All About Active Community Leaders

3.3k Posts 266 Posters 1.2m Views 1 Watching
      i3mum

Hi timtim,

thanks, that will make me more rest assured!

timtim:
      Dun worry, no diff. 1 star or 4, as long as your're a EM/GRL, you will get the letter for 2B. But you need to be an EM for at least a year. If not, you will need to go to MP to seek special waiver (I know of cases) if he knows you thru the many activities or thru chairman's recommendation. The chairman must also do his best to get MP to know the members. My ex-chairman was great, always put us infront of MP and I thanked him a lot till now.

As long as you're already a EM (or what people call GRL), you will be one unless you sleep throughout. RC can recommend PA to strike off the membership. I have did that/recommended to PA to remove many sleeping observers and members.

i3mum

I also understand that we can choose up to 3 preferred schools right? Will they reject us. for eg, if many GRLs choose the same particular school?

coolparent:

Yes it is from my own experience. Generally you are`able to serve at any GRCs in Singapore but only at Citizen Consultative Comm (CCC ) and Community Club Management Comm (CCMC ) levels. If Resident Comm (RC), only residents within the constituency can serve in RCs. For CCMC and CCC executive members, if you happen to reside in another GRC, you are able register at 2B phase within the GRC you serve or the GRC you reside. In fact during the registration exercise, the Schools will have a list of all qualified GRLs who have received the 2B letters. In this list, there are quite a number of GRLs who stays outside the GRC. However I do agree with you privilages such as free parking etc will only be for GRC you serve.

Daddy D

timtim:
          New Kiasu Parent:

From 1 star RC to 4 Stars RC, any diffference in getting the letter for 2B? This morning, my Chairman told me I will receive my letter soon..some delay in process..However, he said my letter of appointment is dated June.. Finally, I can see some light... šŸ˜„ Can I be an \"active community leader\" just by attending monthly meetings only? šŸ˜›

Hi, what appt you referring to? EM? Min. we expect attendance at mthly mtg for EM. For observers, we expect more. He/she needs to be proactive and participate/help out at least RC events. Then we'll consider put him up for EM after 3 months (min.). We have observers who attend mtg on and off and never help out, still remain observers after 1 yr!

Pretty ironic though... as some of the EMs (Even for Office Bearers) are less active (doing less work) as compared to some Observers... and in turn when the Observer become EM... he/she will also become less active.
          Except for a few \"old birds\" who are the pillars of the RC/CC/etc...

b2b3m4

Daddy 😧
            timtim:

[quote=\"New Kiasu Parent\"]From 1 star RC to 4 Stars RC, any diffference in getting the letter for 2B? This morning, my Chairman told me I will receive my letter soon..some delay in process..However, he said my letter of appointment is dated June.. Finally, I can see some light... šŸ˜„ Can I be an \"active community leader\" just by attending monthly meetings only? šŸ˜›

Hi, what appt you referring to? EM? Min. we expect attendance at mthly mtg for EM. For observers, we expect more. He/she needs to be proactive and participate/help out at least RC events. Then we'll consider put him up for EM after 3 months (min.). We have observers who attend mtg on and off and never help out, still remain observers after 1 yr!

Pretty ironic though... as some of the EMs (Even for Office Bearers) are less active (doing less work) as compared to some Observers... and in turn when the Observer become EM... he/she will also become less active.
            Except for a few \"old birds\" who are the pillars of the RC/CC/etc...[/quote]It is not ironic at all. Observers attend meeting and help out in organizing activities. EM like treasurer, secretary, vice-chair attends audits at PAs, represent the zone RC in meetings, courses, typing minutes, sending e mails, banking money, man RCs (booking for BBQ pits, facilities etc)....
            Just last week alone, hubby went to PA twice for financial audit, 1 to RC for handing over and last SUnday to Buona Vista for course.

jenybc

timtim:
              New Kiasu Parent:

From 1 star RC to 4 Stars RC, any diffference in getting the letter for 2B? This morning, my Chairman told me I will receive my letter soon..some delay in process..However, he said my letter of appointment is dated June.. Finally, I can see some light... šŸ˜„ Can I be an \"active community leader\" just by attending monthly meetings only? šŸ˜›

Agreed or being ask to go (observers) after 1 yr.

timtim

Dun quite get it. You mean register at 3 schools in phase 2B? Dun think so, GRL only qualify for 2B, the rest same as any other people. Who told you this?

i3mum:
                I also understand that we can choose up to 3 preferred schools right? Will they reject us. for eg, if many GRLs choose the same particular school?
                coolparent:

Yes it is from my own experience. Generally you are`able to serve at any GRCs in Singapore but only at Citizen Consultative Comm (CCC ) and Community Club Management Comm (CCMC ) levels. If Resident Comm (RC), only residents within the constituency can serve in RCs. For CCMC and CCC executive members, if you happen to reside in another GRC, you are able register at 2B phase within the GRC you serve or the GRC you reside. In fact during the registration exercise, the Schools will have a list of all qualified GRLs who have received the 2B letters. In this list, there are quite a number of GRLs who stays outside the GRC. However I do agree with you privilages such as free parking etc will only be for GRC you serve.

i3mum

I heard from another GRL. No I dont mean to register 3 schools, but get to put our 3 preferred schools after getting the letter, then the PA will let us know if it is approved. Is it true?

timtim:
                  Dun quite get it. You mean register at 3 schools in phase 2B? Dun think so, GRL only qualify for 2B, the rest same as any other people. Who told you this?

b2b3m4

i3mum:
                    I heard from another GRL. No I dont mean to register 3 schools, but get to put our 3 preferred schools after getting the letter, then the PA will let us know if it is approved. Is it true?
                    timtim:

Nope, u get ONE letter. U take this letter on phase 2b day to register in which ever primary school u are interested in under the GRC or constituency u volunteered in. Of which u get the same treatment as per other phase 2b applicants eg. clans, PV or religion.

i3mum

hi b2b3m4,

Ok now I understand šŸ™‚ I was also confused too. Do you think the schools will actually \"reserved\" some slots for GRL? For eg, they estimate the 2B phase to have about 50 vacancies, then they only intake 40 PVs, then 10 for GRL?

b2b3m4:
                      i3mum:

I heard from another GRL. No I dont mean to register 3 schools, but get to put our 3 preferred schools after getting the letter, then the PA will let us know if it is approved. Is it true? [quote=\"timtim\"]Dun quite get it. You mean register at 3 schools in phase 2B? Dun think so, GRL only qualify for 2B, the rest same as any other people. Who told you this?

Nope, u get ONE letter. U take this letter on phase 2b day to register in which ever primary school u are interested in under the GRC or constituency u volunteered in. Of which u get the same treatment as per other phase 2b applicants eg. clans, PV or religion.[/quote]

Daddy D

b2b3m4:

It is not ironic at all. Observers attend meeting and help out in organizing activities. EM like treasurer, secretary, vice-chair attends audits at PAs, represent the zone RC in meetings, courses, typing minutes, sending e mails, banking money, man RCs (booking for BBQ pits, facilities etc)....
                        Just last week alone, hubby went to PA twice for financial audit, 1 to RC for handing over and last SUnday to Buona Vista for course.
                        Orhh... either your hubby very on-the-ball kind... or he kena arrowed cos' he's the Treasurer šŸ™‚
                        Other than that... most tasks u mentioned above are pretty mundane ones... I feel the hardwork are those kinds that require alot of \"leg work\"... sadly, which most GRLs would avoid doing. šŸ™‚

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 42 / 330