is it possible to make it without tuition

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Academic Learning & Enrichment
    121 Posts 24 Posters 34.5k Views 1 Watching
      NickleBee Tutors

atutor2001:

Hmm...current day kids have it easy for parents to coach. During our time, we find out everything and coach ourselves to gain admission. By uni, I hope I can let go and let her fend for herself. If not, if she does not work in a good company, she may think I do not coach her for the interview. Just my 2 cents on when I will let go....

I had the same thought when my eldest kid finished JC. However, only got to realise how competitive it is nowadays. There are easily over 600 pupils with perfect scores at A level. Countless with 4As 1B. For local favourites such as med faculty or law, they are taking only 260 and 200 per intake. How to squeeze in is a real art. Those kids with coaching definitely have an advantage. Kids, left on their own, must be really mature to make it on their own. Unfortunately, mind was not that mature in thoughts - only can study

For good overseas uni, it is even worse - good write-up and interview play a critical part in getting in (not results)

I went through the selection process for dentistry and was accepted into dentistry but that was way back in 2003. I had to serve NS first so i joined in 2005.

It was one of the most rigorous interview and selection process i had ever seen. They choose 30 plus people (during my time) out of 2000 over applicants.

And we had to go for 2 interviews, and 1 manual dexterity test. I think the medical side had an essay writing component too.

However it is a misconception that dentistry, medicine and law only accept straight As students. There were people with 3Bs and 1A or even straight Bs who managed to get into dentistry and medicine. The profs who conduct the interview are looking more for the X-factor that makes you stand out. And they do know that quite a lot of the applicants have undergone coaching so they get pretty \"sian\" when they keep hearing the same old answers to their questions like \"why did you choose dentistry?\" etc etc. I would advice to just be yourself and give honest and straightforward answers to their questions.

Anyway i went in Polo-T and jeans (i came straight from my army camp) for my interview and felt really out of place amongst all the suits and ties. I remember seeing one of the students sitting beside me mugging from a photostatted book of potential interview questions and answers.

When i went for the interview, i ended up arguing with one of the profs on why my CCA scores does not co-relate with how good a dentist i could be (i got a D7 for my 'A' level CCA score, but had over 300 hours of community service which i did on my own because i refused to join a club or sports. i was just so tired from my 4 years of NPCC in sec school for which i got an 'A2' for my 'O' level CCA score).

I also had the cheek to ask the profs \"what can dentistry do for me if i should enter, and why i should choose dentistry over other courses.\" and i remember being dissatisfied with their answer. After the interview i thought they would not accept me to join dentistry and i was so surprised when i received a letter of acceptance. And my mom merrily forced me to sign the letter of acceptance though i never wanted to be a dentist in the first place.

So i guess if it really boils down to what makes you stand out in the profs' eyes and academic results are important but secondary. And i would hate to admit it but i think coaching helps too but please avoid using those trite and standard answers, the profs and drs in the interview panels have heard it all over the years.

I hope this has been useful

Zhou Shicai
      Nicklebee Tutors

atutor2001

NickleBee Tutors:

However it is a misconception that dentistry, medicine and law only accept straight As students. There were people with 3Bs and 1A or even straight Bs who managed to get into dentistry and medicine.

.....The profs who conduct the interview are looking more for the X-factor that makes you stand out. ......
        They very lucky because the year was 2003. Today, candidate with 3B and 1A won't even be shortlisted for interview, unless very very exceptional case - represent country in sports.... Some with 4A and 1B were also not shortlisted. A few with 4A and 1C got shortlisted but haven't heard of any getting the course except after appeal - reasons unknown - only 1 case to my knowledge.

So for those who managed to get an interview, the success depends on his/her confidence, maturity, mannerism - what we call x-factor, which many kids do not have. Unknown to you, your early exposure to the \"business world\" must have helped you tremendously in the way you have presented your case.

Can these so-called x-factor be taught? Yes, to a certain limit. However limited the help may be, with coaching is definitely better than going there - blur like sotong, giving all kind of silly politically correct and general paper type of answers.

