How old were you when you had your first child?
autumn82:
I had my 1st kid when I was 22, 2nd kid when I was 26.. Now waiting for them to grow up fast!

I opposite. Dun want them to grow up so fast. Like that then I won't grow old so fast oso mah. -
stayhome:
I had my first baby at 25 and 2nd one at 27. I had read that best time for women to have baby was between 25 to 29, can't remember the exact figure, it was so long ago that when I plan to have my baby. It was good for both mum and baby, mum recover fast and baby will be more heathlier...

I had my first one at 28, then 2nd one at 32. After that, close factory. Cannot bear to think of #3 with everything getting so expensive and education being so stressful. It's better to have kids young like Funz, when you are in your 40s, the kids are already so big. GOOD GOOD. -
Umm... no lah. I did not have kids when I was young. In fact, I was still partying away when you had your first kid. I had my 1st on only when I was 31 and 2nd one at 33. Hoping for a 3rd one at 35 then close shop but until now still no sight of #3.stayhome:
I had my first baby at 25 and 2nd one at 27. I had read that best time for women to have baby was between 25 to 29, can't remember the exact figure, it was so long ago that when I plan to have my baby. It was good for both mum and baby, mum recover fast and baby will be more heathlier...

I had my first one at 28, then 2nd one at 32. After that, close factory. Cannot bear to think of #3 with everything getting so expensive and education being so stressful. It's better to have kids young like Funz, when you are in your 40s, the kids are already so big. GOOD GOOD. -
Sorry, forgot my 3rd kid. He came unexpectedly when I was 35. I guess the god wants to give him to us. I had a very very bad pregnancy, all the discomfort happened on me. Luckily he born healthly. Now, with my older kids grown up, he is the one occupy me. Second though, with kid later also good.

I speak for my wife here....
1st pregnancy when my wife was 30 ended in a miscarriage
My 1stDD was born when my wife was 32
DS when my wife was 34; and
2nd DD @ 39 ...about 2 months ago!
I suppose that pregnancies for older women are bound to have some difficulties.
My wife was warded from week 31-35 for some bleeding. There went my tax rebate for next year
Thankfully, 2DD came at 37.5 wks (normal pregnancy) and considering what the DW went through, healthy. Praise the lord.
Many friends ask if thats it. I always say that because we are catholics, no contraception. And with NFP, anything can happen!!
I guess thats why I signed up for the marathon at the end of the year!
Gecko -
I have 3 kids, 6 years old, 4 years old and 18 mths old.
Had my 3rd child even with IUD - which is supposedly 99.9% effective. Amazing isn’t it? -
I had my first kid at 30. My mum had her first at 25.
I think the relationship between a parent and her kid depends on many factors and the effort the parent puts in in raising her child. A ‘closer’ generation gap does not mean anything, in my humble opinion. -
Times have changed…many women now are going for career even when married and then have kids.
I had my first child at 28 right after getting married the year b4…didn’t want to ‘test’ my biological clock and regret later.
Had my 2nd one at 32 and CLOSED FACTORY bcos we couldn’t afford any more energy and time for more kids.
First one born with cleft lip/palate and the number of times going to see this and that doctor made us (ESPECIALLY me) scared of having another one. So when I had #2, gender did not matter to me at all. During the detailed scan at 5 months, the sonographer did a very detailed scanning and even called in her supervisor for confirmation. Even though scan was perfect, I still worried another 4 months until her birth. -
Kudos to you janet_lee88, for being a strong and loving Mom :celebrate:Times have changed...many women now are going for career even when married and then have kids.
I had my first child at 28 right after getting married the year b4...didn't want to 'test' my biological clock and regret later.
Had my 2nd one at 32 and CLOSED FACTORY bcos we couldn't afford any more energy and time for more kids.
First one born with cleft lip/palate and the number of times going to see this and that doctor made us (ESPECIALLY me) scared of having another one. So when I had #2, gender did not matter to me at all. During the detailed scan at 5 months, the sonographer did a very detailed scanning and even called in her supervisor for confirmation. Even though scan was perfect, I still worried another 4 months until her birth. -
duriz:
I guess all mothers here will do the same
Kudos to you janet_lee88, for being a strong and loving Mom :celebrate:janet_lee88:
Times have changed...many women now are going for career even when married and then have kids.
I had my first child at 28 right after getting married the year b4...didn't want to 'test' my biological clock and regret later.
Had my 2nd one at 32 and CLOSED FACTORY bcos we couldn't afford any more energy and time for more kids.
First one born with cleft lip/palate and the number of times going to see this and that doctor made us (ESPECIALLY me) scared of having another one. So when I had #2, gender did not matter to me at all. During the detailed scan at 5 months, the sonographer did a very detailed scanning and even called in her supervisor for confirmation. Even though scan was perfect, I still worried another 4 months until her birth.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.