All About Active Community Leaders

3.3k Posts 266 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      i3mum

Ok understood. Just have to depend on luck too

b2b3m4:
      Nope, no segregation, the only thing that gets segregated is distance of home address to school. If u look how SHHK issued their members priority, u can tell that they can't control much, as much as they wish. Schools like Tao Nan, ATS and NCPS still burst at the seams at phase 2b.

Daddy D

timtim:
        Dun worry, no diff. 1 star or 4, as long as your're a EM/GRL, you will get the letter for 2B. But you need to be an EM for at least a year. If not, you will need to go to MP to seek special waiver (I know of cases) if he knows you thru the many activities or thru chairman's recommendation. The chairman must also do his best to get MP to know the members. My ex-chairman was great, always put us infront of MP and I thanked him a lot till now.

As long as you're already a EM (or what people call GRL), you will be one unless you sleep throughout. RC can recommend PA to strike off the membership. I have did that/recommended to PA to remove many sleeping observers and members.
        Really can appeal one ah? I remember some1 in forum said not possible. Or depending how \"powerful/active\" your RC or Chairman is?
        I think some (if not most) GRL would want to \"move on\" after their kids get into Pri1... or have other commitments... but RC/PA don't have a option for \"resignation\" even after your Term is up... and this deprived new Observers a chance to get in... and to \"remove\" the EM/GRL... sounds quite negative. šŸ™‚

timtim

Daddy 😧
          timtim:

Dun worry, no diff. 1 star or 4, as long as your're a EM/GRL, you will get the letter for 2B. But you need to be an EM for at least a year. If not, you will need to go to MP to seek special waiver (I know of cases) if he knows you thru the many activities or thru chairman's recommendation. The chairman must also do his best to get MP to know the members. My ex-chairman was great, always put us infront of MP and I thanked him a lot till now.

As long as you're already a EM (or what people call GRL), you will be one unless you sleep throughout. RC can recommend PA to strike off the membership. I have did that/recommended to PA to remove many sleeping observers and members.

Really can appeal one ah? I remember some1 in forum said not possible. Or depending how \"powerful/active\" your RC or Chairman is?
          I think some (if not most) GRL would want to \"move on\" after their kids get into Pri1... or have other commitments... but RC/PA don't have a option for \"resignation\" even after your Term is up... and this deprived new Observers a chance to get in... and to \"remove\" the EM/GRL... sounds quite negative. šŸ™‚

I can only say special cases (requesting to MP and granted the letter) existed. It's not true that EM/GRL can't resign, you can and RC/PA had received and processed such requests. \"Remove\" are for cases whereby these people join RC for a very simple reason, to get their kid into P1 under P2B, but not knowing what they are expected of as an observer or EM. They will not be able to commit (but still not resigning) and hence we have to proactively remove them to make way for people who genuinely wants to serve the community (RC size is limited at 30 EMs). So pls don't get me wrong (sorry if I create that impression).

I have seen people come for once and never turn up anymore. Hence, I always advocate a proper interview be done prior to the \"resident\" joining the RC so both parties are clear of what to expect. If he/she can't commit the minimum, then it's obvious he/she is not suitable. But on principle, we don't usually turn away people (open door policy).

Daddy D

timtim:

I can only say special cases (requesting to MP and granted the letter) existed. It's not true that EM/GRL can't resign, you can and RC/PA had received and processed such requests. \"Remove\" are for cases whereby these people join RC for a very simple reason, to get their kid into P1 under P2B, but not knowing what they are expected of as an observer or EM. They will not be able to commit (but still not resigning) and hence we have to proactively remove them to make way for people who genuinely wants to serve the community (RC size is limited at 30 EMs). So pls don't get me wrong (sorry if I create that impression).

I have seen people come for once and never turn up anymore. Hence, I always advocate a proper interview be done prior to the \"resident\" joining the RC so both parties are clear of what to expect. If he/she can't commit the minimum, then it's obvious he/she is not suitable. But on principle, we don't usually turn away people (open door policy).
            OIC... thanks for clarifying.
            I have a feeling there will be more \"inactive\" existing GRLs with the GE coming... and more work for the new GRLs šŸ™‚

coolparent

i3mum:
              I also understand that we can choose up to 3 preferred schools right? Will they reject us. for eg, if many GRLs choose the same particular school?
              coolparent:

Yes it is from my own experience. Generally you are`able to serve at any GRCs in Singapore but only at Citizen Consultative Comm (CCC ) and Community Club Management Comm (CCMC ) levels. If Resident Comm (RC), only residents within the constituency can serve in RCs. For CCMC and CCC executive members, if you happen to reside in another GRC, you are able register at 2B phase within the GRC you serve or the GRC you reside. In fact during the registration exercise, the Schools will have a list of all qualified GRLs who have received the 2B letters. In this list, there are quite a number of GRLs who stays outside the GRC. However I do agree with you privilages such as free parking etc will only be for GRC you serve.

