Any parents here ever felt pressurized by others?

212 Posts 54 Posters 63.6k Views 1 Watching
      jtoh

[quote=\"jtoh\"]
      Yes, exactly.

I think it is quite naive of her to think that competition can be removed by her own single efforts alone? unless she has amazingly big network, even then, she will get a bad sorethroat from talking so much.... :rotflmao:

yalor yalor. In PSLE, our kids are not competing with our neighbours. Our kids are competing at the national level. Further down the road at 'O'/'A' or Uni, they'll be competing globally (once all the overseas scholars comes in).

If parents can have this mindset, then they won't need to be so kiasu towards personal friends.[/quote]True. But narrow-minded people like this parent don't have a global view.

PowerPuff Mum

[quote=\"verykiasu2010

power puff mum (grown up from PPG) can still do wonders in Townsville ..... lol
        always wary of people who try so hard to \"advise\" you......[/quote]

hahahaha! :rotflmao:

cantbearit2

I agree with you about there being hypocrites among us and people misleading others with misinformation.

This mother I knew went around telling everyone how wonderful a school Nanyang Girls High, that it was so much better than RGS, that her dd was going to apply DSA for Nanyang only... She went around telling everyone that, encouraging everyone to apply for Nanyang over RGS. Turns out her dd didn't apply for Nanyang at all. Her dd applied only for RGS. It was her plan to remove competiton from RGS for her dd. Of course she overestimated her ability to influence the decisions of others.

She tried the same ploy again in selecting a Third Language. She went around telling everyone that it was VERY difficult to get into Japanese and if your child wanted to do a third language, it was better to opt for German. Never mind if the child was interested in German or not. It was just prestigious to do a third language. So she went around telling everyone not to apply for Japanese. Of course her dd, Isabella, applied for Japanese.

Sigh! What's wrong with these people? And do they think that other people can't see what they're doing?
          That is really scary!!!! :scared:

Luckily I have not met such parents. So far, all the parents are quite supportive and gave me geniune advice. They are also not shy to admit their reasons for choosing one sch over another. eg. academic results

well, you have the following types of kiasu parents :

1. bo chap - simply don’t care

2. vain pot - appearance is of paramount importance

3. snob / show off - see, i have …(fill the blanks) and u don’t have (unspoken)

4. scheming 阴险 - say one thing and do another thing, entice the tiger to leave the mountain

5. super kaypoh - everything also want to know

6. super b1tchy - express gossipers

7. super worrier - sigh every minute and say 'cham, die liao, how, how, how …???)

8. super warrior - cheong ah!

9. super advisor : everything must tell you what you must and must not do

any more ?

and you are pressurised by which type ?

sleepy

1. bo chap - simply don't care

3. snob / show off - see, i have .....(fill the blanks) and u don't have (unspoken)

4. scheming 阴险 - say one thing and do another thing, entice the tiger to leave the mountain

7. super worrier - sigh every minute and say 'cham, die liao, how, how, how ....???)

any more ?

I will stay away from type 4, 5 & 6, very stressful talking to them I suppose

Brenda10

3. snob / show off - see, i have .....(fill the blanks) and u don't have (unspoken)

7. super worrier - sigh every minute and say 'cham, die liao, how, how, how ....???)

any more ?

New 百科全书

• MMMM Offline
                  MMM

cantbearit2:

I agree with you about there being hypocrites among us and people misleading others with misinformation.

This mother I knew went around telling everyone how wonderful a school Nanyang Girls High, that it was so much better than RGS, that her dd was going to apply DSA for Nanyang only... She went around telling everyone that, encouraging everyone to apply for Nanyang over RGS. Turns out her dd didn't apply for Nanyang at all. Her dd applied only for RGS. It was her plan to remove competiton from RGS for her dd. Of course she overestimated her ability to influence the decisions of others.

She tried the same ploy again in selecting a Third Language. She went around telling everyone that it was VERY difficult to get into Japanese and if your child wanted to do a third language, it was better to opt for German. Never mind if the child was interested in German or not. It was just prestigious to do a third language. So she went around telling everyone not to apply for Japanese. Of course her dd, Isabella, applied for Japanese.

Sigh! What's wrong with these people? And do they think that other people can't see what they're doing?

That is really scary!!!! :scared:

Luckily I have not met such parents. So far, all the parents are quite supportive and gave me geniune advice. They are also not shy to admit their reasons for choosing one sch over another. eg. academic results

This person do it too obvious... So LAME. :spank: Steer clear of her and don't talk to her too much.

snowz

Brenda10:

any more ?

New 百科全书

kiasuparents 百科全书 :lol:.

Brenda10

snowz:
                      Brenda10:

[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]well, you have the following types of kiasu parents :

any more ?

New 百科全书

kiasuparents 百科全书 :lol:.[/quote]Yes. You're right and this is the new generation of .降龙十八掌 but yet to find another 9 掌 :celebrate:

kiddo

powerpuffmum:

I know of people who would even mislead u with information just so that you don't get a headstart..very ugly indeed.

At the end of the day, we do our best to impart the right values that they will carry with them the rest of their lives and support them in whatever they do. To me, it is about giving it their personal best. We are just facilitators to make sure they are on the right track. Now if you've done all that..CHILL! We, parents need a break too every one in a while. :lol:

Wah this type of people also have ahhhh....... :? need to :spank: :spank: :spank:

totally agree Imparting values is more important than marks :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 20 / 22