Would You Let Your Kids Skip School

82 Posts 16 Posters 29.3k Views 1 Watching
      Busymom

RRMummy:
      Busymom:

Or a local oso can lah, just need to \"negotiate\" properly before marriage. 😉

Never marry a foreign Chinese :x

local not foreign Chinese, or else nego before marriage... okay list inside the criteria for Son-In-Law liao. This goes after the \"Check which Primary School he studied in\" Criteria 😉

chill, chill Busymom :snuggles:

Foreign Chinese some more cannot fulfil any \"which primary school he studied in\" criteria :lol:

Thanks for your :hugs: 😄

Busymom

My son-in-law criteria will be more stringent than my daughter-in-law criteria. HaHaHa..sure got double standard bcos one is my daughter and the other is a boy.

:? why leh?

Hi Busymom,

I would like my daughter to stay closer to me when she gets married. As for my son, it may not be a good idea…would like to maintain a cordial relationship with my future daughter-in-law.

If possible, pls marry a LOCAL Singaporean and from a school with legacy…so that there is no worry of balloting for P1.

Busymom

BlueBells:
            RRMummy:

But hor.. since I have 2 DDs, wonder if our CNY will be a lonely affair when they are married.. . :roll:

We are in the same boat : 2 princesses only.

The way we do it:
            CNY Eve : lunch at PILs, dinner at my parents
            1st day CNY : Hubby's side of family until 3pm, the rest is my family side
            Rest of CNY : anywhere we feel like it 🙂

My reasoning to my ILs (parents / aunties / uncles / etc) is : we only have 2 daughters, if we don't do this, hubby and myself will be very lonely during CNY in future. So far, no disputes.

Good forward thinking that you have! *clap clap*

Well, even though I have a DD and DS, I still don't want to give them the impression that only sons are important, not daughters. 😛

Or worst, son also marries foreign Chinese and becomes like family 3 in RRMummy's post, double whammy!

The problem is, my ILs do not live here and we can't do this half day here and half day there arrangement. But they do stay at our place for certain time(s) of the year (pretty long hor), so that more than make up for the fact that they don't live here... 👅

Busymom

Hi Busymom,

I would like my daughter to stay closer to me when she gets married. As for my son, it may not be a good idea...would like to maintain a cordial relationship with my future daughter-in-law.

If possible, pls marry a LOCAL Singaporean and from a school with legacy...so that there is no worry of balloting for P1.
              Sound advice! 😉

Busymom

In my case, we need to take a plane...

- first year after marriage, went 2 days before CNY and came back on 2nd day, ended up only seeing my parents and sisters for dinner on 2nd day. 3rd day, went back to work. Very sad, told DH that we need to come back on 1st day so that I could at least see my parents on 2nd day morning.

- 2nd year, came back on 1st day as planned.

- 3rd year, my mom became terminally ill. That year, we didn't go back.

- 4th year, I was a month from DD's due date... plus my mom was in serious condition.

- thereafter, more or less back to routine except for the year DS was born and another when DH changed job.

:roll:

Anyway, back to the topic, should kids miss school to visit their grandparents just before CNY? :lol:

RRMummy

Son-in-law list ? Wow, at kiasu parent also no need to be SOOOO kiasu.

:lol: :lol:
                  HaHaHa..sure got double standard bcos one is my daughter and the other is a boy.
                  :evil: I can see your double standard liao!! 😉

RRMummy

Busymom:

As parents, we love our children equally (or try to 😉 ), and there is no such thing as in the past where daughters are 泼出去的水. 😛
                    In alot of ways my dad is very modern, but this husband / wife thing he's very particular... hmm... maybe my dad insist so that my mom won't have 'funny' ideas!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
                    Busymom:

Family 3 - nothing to say, and usually Singaporean men are easy on such things, no? :idea: what does it imply about Singaporean generally...?
                    Actually hor, amongst my Malaysian and Singaporean friends, I've found that the Malaysians places more importance to CNY. Most will not consider going away for holidays (overseas) during this period...

Then again, I've heard that since they are away from home all year round, and since their parents really want them to be there especially on CNY so they do it out of filial piety..
                    Busymom:
                    Family 4 - how long is the drive?
                    Approx 5hours.. depending on the jam.. but they said normally on Eve the crowd all cleared liao..
                    Busymom:
                    Family 5 - same comment as Family 3 above... :faint:
                    mai faint, mai faint... 😄

RRMummy

Busymom:
                      RRMummy:

double bummer!! If talk about :moneyflies: will your hubs budge? 😉

unfortunately, no. 😞

Like that har.. abit kang kor... :idea:

RRMummy

Busymom:
                        Foreign Chinese some more cannot fulfil any \"which primary school he studied in\" criteria :lol:

Thanks for your :hugs: 😄
                        :lol: :lol: :lol:

anytime dear.. anytime :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 9