All About Fairness of PV

86 Posts 28 Posters 36.0k Views 1 Watching
      titank

notabox:

Just found out my SIL has started pv work at PHPP. She stays within 1-2km of PHPP and mentioned a few others in her estate are also pvs in PHPP. Guess it is not true then that the principal will only select pv staying outside 2km.

that outside 2km thing is without logic

In the PV list, there would be some parents in the 1km, 1-2Km & more than 2Km. Maybe PHPP Principal trying set new rules?

notabox:
        Just found out my SIL has started pv work at PHPP. She stays within 1-2km of PHPP and mentioned a few others in her estate are also pvs in PHPP. Guess it is not true then that the principal will only select pv staying outside 2km.

This whole thing about selection banning PV staying within 1km is crazy. WITHOUT fail every year, there will be balloting under Phase 2B. If school chooses PVs staying more than 2km, then come balloting, church/grassroots will get place within 1km, leaving no chance for PVs staying > than 2km to be in the school. Schools value PVs because of their time/effort offered.

Only the PHPS Principal can confirm if such a remark regarding allowing only PVs from >2km was made to any PVs. We only have anecdotal accounts from a couple of folks which we should only accept as possible, but unconfirmed.

In any case, I believe that is within the rights of the Principal to make such a rule, whatever the rationale might be. The problem is that such a constraint can only be placed on the selection of PVs, and not other qualifying parties to Phase 2B, such as affiliated churches, clans, or community leaders. So even if the group of PVs are "regulated", they will still be disadvantaged by the other qualifying groups who can come in at any distance.

It is definitely not easy to carry out any form of "leveling of playing field" by the Schools themselves.

Scary

Based on one of ChiefKiasu’s post, "3. Parents are encouraged to send their children to nearby schools to cut down on travelling and to reduce the burden on both parents and children."

We are within 1km of both PH and Bukit Timah Prim.

If my DS doesn’t get into PH, it’s really a burden cos the next nearest school is Bukit Timah Prim. By foot, is 15 mins walk up and down slope. We had tried and by the time we reached the school, we are perspiring heavily. By bus, is 8 mins to bus stop, can go up to 15 mins of waiting time for bus, another 5 mins of travelling on bus. By school bus, DS will have to wake up earlier and also, we have to incur transport cost.

So, maybe MOE should consider changing the priorities to within 500m, 500-1km, etc since pple who live out of 500m most prob will need to take some form of transport and these pple may be closer to another school. Also, show proof that they have stayed in the address for some time, so that the close proximity priority will not be taken advantage of.

As for PV for PH, don’t think they are like some other schools. Priorities given to within 1km. They do take in PV > 2km but we don’t know what’s the ratio. At least it gives some hope and chance to this group of people.

Now, we can only pray that no balloting required for within 1km. Otherwise, isn’t it going against MOE’s rules(priorities)?

foreverj

Scary:

So, maybe MOE should consider changing the priorities to within 500m, 500-1km, etc since pple who live out of 500m most prob will need to take some form of transport and these pple may be closer to another school. Also, show proof that they have stayed in the address for some time, so that the close proximity priority will not be taken advantage of.
              er sorry, i dun mean to say but these two additional criteria wil b a huge administrative nightmare, not just for MOE, the schools and the parents too!

based on wat u mention, sometimes there may be cases of homes within 500m of school if u draw a straight line on the map, but based on the actual roads to the sch, the travelling distance may be longer. so end up should measure based on travelling distance or shortest dist bet the home and school?

n to prove how long they have been staying in current homes, that means parents have to bring copies of house deed, sale and purchase agreement and/or tenancy agreements?

jus some thoughts, hope u not offended...

foreverj:
                Scary:

er sorry, i dun mean to say but these two additional criteria wil b a huge administrative nightmare, not just for MOE, the schools and the parents too!

based on wat u mention, sometimes there may be cases of homes within 500m of school if u draw a straight line on the map, but based on the actual roads to the sch, the travelling distance may be longer. so end up should measure based on travelling distance or shortest dist bet the home and school?

n to prove how long they have been staying in current homes, that means parents have to bring copies of house deed, sale and purchase agreement and/or tenancy agreements?

jus some thoughts, hope u not offended...

i do envisage chaos with HDB flats going up to 50 storeys

hence, if going by 500 metres rule, then it should count the vertical distance of the apartment unit to the ground floor too, then add on the horizontal travelling distance, to determine accurately the distance

but another nightmare : distance to which part of the school ? which part of the perimeter fence ? or right up to the centre of the principal's office ....imagine some big big primary school with huge compound ......distance between home and school is a real headache..

• tankeeT Offline
                  tankee

Scary:
                  .... By foot, is 15 mins walk up and down slope. We had tried and by the time we reached the school, we are perspiring heavily. ....

On the positive side, in no time, your child will be physically fit. 😄

markfch

i do envisage chaos with HDB flats going up to 50 storeys

hence, if going by 500 metres rule, then it should count the vertical distance of the apartment unit to the ground floor too, then add on the horizontal travelling distance, to determine accurately the distance

but another nightmare : distance to which part of the school ? which part of the perimeter fence ? or right up to the centre of the principal's office ....imagine some big big primary school with huge compound ......distance between home and school is a real headache..

vk2010, you very bad leh. Today is P2B balloting so mood is solemn already but you still cracking jokes. But your joke is quite funny :laugh:

toddles

Scary:
                      As for PV for PH, don't think they are like some other schools. Priorities given to within 1km. They do take in PV > 2km but we don't know what's the ratio. At least it gives some hope and chance to this group of people.

Now, we can only pray that no balloting required for within 1km. Otherwise, isn't it going against MOE's rules(priorities)?
                      don't think it's going against MOE's rules leh... if there are 30 places and 40 applicants living within 1km, then all gotta ballot lor... what to do? a demand-supply and residential density thing...

toddles

Scary:
                        As for PV for PH, don't think they are like some other schools. Priorities given to within 1km. They do take in PV > 2km but we don't know what's the ratio. At least it gives some hope and chance to this group of people.

Now, we can only pray that no balloting required for within 1km. Otherwise, isn't it going against MOE's rules(priorities)?
                        don't think it's going against MOE's rules leh... if there are 30 places and 40 applicants living within 1km, then all gotta ballot lor... what to do? a demand-supply and residential density thing...

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 6 / 9