All About Diamonds
vlim:
Yep, make that arrogant manager PAY!
ya...though no value but we women still love it haaaaa...If I want to buy it, I will go to another poh heng branch :x so that they cannot ride on any commission or whatsoever.. -
Okay, you gals are going to call me \"dumb\".
Before DH proposed, we were just sitting in his parents' TV room talking about where to get diamonds etc...my now-FIL says \"nothing less than one carat, Andaiz, looks good right?\" (winking for effect). I said \"no lah, uncle, my hands very small, one carat too big leh!\" :stupid: :stupid:
So I got my wish....less than one carat. I loike it still and when the children were younger, the ring only saw daylight during CNY or some special occasion. Now, a little more light but still don't wear it too often :roll:
Do I want a bigger one? Yes...hinting for next year as I turn 40 and 10th Wedding Anniversary mah...this time, I'd KEEP MY BIG MOUTH SHUT about the size...heehee! -
tree nymph:
When we announced going to married, my parents and hubby's parents strike 4D.MMM,
your in-laws are generous.
mine not so ε€§ζΉ, not more than $2k. But yah lor, should have use the money to buy yellow gold, the value would have gone up 2 times! Agreed with you on the watch versus diamond jewellery...
I returned the classic half a carat fancy yellow ring when broke off with ex.
maybe i should have kept it?? :evil: :evil:
and i married my hubby without a diamond ring somemore!!!

Actually I think if my hubby's parents din strike, I don't have εηΉι. Cos she din even mention at the moment.
So, when my hubby's mother said going to buy εηΉι for me. I, of cos going to \"chop\" her head liao :rubhands: . I bought around 5k diamond from Lee Hwa with discount.... :evil: -
Andaiz:
I will trade in for money or other thing.... :lol:
Yah man, the guy could re-set the ring if he wants to.
But shine_fs, your colleague probably kept it for remembrance. Why \"waste\" a good diamond... Wuahahaha!
shine_fs:
I think my mil went to Poh Heng all prepared to buy traditional gold stuff for me :lol: But I cannot bear the thought of wearing them with the gown etc.... Since we are expected to do it. Find it so \"obiang\". At that point, white gold was the \"in\" thing but since the older folks are superstitious, I settled with yellow gold with diamond. Hubby is the only son so that probably explains why they were willing to \"pay\". In fact, fil bought hubby a 1/2 carat good quality diamond ring.
When we announced going to married, my parents and hubby's parents strike 4D.
Actually I think if my hubby's parents din strike, I don't have εηΉι. Cos she din even mention at the moment.
So, when my hubby's mother said going to buy εηΉι for me. I, of cos going to \"chop\" her head liao :rubhands: . I bought around 5k diamond from Lee Hwa with discount.... :evil:
I was lucky as mum strike 4d before my wedding so she ended up buying my diamond bracelet (1 row type) and other diamond stuff for my wedding :lol:
But those are the only jewellery I have till today.
I think hubby generally has greater farsight than me. He always said that when I was younger, I prefer smaller stuff and he kept reminding me that, u sure????? Now that I am 10 years older..... I want bigger stuff. But too bad, it's past. Difficult to con him of a 1 carat and think we both agree, that money can be put to better places. Another rolex with blings blings for another daughter
i tink, given me, i would return the 'carrot' ring.. since break off, why keep.. n the guy poor thing lar, spend the $$ din get the gal.. hehehe
on the other hand, my MIL only bought for me a diamond bracelet (dun wow yet) from i tink cupid or is it taka.. a row of 5 or 6 star shape 'frames' to each hold a TINY stone..
call me ungrateful.. she gave the giant rock to my sil (her daughter) and settled me for this $400 bracelet oni.. :stupid: -
Those whose PILs bought jewellery for them, good oredi lah. Mine nothing, we had to pay for MILβs cheong sum and FILβs suit instead.
For proposal rings, not right to take the ring if not accepting the proposal right? And I will return the ring if the relationship did not work out.
But if any the rings or jewellery was given do other occasions, eg birthday, valentines or anniversaries, I will keep even if we part ways. -
Andaiz:
:slapshead: :faint:Okay, you gals are going to call me \"dumb\".
Before DH proposed, we were just sitting in his parents' TV room talking about where to get diamonds etc...my now-FIL says \"nothing less than one carat, Andaiz, looks good right?\" (winking for effect). I said \"no lah, uncle, my hands very small, one carat too big leh!\" :stupid: :stupid:
So I got my wish....less than one carat. I loike it still and when the children were younger, the ring only saw daylight during CNY or some special occasion. Now, a little more light but still don't wear it too often :roll:
Do I want a bigger one? Yes...hinting for next year as I turn 40 and 10th Wedding Anniversary mah...this time, I'd KEEP MY BIG MOUTH SHUT about the size...heehee!
Honey, they ain't called rocks for nothin'. I tell the husband - getting lao liao, so cannot see if too small. Can only see if it's giganto! So repeat after me - \"The - Bigger - The - Better ...\"
When it comes to diamonds, think of the Indonesian taitais and their big hair.
Luckily dw doesn't surf ksp. We're in dangerous territory here

Hey know what,
I didn't know the size of the 'solitary' diamond engagement ring that DH gave me until I went to dig out the receipt just now. Though I love diamonds, I too was under the illusion that size mattered.
I recall sometime after he put it on my finger, I remarked carelessly that it looked quite small leh.
He gave me this kinda hurt look and said that size shouldn't matter. Its the cut, colour, clarity then carat that should take precedent. He went on to mention that he spent alot of time studying about diamonds before purchasing and managed to get a really good one from Larry Jewellry. Apparently, even the sales personnel there advised that the more superior the cut, clarity and colour, the better.
I felt really bad after that, he had just started working then. Needless to say, except for the time that I was pregnant, I still wear that ring whenever I step out of the house
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.