7 New IP schools
wonderm:
'Buying a place' is not politically correct speak.
I have also heard that $$ can buy places in one of the top boy's schools. But not sure if it is true.verykiasu2010:
the few fish in the pocket is in a different context lah....lower COP for \"IPO\" schools .....sth lidat
'Contributing for mutual benefit' is better phraseology. :lol:
We r opening a can of worms here.
Let's keep d lid on, okie.
Those in it will not cfm to those outside of it,
just know dat it happens.
'Buying a place' is not politically correct speak.
I have also heard that $$ can buy places in one of the top boy's schools. But not sure if it is true.wonderm:
[quote=\"verykiasu2010\"]
the few fish in the pocket is in a different context lah....lower COP for \"IPO\" schools .....sth lidat
'Contributing for mutual benefit' is better phraseology. :lol:
We r opening a can of worms here.
Let's keep d lid on, okie.
Those in it will not cfm to those outside of it,
just know dat it happens.
[/quote]Way2Go, thanks for putting it in more \"correctly\". Agree such things can never be proved either way and should just leave it.
Dis is good advice fr KV2010, frens
how to buy huh ? don't any how say hor !! it is a serious allegation of corruption if you know what it means, unless you got evidence and proofwonderm:
I have also heard that $$ can buy places in one of the top boy's schools. But not sure if it is true.
Casual talk in open forum also cannot anyhow speculate hor.
Dis type of allegation can really kena haul to court wan hor or
get invited to lim kopi at Cantonment Rd. :lol: -
dunnoleh:
i was referring to those places reserved for dsa.…besides this, there is dsa, where every wholesaler also keeps a few fishes in his pocket ….
i have no knowledge about places reserved for the super rich, got such thing meh? :roll:...These r for common folks lah.
u really think those super rich or super power has no such privilege if
they can more or less justify it?
Remember a fellow forummer said 'keep a few fish in d pocket'?

dunnoleh:
I know u were referring to dsa in ur eg.
i was referring to those places reserved for dsa.Way2GO:
These r for common folks lah.
u really think those super rich or super power has no such privilege if
they can more or less justify it?
Remember a fellow forummer said 'keep a few fish in d pocket'?

dunnoleh:
i have no knowledge about places reserved for the super rich, got such thing meh? :roll:…besides this, there is dsa, where every wholesaler also keeps a few fishes in his pocket ….
I was using ur eg as an allegory.
To ur question,
I don't speculate on such things.
Let’s not talk about how the rich can manouvre its way to good schs. Rich parents also want to hve intelligent kids with good character upbringing.
Most importantly is to pray for all your loved ones be enrolled into any of the IP sch.Anyone will do. That’s a blessing every rich parents pray for. -
I personally do not envy the rich. I only pray for my kids to do well academically and be a blessing to others. More than enough to spend and help others is more than enough. Of course being rich is great, but putting all efforts to be rich at the expense of your kids is a no no for me.
zeemimi:
Cedar was a natural IP-candidate for Victoria 'cos almost like 3/4 of the girls go to VJC each year. And these IP ppl came to Cedar ytd and told them Cedar naughty girl, so must marry her to Victoria. :rotflmao:
you are right in a way ... BUT Cedar's standard is good especially if u consider their COP isnt very high... yet no one doing O levels can beat them in L1R5...in terms of consistency.... and Victoria has good name and tradition by VS / VJCtanbh:
[quote=\"kiaaik\"]reading today's ST report made me feel that Cedar is very lucky....VS brother (VJC) said VS must get a galfren...so VS went to woo Cedar...
Cedar accepted proposal, it is like kena Toto without even buying it..
another possible candidate for VS is TKGS, but i think that was earlier era during 60s-70s era when many TKGS gals went to VS pre U...but i guess most Victorian old boys current batches from 80s onwards would prefer to partner and galfren Cedar... VS was quite near Cedar in the previous site and the unofficial bro-sis school status between VS - Cedar had been quite long already.
So i wonder if the current Cedar girls now get 2 bonus pts to get into VJC after their O lvls?[/quote]From VJC Website - http://www.vjc.moe.edu.sg/website/expansion-of-the-integrated-programme.html
Expansion of the Integrated Programme
9-3-2010
As announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Dr Ng Eng Heng, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence, Victoria Junior College is pleased to partner Victoria School and Cedar Girls' Secondary School from 2012 onwards in offering its Integrated Programme.
VJC will continue recruiting Secondary 2 students next year for the Class of 2012. Hence, current Secondary 1 students are not affected by the changes. Students who have been selected for admission into the VIP's Class of 2011 are also not affected by the changes. -
happymum8:
From VJC Website - http://www.vjc.moe.edu.sg/website/expansion-of-the-integrated-programme.html
Cedar was a natural IP-candidate for Victoria 'cos almost like 3/4 of the girls go to VJC each year. And these IP ppl came to Cedar ytd and told them Cedar naughty girl, so must marry her to Victoria. :rotflmao:zeemimi:
[quote=\"tanbh\"]
you are right in a way ... BUT Cedar's standard is good especially if u consider their COP isnt very high... yet no one doing O levels can beat them in L1R5...in terms of consistency.... and Victoria has good name and tradition by VS / VJC
another possible candidate for VS is TKGS, but i think that was earlier era during 60s-70s era when many TKGS gals went to VS pre U...but i guess most Victorian old boys current batches from 80s onwards would prefer to partner and galfren Cedar... VS was quite near Cedar in the previous site and the unofficial bro-sis school status between VS - Cedar had been quite long already.
So i wonder if the current Cedar girls now get 2 bonus pts to get into VJC after their O lvls?
Expansion of the Integrated Programme
9-3-2010
As announced by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and Dr Ng Eng Heng, Minister for Education and Second Minister for Defence, Victoria Junior College is pleased to partner Victoria School and Cedar Girls' Secondary School from 2012 onwards in offering its Integrated Programme.
VJC will continue recruiting Secondary 2 students next year for the Class of 2012. Hence, current Secondary 1 students are not affected by the changes. Students who have been selected for admission into the VIP's Class of 2011 are also not affected by the changes.[/quote]Seem like for 2013, they will only accept 50 boys n 50 gals from vs n cgs only. And after that, only Year 5 and 6 IP students. -
kiaaik:
in terms of whole cohort percentage...think njc has started their sec 1 intake[/quote]i dont know abt NJC since its not on my tracking 'radar'. TJC enrolmt for the JC yrs probably abt 800+ a yr. So that's 70 TA1/2 vs 800 JC1/2 a year. I would think the TA nrs would change by the time the Sec 1 intake starts in 2013.
Sorry in terms of what percentage?sporemum:
[quote=\"kiaaik\"]question here..
how will njc and tjc sec 1 intake like in terms of percentage?
do they have uniformed groups to join?
Anyway the TJC sec 1 will only start in 2013. Right now they have an IP pgm called Temasek Academy (TA) which takes in students from Sec 3 onwards. The intake is about 70. Currently TJC dont hv uniformed grps. Not sure if they will change when they take in Sec 1s in the future.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.