As far as I know you can choose any schools within the qualified GRC(s) but at any one time you can only register in one school. Like any stages of the registration exercise, higher number of registrations means higher chance of balotting (and lower odds in case of balotting).

caracarn8

b2b3m4:

And by the way, if u read the phase 2b letter issued to u by PA. Not only do one need to be a EM for 1 year to qualify for phase 2b, PA also expects one to continue to serve actively after the registration. Phase 2b thru GRL is tough work.

To add on, if this even crossed your mind, (well, it did for me). If u think yours is a GRC and there's a really good school which u are interested in but out of the 2km. Moving closer to school does not improve your chances, bcos it will invalid your phase 2b status. If phase 2b is obtained thru RC, it is tagged on to your address and therefore zone. Changing home address will therefore kick one out of phase 2b.
                Dear b2b3m4 and other interested parties,

Does the above scenario applies to NC? Most divisions are served by 1 NC. Does this means that one can move within the division geographical area covered by a certain NC and still keep his Phase 2B status valid?

E.g In Ulu Pandan division under Holland-Bukit Timah GRC, one can serve in its NC, which is Farrer Holland NC.

Now Farrer Holland NC covers Tulip Garden, which is not within 1km of NYPS. After receiving the Phase 2B status, can the EM not move within 1km if NYPS, still under the same NC and has his Phase 2B status intact?

And what about moving from one division to another division within the same GRC?

E.g. Moving from Bukit Timah division to Ulu Pandan division (both are under Holland-Bukit Timah GRC) after attaining Phase 2B status (under Bukit Timah division) to be within 1km of NYPS (under Ulu Pandan division).

Thank you in advance for your replies. ; )

Cara :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate: :!: :? :? :? :?

pirahna

Daddy 😧
                  b2b3m4:

It is not ironic at all. Observers attend meeting and help out in organizing activities. EM like treasurer, secretary, vice-chair attends audits at PAs, represent the zone RC in meetings, courses, typing minutes, sending e mails, banking money, man RCs (booking for BBQ pits, facilities etc)....
                  Just last week alone, hubby went to PA twice for financial audit, 1 to RC for handing over and last SUnday to Buona Vista for course.

Orhh... either your hubby very on-the-ball kind... or he kena arrowed cos' he's the Treasurer šŸ™‚
                  Other than that... most tasks u mentioned above are pretty mundane ones... I feel the hardwork are those kinds that require alot of \"leg work\"... sadly, which most GRLs would avoid doing. šŸ™‚

In the committee I am in , I have to organise activities for the residents to participate. Really enjoy grassroots work. I treat it as giving back to society.

Daddy D

pirahna:

In the committee I am in , I have to organise activities for the residents to participate. Really enjoy grassroots work. I treat it as giving back to society.
                    Orh... noted. U happy can liao.
                    :celebrate: :celebrate: :celebrate:

marudine

Daddy 😧
                      pirahna:

I agreed with pirahna .. I do enjoyed participating in grassroots activities and helping out the needy. We may be the fortunate group, but there are many people that requires our help, and the grassroots is a good platform that brings the people closer and close up the gap.

And in addition, you can also set a good example to your children and let them understand the spirit of sharing. For once my elder son (6 yrs old then) told the younger one .. \"Don't disturb Daddy, he is going out to help people ...\" I was so touched and happy

littlewoman

marudine:
                        Daddy 😧

[quote=\"pirahna\"]

I agreed with pirahna .. I do enjoyed participating in grassroots activities and helping out the needy. We may be the fortunate group, but there are many people that requires our help, and the grassroots is a good platform that brings the people closer and close up the gap.

And in addition, you can also set a good example to your children and let them understand the spirit of sharing. For once my elder son (6 yrs old then) told the younger one .. \"Don't disturb Daddy, he is going out to help people ...\" I was so touched and happy[/quote]Wow..you guys put me to shame..hmm, I must start to think more about the community I live in too..not be too self-centered..thanks for the sharing.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 43 / 330