Teaching Chinese at Home

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    2.4k Posts 257 Posters 902.7k Views 1 Watching
      Brenda10

Hi, I wanted to buy the CLIPS (Chinese Language Instructional Materials For Primary Schools 小学华文补充读物 第六辑)during the book fair held in school holiday but could not find. However, so glad that I found it in Library and managed to borrow a few under 第五辑 (suitable for P5 and above) and 第六辑 (suitable for P6 and above). The story is without HYPY and is quite interesting and easy to understand as most of the words were leant before. Some 成语 also included.

DD is quite impressive with one of the book 父子情仇which was writing about 东汉末年,董卓专权,挟天子以令诸侯,大臣王允巧使连环计, 先将其养女貂蝉许给董卓,后又许给吕布。董、吕二人争风吃醋,发生火并,董卓被杀. She told me this was part of the 三国演义.

Another book 画眉奇案 is about 案中案 and how they find out the truth at the end.

Therefore, I would think it is good for upper primary students to read all these books to enrich their CL and knowledge. 😄

toddles

jennyksl:
        jennyksl:

i wish to order the following from dangdang but dun have amex or citibank cc.. anybody can help??

老鼠记者(全20册)
        老鼠记者系列 第4季 盒装 (共5册16-20)

can anybody help? i try using citibank cc and failed many times. I need the books soon.. thanks..

I have PM-ed you on an available method. Check and see whether it helps. 🙂

• G Offline
          GSK

Hi All

Does anyone know where to get the the Si Wu Quai Du, saw them in Popular Book store, but they do not have book 1 and 2.

For those who received from Dang Dang or via Spree, how much is the total cost for 7 books?

toddles

The price for the set varies week by week - like stock market haha.

i bought mine for 116.2 RMB, divided by 4.5 exchange rate. that = $25.82 for the whole set before shipping. I bought it with other stuff, so i think shipping cost around $5 for it alone.

hope this helps. :lol:

lims

Bessy:
              Anyone interested in buying a new set of 四五快读 at S$40.00.

Currently, Popular book store selling at S$8.95 each book.

We can meet at Jurong area.
              Hi Bessy,

Which popular ? Coz i went to Imm & Jurong point popular ...both said they dun sell 四五快读 ....therefore i called them to see how i can get it faster !

Here are the infor i got from them

Sending to thier local addy is within two - three days ONLY lor..

was wondering if i get them to sent to my friend in China ..tink faster ba...but dun noe how much would the shipping be to SG...alternative maybe i have to c whom i can tumpang back to SG ...

or maybe start a bp on 四五快读 ....

Any comments Mummies

pummanuel

mummy of 2:
                Your DD must be very fluent in Chinese since you lived there for some time. I believe the immersion must have geiven her an excellent foundation 😄

Hi Mummy of 2, it's true that the close to 3 years stay for my daughter helped to build a good foundation in her Chinese language. She spoke like a Chinese mainland child then. But the flip side was the largely monolingual environment affected her English. She refused to learn English when we were in China as she did not need to speak in English to communicate her needs and wants. Thankfully, she has caught up in her English now as all of her classmates speak in English.

But again, as all of her classmates either do not speak Mandarin or with an English accent, it has affected her Mandarin pronounciation, though she has Chinese mainland teachers. So now I'm planning to send her to Chinese S&D classes. I sent her to Bishan Berries but she didn't enjoy the classes so I stopped. She told me 我比较喜欢上妈妈的课。So I've started 四五快读 with her.

• Z Offline
                  zhangping

hi mumies, chanced upon this thread..we are selling great chinese books for kids, including 四五快读, 我会读, 读书郎, 淘树 & other good books , do visit us at http://www.sgshinekids.com, pardon me if I post in the wrong place, have a good day! 😄

Bessy

lims:
                    Bessy:

Anyone interested in buying a new set of 四五快读 at S$40.00.

Currently, Popular book store selling at S$8.95 each book.

We can meet at Jurong area.

Hi Bessy,

Which popular ? Coz i went to Imm & Jurong point popular ...both said they dun sell 四五快读 ....therefore i called them to see how i can get it faster !

Here are the infor i got from them

Sending to thier local addy is within two - three days ONLY lor..

was wondering if i get them to sent to my friend in China ..tink faster ba...but dun noe how much would the shipping be to SG...alternative maybe i have to c whom i can tumpang back to SG ...

or maybe start a bp on 四五快读 ....

Any comments Mummies

Yes they do have, their record show this 幼儿快速识字阅读法 instead. Only available at Jurong Point, hope its help.

As for shipment to Sin, is up to you whether u want to wait or not.

mummy of 2

pummanuel:
                      But again, as all of her classmates either do not speak Mandarin or with an English accent, it has affected her Mandarin pronounciation, though she has Chinese mainland teachers.

It appears that kids pick up English much easily. We speak Mandarin at home and both my kids are fluent in Mandarin. However this few months I noticed that DS1 is beginning to speak English to us (with an ang moh accent somemore). He is also speaking to DD2 in English most of the time.
                      pummanuel:
                      She told me 我比较喜欢上妈妈的课。

You must be quite comforted to know that at least your own efforts in teaching her is appreciated 😄

Busymom

Busymom:
                        Tamarind, I used DBS Amex card.

For the first order, I ordered on 16 May. It was shipped out on 24 May, but till today, I still have not received the books. Based on your experience, guess it is quite normal to wait up to at least 4-5 weeks for the shipment to arrive.

For the second order, it was made on 21 May. I received confirmation that 货款已经收到‏, but it never got to the stage where they asked for verification of my credit card. I don't think it had ended up as junk mail cos' whatever email that they have sent out to me, I could see the same email in the dangdang website under my account. Have sent them an email to enquire, but don't know if I have sent it to the right place...
                        Finally I received the books that I ordered on 16 May 2 days ago. It indeed took about 5 weeks to get here after being shipped out on 24 May from Beijing... While I was glad to finally receive the books, I was a little upset that packing had not been done properly and a couple of paperbacks had covers that were folded in or out :x

Wonder if anyone had such experience with their books as well?

By the way, the 四五快读 works out to be $5.60 per book for me... cheaper than getting from Popular, except that the condition of some of the books after the shipping had become less than pristine.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 72 / 243