YOG in Singapore
the kids are suffering because they have to perform for the ceremonieswhY OrGy in Singapore
Still don't feel like an orgy.
The gahmen has spent more than $300 mil on this inaugural YOG.
It is coming soon.
My sense is muted interest from the general public.
Do you feel the excitement?
Please post interesting happenings and your comments here.
practices and practices ..... afternoon burnt, weekend burnt from 6.45am.....siao one -
kuzco:
Ds whose CCA is x-country, has been given ticket to attend the gymnastics event on a school day ... :gloomy:
Yeah, understand MOE bought 80,000 tickets thereabouts to be distributed to the schools.
80,000 kids + 160,000 :gloomy: parents?
Just support lah.
It's a PR thingy.
Hope the kids not too tired to smile on TV :lol: -
:!: your kids also in it?
the kids are suffering because they have to perform for the ceremonies
practices and practices ..... afternoon burnt, weekend burnt from 6.45am.....siao one
Take it as national service lah.
A little suffering is good for character building, yes?
Singapore will get some mileage out of this.
So far, worldwide coverage also looks restrained.
>$300 mil spent worth it?
Heard China is organising the next YOG. -
Its important for small countries like ours, who wish to continue to punch above our weight, to demonstrate that we can manage to host such events. It gives us publicity and raises profile internationally. As with many such events, the locals may feel uninvolved and disinterested. A few years ago when I ran the Chicago Marathon, many of the local citizens were unaware of the event and those that knew were almost universally skeptical of it, citing road closures and other inconveniences. Yet, undeniably, such an event of high repute, organised properly, gives a sheen of respectability and buzz to the host city, not to mention over 35,000+ visitors plying the hotels, restaurants and sights.
When I was in South Africa the 2nd week of July, during the semis of the WC, the pride that the ordinary man in the street was palpable. They feel its a coming of age for a young and troubled nation.
People and athletes from many nations will come, many for the first time to Singapore. These are folk who may be the movers and shakers of the future, leaders of their nations, who hopefully would have taken home a great impression of their hosts.
Can it be a pain? Yeah, been involved in NDP style rehearsals a few times in my life and its Saturdays on end burnt, but I have never felt that it was not worth the while.
I for one, am chuffed by this. If work schedule allows, I’ll be taking my boys to watch some of the events. I’d urge us all to put aside petty gripes for just a week, put down some of the cynicism and really get behind the young Olympians from home and abroad, for whom this is THE EVENT so far in their young lives and give them something to remember. -
not to mention over 35,000+ visitors plying the hotels, restaurants and sights.
Well, it didn't pan out that way after all the hype and buzz for the World Summit held at Suntec a few years ago. The tourist dollars didn't roll in.3Boys:
That was some party huh? :celebrate:When I was in South Africa the 2nd week of July, during the semis of the WC, the pride that the ordinary man in the street was palpable.
These people know how to party.
We Asians just don't have that groove yet.3Boys:
I for one, am chuffed by this. If work schedule allows, I'll be taking my boys to watch some of the events. I'd urge us all to put aside petty gripes for just a week, put down some of the cynicism and really get behind the young Olympians from home and abroad, for whom this is THE EVENT so far in their young lives and give them something to remember.
http://www.postimage.org/http://www.postimage.org/
:celebrate: -
Thanks Way2Go. :celebrate:3Boys:
not to mention over 35,000+ visitors plying the hotels, restaurants and sights.
Well, it didn't pan out that way after all the hype and buzz for the World Summit held at Suntec a few years ago. The tourist dollars didn't roll in.3Boys:
That was some party huh? :celebrate:When I was in South Africa the 2nd week of July, during the semis of the WC, the pride that the ordinary man in the street was palpable.
These people know how to party.
We Asians just don't have that groove yet.3Boys:
I for one, am chuffed by this. If work schedule allows, I'll be taking my boys to watch some of the events. I'd urge us all to put aside petty gripes for just a week, put down some of the cynicism and really get behind the young Olympians from home and abroad, for whom this is THE EVENT so far in their young lives and give them something to remember.
http://www.postimage.org/http://www.postimage.org/
Yeah sometimes things work and sometimes they don't, but the only way to never fail is never to try anything new in the first place. We are pretty critical of our bureaucrats for being square cut and boxed-in, once in a while if they do something different, we ought to give them a little space. -
they have been through so many performances and competitions, pity them when you see them too tired to get up in the morning for school
:!: your kids also in it?verykiasu2010:
the kids are suffering because they have to perform for the ceremonies
practices and practices ..... afternoon burnt, weekend burnt from 6.45am.....siao one
Take it as national service lah.
A little suffering is good for character building, yes?
Singapore will get some mileage out of this.
So far, worldwide coverage also looks restrained.
>$300 mil spent worth it?
Heard China is organising the next YOG.
Nanjing is doing the next YOG -
I find the recent TV advertisement showing kids asking their parents to bring them to watch YOG / parents saying they will bring their kids to watch YOG very very HARD SELL.
Is the ticket sale so bad?
And why start give way to YOG vehicles from today? Give way also must rehearse meh? -
My child’s contribution to YOG is writing an article about it to create awareness in SG children of the event.
cascada:
You say leh?I find the recent TV advertisement showing kids asking their parents to bring them to watch YOG / parents saying they will bring their kids to watch YOG very very HARD SELL.
Is the ticket sale so bad?
~80,000 tickets were distributed to schools.
GLCs and stat boards employees will probably be given tickets to attend if sales remain poor.
YOG is advertisement for Singapore but it is not connecting with the general public....yet!
Singapore won't look good on TV as host of inaugural YOG if spectators stands are empty.
cascada:
Sure, because many Singaporeans are still an ungracious lot.:PGive way also must rehearse meh?
You see how motorists don't even give way to ambulances with their sirens blaring?
The driver could be abusing the rule and rushing to lunch but it could more likely be someone having a medical emergency and need to get to the hospital fast.cascada:
These signs and banners are all over the roads with the five Olympic ringsAnd why start give way to YOG vehicles from today?
GIVE WAY
Is this a command or a request? :lol:
Who put up the signs - MYCS? LTA? TP? SNOC?
In asking the citizenry to be gracious, shouldn't the authoritative buffon(s) also be gracious in asking?
A 'please' would be nice and would go a long way.
Please GIVE WAY
Is that so difficult or is that going to bust the budget by another 1/2 mil$$ :moneyflies: ?
Is it a bookable traffic offence if you don't give way?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.