Can through-train school work in kiasu Singapore?
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100898\" time=\"1678705434\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100898 time=1678705434 user_id=53606]
If we allow transfer out, there will be parents taking advantage of it. My suggestion of type 3 school maybe the choice for unsure parents. I chose at P4 to decide because you need at least 2 years to prepare for PSLE. So at end of P4 you do not want your child to take PSLE, then just finish primary school and apply for one of the through train secondary schools which will have specific criteria to get in. Eg distance.
Therefore it may be more acceptable for the thru-train school to be a less popular neighborhood school, convert it to run the 10-year program. Or a newly built and named school in a young town.
Same curriculum as the rest of Singapore, so nothing actually needs to change, except that the P5 and P6 years can be spent less on training PSLE exam techniques in May to October, more on whatever holistic programs they have. Weighted assessments still appear every term (just like other schools’ P1-P5) but of no consequence, just a practice and gauge for students and their parents.
And the options to transfer out / in at various points, as the kids grow older and parents can tell which system suits better.[/quote] -
Transfer out will be to a non-thru train neighborhood school lah. There are no vacancies in the popular schools liao. Unless willing to waitlist many years just like the other folks. Let this be an option if they suddenly discover the kid can ace exams and want to join the rat race.
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100910\" time=\"1678709496\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100910 time=1678709496 user_id=53606]
Why do you need to transfer out if these unsure parents apply the type 3 school at P1 which is for unsure parents? If you read my point 3 I suggested a type 3 school where the parents can choose at the end of P4 to decide if they want to take PSLE or not.
Transfer out will be to a non-thru train neighborhood school lah. There are no vacancies in the popular schools liao. Unless willing to waitlist many years just like the other folks. Let this be an option if they suddenly discover the kid can ace exams and want to join the rat race.[/quote]
[quote]3. I don't have a name for it but the 3rd category school will be schools for students(or parents) who are unsure to go through train or take PSLE and will make a decision at the end of P4. Those who decide to take PSLE will have the option to DSA etc as the current way. Those who decide not to take PSLE will go to through train secondary schools.[/quote] -
This sounds like an extension of affiliation from pri to sec school.
With FSBB, thru train pri to sec sch is doable. Students can still take PSLE for subject banding. -
kaisuism\" post_id=\"2100911\" time=\"1678710037\" user_id=\"199574:
If u want MOE to accept this thru-train idea, u need to make it least disruptive for them.
Why do you need to transfer out if these unsure parents apply the type 3 school at P1 which is for unsure parents? If you read my point 3 I suggested a type 3 school where the parents can choose at the end of P4 to decide if they want to take PSLE or not.
Hence my suggestion. No need type 3. -
00skyblue00\" post_id=\"2100912\" time=\"1678710050\" user_id=\"143605:
But like this the kids still waste 2 years studying (or pretending to study) for PSLE. Is that true education?
This sounds like an extension of affiliation from pri to sec school.
With FSBB, thru train pri to sec sch is doable. Students can still take PSLE for subject banding. -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100918\" time=\"1678713680\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100918 time=1678713680 user_id=53606]
They will still need school based sorting otherwise. This concept thru train pri to sch, allows students like those in schs w affiliation take PSLE but not depend on it for sch selection. Reduce the stress level. This is only if parents buy in to this option. If choosing this option means giving up on IP option, thru train sec to jc, half the population or more would not go for it, i believe.
But like this the kids still waste 2 years studying (or pretending to study) for PSLE. Is that true education?[/quote]
Is this thru train concept applicable for pri to JC? -
00skyblue00\" post_id=\"2100922\" time=\"1678715322\" user_id=\"143605:
You are absolutely right, 00skyblue00
They will still need school based sorting otherwise. This concept thru train pri to sch, allows students like those in schs w affiliation take PSLE but not depend on it for sch selection. Reduce the stress level. This is only if parents buy in to this option. If choosing this option means giving up on IP option, thru train sec to jc, half the population or more would not go for it, i believe.
Is this thru train concept applicable for pri to JC?
Even students from good Affliated primary schools like NYPS may not want to go NYGH, because some NYPS girls prefer to go RGS or to NUS High or to ACSI.
OR
SCGS girls primary may not want to go to Affliated SCGS Secondary. Some SCGS girls may prefer to go RGS / NYGH.
Just like some ACSP boys not keen to go ACS Barker nor to ACSI. They prefer to go RI or NUS High, instead.
So, thru train from affliated primary to Sec : won't work. They rather take PSLE and enter by AL score -
zac's mum\" post_id=\"2100918\" time=\"1678713680\" user_id=\"53606:[quote=\"zac's mum\" post_id=2100918 time=1678713680 user_id=53606]
What is true education?
But like this the kids still waste 2 years studying (or pretending to study) for PSLE. Is that true education?[/quote]
By right, assessment is to provide students with various opportunities to demonstrate their degree of achievement in relation to the given standard. Why put on hold everything to study for psle, if sch has been selected already. The stake shld be lowered. It can just be a check point for progression to sec sch.
Isn't this why parents find all means to get their kids into pri schools with affiliation? Less stressful knowing there is a buffer but kids still take psle. Or maybe the name of psle can change to \"P6 proficiency\" etc. To remove the high stake label.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.