Incidentally, community service hours on your own is much preferred to ordinary school CCA. It shows commitment, initiative and self-motivation. Many silly kids spend money go overseas do 100s of service hours. If I am in the panel, I will write-off such candidates the moment such records are reflected in their CCA. It is a clear cut case of doing for point sake.

Lock

Quintessential Mum:
          Lock:

Or can the parents who had gone thru the no tuition path share the PSLE score of their kids? That may just encourage parents who intend to coach their kids themselves and save on tuition fees and time. ๐Ÿ˜„

Sure, no tuition except for Ch, PSLE - 4A* ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Just curious, is this the same kid in CHIJ(TPY) now (gather from other forum)? 4A* can go to any top girls' sch in Singapore right?

• 2 Offline
            24hr-mum

4A* means how many marks๏ผŸ 25x?

re the math question, i hv explained using the assumptn mthd, and guess n check as well. but she has prob understanding assumptn, and problem listing out the table for guess n chk. i may hv to use the pictorial mthd ie draw circles to rep the animals but eventually assumptn mthd is better if the numbers are big

csc

I think parents must learn to let go.

I always tell my hubby we must let the child fails at some pt in time so that he learns to pick himself up. IMO the earlier we let go, the better since the stakes are not so high yet.

:goodpost:

agree totally. And thanks for the reminder, Jennifer. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trapwithin

I always tell my hubby we must let the child fails at some pt in time so that he learns to pick himself up. IMO the earlier we let go, the better since the stakes are not so high yet.

:goodpost:

Well Said! and may I add .. Learn to Catch them when they Fall too.
                No one will go through through life without failure or disappointment. The important thing is to pick themselves up and continue to move forward.
                That's one main principle I wanted most to inculcate into my child's life.

prancingpony

I agree absolutely! I didn't let go earlier and went into a frenzy when psle approached for fear he would be 'lost'. I leave him on his own more in sec 1 now partly because I can't help much :lol: and it's different than in primary school. So now my p2 dd will have to learn to cope!

sleepy

prancingpony:

I agree absolutely! I didn't let go earlier and went into a frenzy when psle approached for fear he would be 'lost'. I leave him on his own more in sec 1 now partly because I can't help much :lol: and it's different than in primary school. So now my p2 dd will have to learn to cope!

I let my P2 decides what to revise for exam. How much 'extra' she's willing to put in. Not by choice though, because she anti-extra work so I've to let go, can't be breathing down her neck & I don't want to spoil our relationships.

Hence, this entire year, she didn't do a single set of top school exam papers. She identifed her own weaker areas and practiced a few comprehension in addition to revising her school worksheets. After that, she has to accept her results based on her assessment :lol:

I agreed the stakes are not that high yet. As long as she maintains her high band 1, I will let her have her autonomy. If grades start to slip, of course I will step in. I'm afterall a kiasu mama ๐Ÿ˜‰

Lock

I really enjoyed reading all the posts here. Allow me to gather my thoughts here and do a conclusion. Feel free to feedback and comment and learn together. ๐Ÿ˜„

Here it goes:
                      Learning has 2 aspects: learning the content and learning how to learn. The ideal is the latter. Motivation has 2 kinds; external and internal. Again, the ideal is the latter.

Tuition provides learning of content but does little on teaching kids how to learn and it may be the external motivation for kids. It does little on internal motivation.

CONCLUSION: if the kid is weak in foundation and needs to learn content knowledge at an accelerated speed, then tuition is necessary. BUT it must not be the end. There's still a gap in between. We should see tuition as a means to an end which is towards learning how to learn and being internally motivated to do well. With that then we can be assured of an independent and self motivated kid. Hence, our job as parents is to fill the gap, right?

• JenniferJ Offline
                        Jennifer

Lock:
                        Tuition provides learning of content but does little on teaching kids how to learn

Some good tutors can teach how to learn, some cannot. Just like sch teachers.
                        Lock:
                        an end which is towards learning how to learn and being internally motivated to do well. With that then we can be assured of an independent and self motivated kid.
                        Agreed. Bear in mind every child is different, some mature earlier, some later. Like my two boys. I dun know if my P3 boy can be let go next year ๐Ÿ™ I might hv to be prepared he will get a nastier fall than my elder boy.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 12 / 13