Any parents here ever felt pressurized by others?

212 Posts 54 Posters 66.8k Views 1 Watching

carebear:
      I am definitely not the kancheong parent, unlike my DH who is very super duper kancheong.

He does all the teaching and coaching, whereas I make sure my kids are well clothed and fed and am in charge of enrolling them into tuition centres and enrichment courses.
      To me, academic excellence does not necessarily equal financial success. So as long as my kids are doing ok and not with bad company, I am already happy.
      i thought that is called division of labour in an ultra super kancheong kiasu family ?? :rotflmao:

markfch

carebear:

I am definitely not the kancheong parent, unlike my DH who is very super duper kancheong.

He does all the teaching and coaching, whereas I make sure my kids are well clothed and fed and am in charge of enrolling them into tuition centres and enrichment courses.
        To me, academic excellence does not necessarily equal financial success. So as long as my kids are doing ok and not with bad company, I am already happy.

i thought that is called division of labour in an ultra super kancheong kiasu family ?? :rotflmao:

vk2010, why you expose people. So bad :rotflmao:

[quote=\"carebear\"]I am definitely not the kancheong parent, unlike my DH who is very super duper kancheong.

vk2010, why you expose people. So bad :rotflmao:[/quote]no lah, already self exposure :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

HyperKiasu

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]

vk2010, why you expose people. So bad :rotflmao:

no lah, already self exposure :rotflmao: :rotflmao:[/quote]markfch,
            now you have the answer of how to cope with the peer-pressures: come to KSP to do these exposures...or 自嘲....

markfch

HyperKiasu:
              markfch,

now you have the answer of how to cope with the peer-pressures: come to KSP to do these exposures...or 自嘲....
              Usually I'm the one after learning from KSP will go and tell my friends. So I'm one putting pressure on others :evil: .

Carebear no offense, we are only joking ok? But if you really have to blame someone, vk2010 started it :laugh:

carebear

Boohoohoo 😢

So my family is classified under ultra super kancheong kiasu family? :nailbite:
                So verykiasu2010, do you feel pressurized? 👅

carebear:
                  Boohoohoo 😢

So my family is classified under ultra super kancheong kiasu family? :nailbite:
                  So verykiasu2010, do you feel pressurized? 👅
                  no, don't feel pressurised

hope others are feeling pressurised by us ....... :rotflmao: :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

ok, joke only

not pressurised. how to ??

cantbearit2

vicki:
                    I am the kancheong spider. Hb is the relaxed and calm turtle!!

So, hopefully we are a 'balance' for our kids!!
                    Haha...vicki,

Same in my case. DH got no clues to enrichment class at all. So it's up to gan cheong mama (me lah) to plan for our kids. :lol:

Coming back to this topic, think all of us in KSP are pressurised in one way or another. Just a matter of the extent of pressure. Otherwise we wouldn't b in this forum.

B4 I joined KSP, i din even noe there are kids who knew this and that by age x. So it was like a wake up call to see if my DD knew some basics b4 entering a formal primary school education. I muz say it was scary. :nailbite:

But with more knowledge (from KSP of course :lovesite:), I realise that I am clearer with my goals for my kids. Not necessary \"the best\" from other parents pt of view but it's \"our best\".

A lot of other friends/relatives/even my own mom, did gave us many opinions and we thank them for it. However we still persist with our own idea of \"our best\" instead of giving in to pressure coming from them.

Maybe other parents can share their \"pressured\" experience too?

No, I don't feel pressured by what others are doing for their children because every child is different. My friends share in great detail what they do for their children and sometimes seek my advice or opinion. If it has any impact on me, then I would be overly busy.

I feel more pressured by my own kid.

Funny hor...but true leh... :oops: :roll:

Blobbi:

No, I don't feel pressured by what others are doing for their children because every child is different. My friends share in great detail what they do for their children and sometimes seek my advice or opinion. If it has any impact on me, then I would be overly busy.

I feel more pressured by my own kid.

100% agree, ksi. I was struggling to come out with the words but you said it so precisely.

Yeah :hi5: Blobbi....at least someone out there understands this \"weirdness\" of matter...... 😄

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 22

P1 Registration 2027 Changes
                        DSA Discussions and Strategies