All About Fairness of PV
foreverj:
i do envisage chaos with HDB flats going up to 50 storeys
er sorry, i dun mean to say but these two additional criteria wil b a huge administrative nightmare, not just for MOE, the schools and the parents too!Scary:
So, maybe MOE should consider changing the priorities to within 500m, 500-1km, etc since pple who live out of 500m most prob will need to take some form of transport and these pple may be closer to another school. Also, show proof that they have stayed in the address for some time, so that the close proximity priority will not be taken advantage of.
based on wat u mention, sometimes there may be cases of homes within 500m of school if u draw a straight line on the map, but based on the actual roads to the sch, the travelling distance may be longer. so end up should measure based on travelling distance or shortest dist bet the home and school?
n to prove how long they have been staying in current homes, that means parents have to bring copies of house deed, sale and purchase agreement and/or tenancy agreements?
jus some thoughts, hope u not offended...
hence, if going by 500 metres rule, then it should count the vertical distance of the apartment unit to the ground floor too, then add on the horizontal travelling distance, to determine accurately the distance
but another nightmare : distance to which part of the school ? which part of the perimeter fence ? or right up to the centre of the principal's office ....imagine some big big primary school with huge compound ......distance between home and school is a real headache..
:rotflmao: -
Scary:
.... By foot, is 15 mins walk up and down slope. We had tried and by the time we reached the school, we are perspiring heavily. ....
On the positive side, in no time, your child will be physically fit.
vk2010, you very bad leh. Today is P2B balloting so mood is solemn already but you still cracking jokes. But your joke is quite funny :laugh:i do envisage chaos with HDB flats going up to 50 storeys
hence, if going by 500 metres rule, then it should count the vertical distance of the apartment unit to the ground floor too, then add on the horizontal travelling distance, to determine accurately the distance
but another nightmare : distance to which part of the school ? which part of the perimeter fence ? or right up to the centre of the principal's office ....imagine some big big primary school with huge compound ......distance between home and school is a real headache..
Scary:
don't think it's going against MOE's rules leh... if there are 30 places and 40 applicants living within 1km, then all gotta ballot lor... what to do? a demand-supply and residential density thing...As for PV for PH, don't think they are like some other schools. Priorities given to within 1km. They do take in PV > 2km but we don't know what's the ratio. At least it gives some hope and chance to this group of people.
Now, we can only pray that no balloting required for within 1km. Otherwise, isn't it going against MOE's rules(priorities)? -
Scary:
don't think it's going against MOE's rules leh... if there are 30 places and 40 applicants living within 1km, then all gotta ballot lor... what to do? a demand-supply and residential density thing...As for PV for PH, don't think they are like some other schools. Priorities given to within 1km. They do take in PV > 2km but we don't know what's the ratio. At least it gives some hope and chance to this group of people.
Now, we can only pray that no balloting required for within 1km. Otherwise, isn't it going against MOE's rules(priorities)? -
They measure from the main gate no matter how big the school is.but another nightmare : distance to which part of the school ? which part of the perimeter fence ? or right up to the centre of the principal's office ....imagine some big big primary school with huge compound ......distance between home and school is a real headache..
foreverj:
well, one may stay in a location where the path to school is obstructed by a hill; in that case it's not a true 1km. Then how? every year the school staff got to walk from the home to the school and see if it's within 1km! :!: :!:
based on wat u mention, sometimes there may be cases of homes within 500m of school if u draw a straight line on the map, but based on the actual roads to the sch, the travelling distance may be longer. so end up should measure based on travelling distance or shortest dist bet the home and school?
These things are interesting to think about, but may that not be a reality.
and travelling time depends on speed. if grandma brings, maybe walk very slowly....who's going to be the arbiter.
'As the crow flies' method got its issue, but it's the easiest to check. -
KSP:
hmmm ... I do believe TNS measure the distance using the centre of the school.
They measure from the main gate no matter how big the school is.verykiasu2010:
Scary:
For me, I think MOE should consider adding 1 or 2 more categories after 2km. There is a lot of difference if you are 3 km vs 10 km away.
So, maybe MOE should consider changing the priorities to within 500m, 500-1km, etc since pple who live out of 500m most prob will need to take some form of transport and these pple may be closer to another school. -
Of course not offended. We are here to share our opinions.
Just that for my area, it’s not a joke to walk 15 mins up and down slope carrying school bags, especially during rainy days!! Furthermore, one side of the road has no pavement to walk and the area is only 2 lanes for vehicles, 1 for each direction. If Ah Ma or Ah Gong brings, I think will need at least 30 mins.
If MOE can draw a line for those <1km and 1-2km, definitely they can do the same for <500m and 500-1km. Just bring house deed or tenancy agreement (for rental) with the date can liao. We also need to submit a stack of documents when we apply for certain things (e.g. jobs, housings). I heard that’s it’s stated somewhere that one will have to live in the address used for registration for the full 6 yrs. Not many will do this especially those rental cases. Thus, instead of this, why don’t MOE consider something like "must stay in the registered rental address for a yr before registration". Just like for PV or RC member, there are also criteria to be met.
Was just suggesting if really want to based on proximity, why not do it <500m as it makes more sense especially when the school is within a housing estate and there are many schools in the estate. The kids can simply just walk over and don’t have to incur transport cost. Imagine, there are 2 schools. One is 200m away and the other one is 900m away. It’s logical to go to the school that is 200m away right? Incurring tpt cost may not be a big deal for rich people, but for some others, it means a lot to them. In this case, of course if demand more than supply, one got to ren4 ming4. However, I would say that the chances to ballot are very slim.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.