefit next year batch (2020) and future 2021 batch

btw, flashback ....
        when ksp initially started about more than 10 years ago, a lot of people readily shared info, because whatever info shared, nobody mock or ridicule or immediately jump upon someone else's comments. Back then, i recalled, people were accomodative, appreciative. Those were the good old days ! Now ? sad[/quote]Oh phtthp, you are a big contributor. And so is floppy and many others. Am very sure it is for discussion sake and not directing at you. I kana more jialat last year and still here mah. Fact or not is a matter of opinions, and all are welcome right. We got long way to go, kids only secondary school. Jia you!

nite

Does the COP for the following year capture the DSA students T-score from the prior year?

Successfully placed DSA students can't appeal and move onto another even if they meet the COP.

6thisnthat9\" post_id=\"1950214\" time=\"1574907768\" user_id=\"145858:
          Timmy21\" post_id=\"1950210\" time=\"1574907008\" user_id=\"122721:

[quote=6thisnthat9 post_id=1950166 time=1574903165 user_id=145858]

If the sec 1 posting were to be done based on the algorithm of best results go to schs with higher past cop, then if top tiers cop are to raise, the mid tiers cop are to raise as well, by virtue of filling up places by order. Provided the DSA places out of total places are on par among the schools.

If there were substantial kids appealed successfully to higher cop schs last year, the cop of mid tiers are artificially fixed higher than they shld.
          Hopefully the situation will go back to natural this yr.

Appeals only allowed if the student fulfilled the COP. Dun think the appeals changed the COP statistics.

Yes, we are talking about those with higher tscore e.g 259, 260 but didnt put the top schs as first choice. If there are substantial numbers, cop only known after posting exercise, these kids who appealed successfully will not be captured, hence the cop of their first choice schs mid tier will be higher than it should. Hence mid tier schools and below got affected by this unnatural outcome.
          However, yes last year the increase of DSA % also accounts for the outcome.[/quote]

nite

Yes..Entirely plausible.

The gap between the top-end (26X, 27X) and mid-tier (23X, 24X) opened up compared to 2018 tying in with 2019 papers being considered harder and good students performing better.

This would mean (compared to 2018),

1) Student A (T-score: 259) might find it difficult to enter RGS (2018 COP 259) while
            2) Student B (T-score: 240) might be able to find a place in Crescent Girls (2018 COP 242)

lee_yl\" post_id=\"1950333\" time=\"1574925045\" user_id=\"17023:
            Breach of OSA or not?
            I tend to think that the data is real, if we look at ESIS cutoff, for 2018’s batch, it was at 260 and there were around 1200+ students who scored 260 and higher whereas for this year the ESIS cutoff is at 261, which has also around 1200+ students scoring this and higher. Hmm...

Mrkatong

Would individual school COP be made available on 20 Dec just in case one needs to appeal ?

Hynion

Mrkatong\" post_id=\"1950451\" time=\"1574952650\" user_id=\"181482:

Would individual school COP be made available on 20 Dec just in case one needs to appeal ?
                You can call the school and ask about COP. The admission teacher will tell you.

Mangopuff

Have tried DSA for DS(sports)in 2017, and DD(academic) in 2019, but both attempts were unsuccessful. The kids felt disappointed and stressed thereafter as they know they’ve got to do well for PSLE. But they recovered quickly and moved on. Turned out both did very well, high 25+ n 27+. I suppose being unsuccessful in DSA is not a bad thing, and definitely not end of the world becos it pushes the child to do better. The feeling of choosing school like ‘buffet’ feels kinda shiok, compared to being tied down by the CO if the Tscore allows you to go to a better/much better school. So my point is, good to try DSA as it removes the psle stress. But if unsuccessful, look on the bright side, things may turn out better. Advice to parents/kids taking psle 2020 and after.

• manorwayM Offline
                    manorway

From 14X to 27X, the gap is indeed huge.. Many parents will think their kids who scored the high end as being the brightest, congratulate and not let them forget how brilliant they are (and possibly will always be).

How many parents will remind their high scorers that they can score so high NOT just because of their own effort and smartness but ALSO because they are luckier than others.

Lucky to be born to parents who care, can afford, can teach and guide. Born into families that are relatively stable, so kids don’t have much to worry about etc...

Just like those who scored 14x and cried. What do parents let them believe?

chujoe\" post_id=\"1950254\" time=\"1574914905\" user_id=\"97439:
                    As a first-time parent of a child taking PSLE this year, I truly admire these 12 year old kids. Regardless of what the 3 digit number is on the result slip, they have completed their first national exams. They are still our children and they definitely deserve our unconditional love. I am extremely proud of each of them for completing their primary education.

My child is in a neighbourhood school, I have seen results ranging from 14x to low 27x. Huge gap. There were people crying in tears of joy and there were also mummies and daddies embracing their kids whom broke down in the middle of the school hall, crying uncontrollably...

I don’t remember PSLE being such an emotional and mental roller coaster ride during my time.... So kudos to all the parents, especially the mummies.

From Jan 2020, it’s a brand new start leading towards another national exams in either 4 or 6 years time. May all of the parents and children be blessed with courage, health and wisdom to walk this journey.

And all the best to the future PSLE cohorts and their parents.

• 6 Offline
                      6thisnthat9

COP does not include successful DSA scores, as stated in moe sis. Solely based on outcome of sec 1 posting exercise.

Dsa only affects the available places in schs. With fewer places, supply drop, and demand for the places remain or increase, COP will increase.

nite\" post_id=\"1950438\" time=\"1574946644\" user_id=\"64247:
                      Does the COP for the following year capture the DSA students T-score from the prior year?

Successfully placed DSA students can't appeal and move onto another even if they meet the COP.
                      6thisnthat9\" post_id=\"1950214\" time=\"1574907768\" user_id=\"145858:

[quote=Timmy21 post_id=1950210 time=1574907008 user_id=122721]
                      Appeals only allowed if the student fulfilled the COP. Dun think the appeals changed the COP statistics.

Yes, we are talking about those with higher tscore e.g 259, 260 but didnt put the top schs as first choice. If there are substantial numbers, cop only known after posting exercise, these kids who appealed successfully will not be captured, hence the cop of their first choice schs mid tier will be higher than it should. Hence mid tier schools and below got affected by this unnatural outcome.
                      However, yes last year the increase of DSA % also accounts for the outcome.

Kialoukui

Mangopuff\" post_id=\"1950483\" time=\"1574985802\" user_id=\"181078:

Have tried DSA for DS(sports)in 2017, and DD(academic) in 2019, but both attempts were unsuccessful. The kids felt disappointed and stressed thereafter as they know they’ve got to do well for PSLE. But they recovered quickly and moved on. Turned out both did very well, high 25+ n 27+. I suppose being unsuccessful in DSA is not a bad thing, and definitely not end of the world becos it pushes the child to do better. The feeling of choosing school like ‘buffet’ feels kinda shiok, compared to being tied down by the CO if the Tscore allows you to go to a better/much better school. So my point is, good to try DSA as it removes the psle stress. But if unsuccessful, look on the bright side, things may turn out better. Advice to parents/kids taking psle 2020 and after.
                        Yes indeed. MOE gives us 2 chances to get into dream school, just take both seriously and one of them may just hit it.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 801 / 866