DSA 2022

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    4.0k Posts 1 Posters 1.6m Views 1 Watching

floppy\" post_id=\"2088486\" time=\"1668141779\" user_id=\"97579:

Just want to highlight.
      No, they don’t.
      No one overrides a directive, unless they are retiring or resigning (and never to step into the cs again).

There are huge differences between
      1. Directive
      2. Recommendation
      3. Guideline
      What MSHS or CCHS (Main) did, wasn’t overruling a directive.
      Nah !

Definitely, there will be some kiasu primary schools still conduct mid year P6 tests.

Even if they don't test ALL (P5 and P6 ) topics at mid year, they will still go ahead to test SOME selected topics identified by the school. Maybe they changed the terminology, don't call it P6 SA1. Call it by some other new terminology, instead.

How to verify,whether this hold true ? Time will tell. Wait until next year, 2023 May then come and verify lor. You mean, u cannot wait huh ? So impatient, cannot wait ?

Which schools still conduct P6 mini tests or whatever new terminology given, pls come forward and verify.

Is it 2023, yet ?
      No, right?

Now only 2022.

No need to argue, floppy !
      By all means, keep your own view.
      If you think your opinion is right, keep it lah !

Because I trust my own opinion, having seen \"kiasu\" primary schools in Singspore.

Didn't Chief kiasu already said -
      We all can agree, to disagree.
      In fact,
      Nobody is asking u to agree with me, floppy.

This is what I mean, I dare to say something boldly, bec it is my own opinion. I dare to stand up, for what i believed in. I will not hold back from keeping quiet, like someone here like a mouse, who only know how to post hyperlink, but so timid, so scared, don't talk. But you all, can choose not to agree with me. Is fine with me.

Only time, will verify.

1)
      If next year 2023 May come and what u said, floppy, is indeed true, then I will apologise to all of u here.
      Because I feel that if I make a mistake, then I ought to make an apology to all of u here.

2)
      However,
      But if next year 2023 come and what I said come true, some kiasu schools still conduct mini P6 tests in May, call it by another name -

Floppy,
      You DONT need to apologise, at all.
      Why ?

Because
      Nothing to apologise, at all.

There is absolutely nothing wrong, with your own opinion, floppy. Feel free, to think how u feel, because we all obey Chief kiasu

\"It is perfectly all right, to disagree\"

You follow, floppy?

=============================

Let me set the condition, for next year 2023 May month review.

1) Not all primary schools will conduct P6 mid year tests.

Those \" Non-kiasu \" schools so happy, to hear this Moe news.
      Why ?

Because

No need to set any mid year test papers mah ! Hurray, no need to spend time marking any test papers, whatsoever. Can relax, man, VP, HOD, subject Tr all can continue to enjoy & collect their monthly salary. So good, no need to mark any test script, for mid year.

But the \"kiasu\" schools, will still prefer to walk the extra mile, for the sake of preparing their students well. They don't mind, being hardworking.

If you are a P6 parent, ask yourself, which primary school do u wish your kid to be in : in a kiasu school or in a Non-kiasu school?

2) they may not test ALL (P5 and P6) Science topics. But maybe, choose lesser topics to test. Choose selected topics to test, only.

The same, apply to Maths subject.

3) they may not test all the 4 Psle subjects, but may test some (certain) subjects only.

4) Even inside the same subject, they may not test ALL the components, but test certain components, only.

Example
      ========

In English and Chinese languages, there are 4 components, in each language. So, they may test not all, but certain components only.

A) composition / zuowen
      B) Comprehension paper 2
      C) Oral / kou shi
      D) Listening Comprehension

5) they may not call it \"P6 SA1\" anymore, but may call it, by some other new name, instead.
      Why ?

So scared
      that by calling it \"P6 SA1\",
      will bring trouble to their own primary school.

newkeynesian

As long as all schools work around the ambits, I think is fine.

• floppyF Offline
          floppy

phtthp\" post_id=\"2088494\" time=\"1668143313\" user_id=\"35251:

…
          No need to argue, floppy !
          By all means, keep your own view.
          If you think your opinion is right, keep it lah !

Because I trust my own opinion, having seen \"kiasu\" primary schools in Singspore.

Didn't Chief kiasu already said -
          We all can agree, to disagree.
          In fact,
          Nobody is asking u to agree with me, floppy.
          …
          We can agree to disagree on opinions. That’s not a problem at all.

However, we cannot agree to disagree on facts. The below is clearly a factually erroneous statement and what emoh did was merely to correct it:

phtthp\" post_id=\"2088473\" time=\"1668136839\" user_id=\"35251:
          Some \"kiasu\" primary schools in Singapore,
          WILL still proceed to conduct P6 SA1.
          …

Will some primary schools in Singapore run class tests / topical assessments to validate the learnings of the child? Definitely.
          Is it a recorded SA1 score? No.
          To confuse the former with the latter, and to call the former a hidden form of the latter, is neither truthful nor correct.

• sky minecrafterS Offline
            sky minecrafter

Wow, TGIF!! Let us appreciate the diversity of our forummers and not call one other names 🙏🤗

Just a reminder that this is an open forum, and there should be no argumentative statements directed towards any particular user. We can argue on issues, but we do not argue against a person.

eg.
              User A says: "I support Issue X"
              User B says: "No lah, Issue Y is more valid"
              User A says: "No you are stupid."
              And so starts a long and pointless quarrel…

Mr.025413Clumsy

https://i.pinimg.com/736x/ca/1c/8b/ca1c8b30b04f3592483636ed08d32245.jpg\">

kaisuism

Off topic, tomorrow some schools will be holding open house, like xinmin, commonwealth, zhonghua etc. Also there is Straits Times Post PSLE webinar. Anyone attending?

• Liew Nga WingL Offline
                    Liew Nga Wing

kaisuism\" post_id=\"2088529\" time=\"1668153768\" user_id=\"199574:

Off topic, tomorrow some schools will be holding open house, like xinmin, commonwealth, zhonghua etc. Also there is Straits Times Post PSLE webinar. Anyone attending?
                    The time is 12 Nov 10 am

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/parenting-education/get-tips-on-secondary-school-selection-and-postings-at-st-webinar

Mr.025413Clumsy

kaisuism\" post_id=\"2088529\" time=\"1668153768\" user_id=\"199574:

I'm attending the ST Post-PSLE webinar.

kaisuism

Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=\"2088531\" time=\"1668154362\" user_id=\"195250:[quote=\"Liew Nga Wing\" post_id=2088531 time=1668154362 user_id=195250]
                        The time is 12 Nov 10 am

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/parenting-education/get-tips-on-secondary-school-selection-and-postings-at-st-webinar[/quote]
                        For those who are interested to know about the subject based banding and school postings under AL system please attend this one @ 10am.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 386 / 400