Travel: China - Beijing

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Holiday Ideas
    114 Posts 44 Posters 65.7k Views 1 Watching
      dunnoleh

Had Peking duck for most meals. Quanjude has many outlets, but in OUR (personal) view, the best duck is at 'Da dong' 大董 (3 outlets I think - 1 near Sanlitun, 1 near Dongshisitiao). Li qun has very nice duck and other dishes (and the atmosphere is very quaint, but it's a nightmare finding the place).

In terms of price, da dong is most ex but the presentation is simply wonderful and the ambience etc is extremely classy. everything we tried is good (even their sauteed vegs were good). Must try the sugar coated apple....out of this world; duck is super lean and the skin the crispiest we've tasted.
      you were at dongshisitiao? did you try the restaurant inside the hutong serving 私房菜? not too far inside, they serve fantastic food!
      I usually stay at the 四合院 deeper inside the hutong, just before the police station. its a lovely place.

dunnoleh:

Had Peking duck for most meals. Quanjude has many outlets, but in OUR (personal) view, the best duck is at 'Da dong' 大董 (3 outlets I think - 1 near Sanlitun, 1 near Dongshisitiao). Li qun has very nice duck and other dishes (and the atmosphere is very quaint, but it's a nightmare finding the place).

In terms of price, da dong is most ex but the presentation is simply wonderful and the ambience etc is extremely classy. everything we tried is good (even their sauteed vegs were good). Must try the sugar coated apple....out of this world; duck is super lean and the skin the crispiest we've tasted.

you were at dongshisitiao? did you try the restaurant inside the hutong serving 私房菜? not too far inside, they serve fantastic food!
        I usually stay at the 四合院 deeper inside the hutong, just before the police station. its a lovely place.

wow ! 中国通! would love to go back there .... did you all try the fried duck hearts ? quite nice !!...even though to people like me who dare not take any spare parts !

dunnoleh

.... did you all try the fried duck hearts ? quite nice !!...even though to people like me who dare not take any spare parts !
          oh ya, love those! but every time, dare not eat more than 2 small bites, so scared :stupid: :stupid: :stupid:

hquek

No, I dun dare to eat spare parts. Although for peking duck, they will chop the head in half. I understand that the brain tastes a bit like foie grais.

Anyone going there and wants to try the BEST, I heard from local that the best duck is now at Grand Hyatt - Made In China restaurant. Not sure what the price is, just heard it’s high.

I didn’t try the ‘si fang cai’, but I did go to Nanluoguxiang (near YongHe Gong) and tried this placed called "Drum and Gong/Bell". It’s a smallish place with a open air seating at the rooftop. Very nice chinese fusion food (got hubei, sichuan influences) - the chicken was fantastic (very tender, tastes almost like fish). Very importantly, that place was very cheap - 3-4 dishes plus soft drinks only RMB200+ (about price of 1 peking duck).

dunnoleh

No, I dun dare to eat spare parts. Although for peking duck, they will chop the head in half. I understand that the brain tastes a bit like foie grais.

Anyone going there and wants to try the BEST, I heard from local that the best duck is now at Grand Hyatt - Made In China restaurant. Not sure what the price is, just heard it's high.

I didn't try the 'si fang cai', but I did go to Nanluoguxiang (near YongHe Gong) and tried this placed called \"Drum and Gong/Bell\". It's a smallish place with a open air seating at the rooftop. Very nice chinese fusion food (got hubei, sichuan influences) - the chicken was fantastic (very tender, tastes almost like fish). Very importantly, that place was very cheap - 3-4 dishes plus soft drinks only RMB200+ (about price of 1 peking duck).
              ya, if can, better stay away fm all spare parts, no matter how tasty... 😞

had quite many roasted ducks in beijing. yes, a handful of famous ones still serving truly tasty roasted ducks, like grand hyatt. have not been to quanjude in beijing for a long time. (was at quanjude shanghai huaihaizhonglu recently, and it was surprisingly good!) but I only eat such things when on company expense, too expensive for my own pocket la.

yes, nanluoguxiang has good makan also, just be careful of the prices, like any place for 老外 to spend their money. another good makan place is 鬼街, but may not be convenient if you have young children with you. It comes alive after midnight, 满街都是鬼! 😉

北京通 or 中国通 out there, do they still have the 满汉全席 that charges Rmb 20k per pax to eat all the imperial dishes from morning to nite ?

dunnoleh

北京通 or 中国通 out there, do they still have the 满汉全席 that charges Rmb 20k per pax to eat all the imperial dishes from morning to nite ?
                  me neither 北京 nor 中国通. hv not tried the legendary 满汉全席 myself,

only heard about it at a time when i had neither the means nor the opportunity to try it.
                  but China being China, I'm sure you can have it arranged with enough $$$

• X Offline
                    xiaomei

Hi hi…Bringing my 12 years old boy and 9 years old girl to Beijing beg of Dec. My mil in her late sixties will be gg together also. Understand that the weather will be very cold and windy during winter time at Beijing. So abit worried for my girl and mil. Anyone been to Beijing in Dec ? Any advise ? Will it be too cold and windy to go to Great Wall of China ?

windows

it depends on which part of dec u are going as well. early dec is not as cold as mid-late dec. by mid dec, it wld be freezing cold and temp cld go zero degree celcius. my friend went to the great wall despite the low temperature. she was equipped with boots, 4 layers of clothing and heat pad. once you start walking up the wall, it feels better.

walking on the streets shd be tolerable if you have enough clothings. prepare moisturiser, esp for the kids.

Dec got snow liao, when you are landing at Beijing airport, can see many places white white liao

about going to the Wall -- PLEASE NOTE : the correct footwear is important because the stones you are walking on the Wall is so smooth that it is ABSOLUTELY easy to slip, slide, and fall; and certain portions on the wall has no hand rail...got to use fingers to hold on to the bare rock surfaces, especially when walking down (back) slope....

the last time I was there, witnessed some tourists fell and rolled and the cameras were smashed

as for clothing, please have warm clothing like a good cashmere or leather jacket, scarf for the face / ear is needed due to the winter wind -- biting cold, and hand gloves

other than that, it is nice to tour the Wall during winter

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 12