All About Primary Schools' Balloting History
CHEEM..... haha! :celebrate:
I certainly prefer to be the one being soured by grapes, rather than the one souring grapes. Too confusing :scratchhead: ? Nobody will envy a person doing badly. Being targetted meant that we are doing well :celebrate: .markfch:
[quote=\"Daddy D\"]
Orrhhhh..... haha! :celebrate:
Do what's within our own means... and be contented... no point envying others, right?
Life is not always fair. :celebrate:
Hope I don't end up comparing report books with other parents next time! haha![/quote]what do u mean u won't compare report books? u shld be banned from this kiasu forum! :lol:
have fun! -
wow, very interesting posts everyoneโฆ IMHO, everyone has a thing to say about the MOEโs rules be they fair or unfair. Itโs fair if you were an old boy and got priority at 2A, and unfair if you never attended a good school that you are now eyeing. Blame your parents? Itโs fair if you were a born Catholic and got priority at Catholic schools, yet unfair that you are a born Catholic and still couldnโt get into Cat High or St Nicks. PVs think they should get priority for clocking hours but what makes PVs think they are better than born Catholics or clansmen who practice the faith and values all their lives? Are PVs willing to take the plunge and believe in the religion or values of such schools? Then PVs/grassroots people would not need to volunteer at all since they would then join as church or clan members. If everyone starts complaining to the MOE and make them fed up, MOE will just have a Phase 2C for everyone and then the old boys, current students etc will cry foul. I still think the fairest rule the MOE has implemented so far is the 2 ballot slips for citizens.
cherrygal:
wow, very interesting posts everyone... IMHO, everyone has a thing to say about the MOE's rules be they fair or unfair. It's fair if you were an old boy and got priority at 2A, and unfair if you never attended a good school that you are now eyeing. Blame your parents? It's fair if you were a born Catholic and got priority at Catholic schools, yet unfair that you are a born Catholic and still couldn't get into Cat High or St Nicks. PVs think they should get priority for clocking hours but what makes PVs think they are better than born Catholics or clansmen who practice the faith and values all their lives? Are PVs willing to take the plunge and believe in the religion or values of such schools? Then PVs/grassroots people would not need to volunteer at all since they would then join as church or clan members. If everyone starts complaining to the MOE and make them fed up, MOE will just have a Phase 2C for everyone and then the old boys, current students etc will cry foul. I still think the fairest rule the MOE has implemented so far is the 2 ballot slips for citizens.
interesting......
but then again... the PR/Foreigners would disgree with your last point
I still say... the world is not always fair
My point exactly. Then the PRs / foreigners should take up citizenship... serve NS etc. Some find each rule fair, some find it unfair...
cherrygal:
wow, very interesting posts everyone... IMHO, everyone has a thing to say about the MOE's rules be they fair or unfair. It's fair if you were an old boy and got priority at 2A, and unfair if you never attended a good school that you are now eyeing. Blame your parents? It's fair if you were a born Catholic and got priority at Catholic schools, yet unfair that you are a born Catholic and still couldn't get into Cat High or St Nicks. PVs think they should get priority for clocking hours but what makes PVs think they are better than born Catholics or clansmen who practice the faith and values all their lives? Are PVs willing to take the plunge and believe in the religion or values of such schools? Then PVs/grassroots people would not need to volunteer at all since they would then join as church or clan members. If everyone starts complaining to the MOE and make them fed up, MOE will just have a Phase 2C for everyone and then the old boys, current students etc will cry foul. I still think the fairest rule the MOE has implemented so far is the 2 ballot slips for citizens.
interesting......
but then again... the PR/Foreigners would disgree with your last point
I still say... the world is not always fair
PR also need to serve NS :?
:? Realli? why they don't take up citizenship? -
i think what was meant is that PR parents did not serve NS and their children will only serve later...cherrygal:
My point exactly. Then the PRs / foreigners should take up citizenship... serve NS etc. Some find each rule fair, some find it unfair...

PR also need to serve NS :? -
cherrygal:
Hi cherrygal,LKVM:
PR also need to serve NS :?
:? Realli? why they don't take up citizenship?
I think they would like to hold on to their original citizenship as S'pore doesn't allow dual citizenship. Guess if they decide to go back for good, then they can still do so, win-win situation lor.
I know of 2 Malaysian PRs who worked here many years, accumulated their CPF then gave up their PR here. They went back to M'sia after withdrawing their CPF, so shiok!!! :boogie: -
cherrygal:
Phase 2B is for religious groups/PVs/grassroots...it is not fair to say that PVs should get more priority bcos they clocked up hours. This is the reason why these 3 groups fall under the same category...bcos they are equally important.
With the influx of foreigners, MOE has implemented the 2 ballot slips to help Singaporean kids get a better chance since govt has a foresight there will be more competition. I agree with you that this is a very fair rule that MOE has implemented, starting from this year. If PRs/foreigners find this unfair, by all means take up citizenship. -
All 3 groups are equally impt...that is why I said some PVs \"think\" they should get priority over church/clan/grassroots and some schools (eg. CHS) perpetuate that thinking by giving priority to PVs in the waiting list becoz they clocked hours... OK, end of this topic coz this thread is about balloting history... hehehehecherrygal:
Phase 2B is for religious groups/PVs/grassroots...it is not fair to say that PVs should get more priority bcos they clocked up hours. This is the reason why these 3 groups fall under the same category...bcos they are equally important.
With the influx of foreigners, MOE has implemented the 2 ballot slips to help Singaporean kids get a better chance since govt has a foresight there will be more competition. I agree with you that this is a very fair rule that MOE has implemented, starting from this year. If PRs/foreigners find this unfair, by all means take up citizenship.
Later Chief come and whack us. :nunchuk:
It is great that MOE gave us 2 ballot slips! My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel: -
cherrygal:
My ds got picked twice! (back to topic) :imanangel:
So lucky!! :congrats: :celebrate:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.