Teaching Chinese at Home

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Chinese
    2.4k Posts 257 Posters 906.6k Views 1 Watching
      windows

anyone heard of "新朋友"?it’s something like "好朋友"but introduces complex mandarin.

tamarind

jemlth:
        Thanks for sharing Tamarind. You have always given very good resources. I was reading an article on 我报 recently. It states that Chinese in China are gradually losing their ability to write as well cos they have gotten used to typing hanyu pinyin and selecting the word when the selection pops up on their screen. While it is something that some educators may lament over, I agree that it is very important to get kids to recognise as many words as they can from young.

tamarind:

Actually I have heard of 实事求是 used in Chinese
        newspapers, TV news, etc in Singapore 😉

I notice that one of my students is quite good in typing messages in Chinese on the computer. Try this Chinese input using hanyu pinyin

http://dict.cn/ime.html

That gives me the idea that parents can use this tool to encourage kids to write in Chinese, also ask them to send SMS in Chinese. The biggest problem for kids who do not have a strong foundation in Chinese, is that they cannot remember how to write most of the words. It is easier for them to recognize the words using hanyu pinyin. So this Chinese input tool is helpful to them, at least it helps them to get used to writing Chinese sentences. As they write more, they will become more confident and more motivated to learn Chinese. Also note that nowadays most Chinese writings are input into the computer, not written on paper. I heard that over 50% of the content of the internet is now in Chinese.

I would only recommend upper primary kids to use this tool. Younger kids should still focus on recognizing as many Chinese words as possible, and start to practice writing from 6 years old.

jemlth,
        It's my pleasure to share with other parents 😄

I have recently returned from China, having worked there for 7 weeks. I would like to share some of my observations.

One colleague of mine said that he took higher Chinese while in school. However, now at age 37, he could not read Chinese words ! He asked us how the word 汤 looks like. He saw me happily buying tons of stuff from taobao.com, and he was very keen to try. But he could not understand the words on the taobao.com website. He told me that he hated Chinese while he was a student. He was probably forced to take higher Chinese by his parents.

Looking at him, I realized that there is no use forcing our kids to learn Chinese. We should instead, focus on developing their love for the Chinese language. Then they will always be motivated to use the language and not forget about it after the exams.

Also, I think that one major problem in Singapore, is that teachers only teach the Chinese words, they do not teach the Chinese culture or history in school. I actually brought a group of about 20 Singaporean students(almost all Chinese) to China, and when they returned, every one of them concluded that they have learned a lot about the Chinese culture. I thought that we are all ethnic Chinese, isn't it ? Why is it that these students must go to China in order to learn about the Chinese culture ?

One Singaporean Chinese lecturer told me that she only knew that 嫦娥 is a satellite that China has just sent up into space. She knew nothing about the beautiful story of 嫦娥 and 后羿.

I think that we cannot love a language without knowing anything about the culture and history. A good way to start is to make sure that our kids know all the traditional stories of China. I let my kids read wonderful books like these :

http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2010/03/books-about-filial-piety.html

我最喜欢的经典传统故事精绘本--哪吒闹海
        http://product.dangdang.com/product.aspx?product_id=20478656&ref=search-1-pub
        There are other books in this series which are also good.

Busymom

jemlth:
          Thanks! Unfortunately it's only available for Iphone 3.3 and above or something. Didn't work on mine. Time to upgrade.

yuppybb:

hey for those who are eyeing on \"学前阅读计划-首100字“...not too sure if any of you realise that there is an IPHONE APP that also carry this series. I check with my HARDCOPY book liao. The apps and the actual book is the SAME! :lol: :lol:

there is a voice recording that u can play to listen to the story. there is oso a quiz session to test on recognition of words.

the first book for the 首100字 is FREE!! 😉 😉 😉 so download n try. subsequent books u will need to pay 0.99/bk. u can search under STICKBOY LEARNS CHINESE / CHINESE 100

(pls dun be mistaken - m not working for this company heee)

:roll: :roll:

Thanks for the info. This is much cheaper than buying the books!

Busymom

tamarind:
            HyperKiasu:

[quote=\"tamarind\"]I also encountered many problems with Citibank visa, though I managed to order successfully a few times. The problem is with the Citibank server. I canceled the cards already.

Now I am using DBS Amex card, it is very easy to order with these cards. Remember to try once only, just ignore the error message.

Hi, Tamarind,

just received books from dangdang yesterday....

my kids are very excited about the books and the quality of the books are better than expected....

my son who once told me he hated chinese, last night 一口气 read two books of '不一样的卡梅拉', it is the first CHinese Books that he read independently (though he needed my help for some words he didn't know)....my daughter completed one simpler book at one go as well....

i am very happy and think i will place a new order from dangdang for those books in your updated blog....

thanks again.... :thankyou:

It's my pleasure to share good books with other parents 😉[/quote]And my kids really love 小猫当当. Thanks for the recommendation. 😄

tamarind

Busymom,

You are welcome 😄

Dear all,
              I have bought more books from dangdang while I was in China. I will be adding more good books to my blog soon 😄

http://tamarindvillage.blogspot.com/2010/09/how-to-raise-bilingual-child.html

jemlth

would like to suggest a Chinese play that is worth watching in Singapore and highly recommended for kids to get to be interested in Chinese. It is the story of 孙悟空 and 白骨精, a very familiar story for most of us. They had performed this in the Huayi festival 2009 and received positive feedback and they are back this year. There are not many children Chinese plays around. So, would really encourage parents out there to bring your kids down.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p9RoxqTJ9F8

Ticketing info can be found here http://www.papermonkey.com.sg/

😃

Charmaine_chong

Dear All,

Please check out how this mommy teaching chinese in a fun way.

http://myplayschool.net/%E5%9B%9B%E4%BA%94%E5%BF%AB%E8%AF%BB-book-1-lesson-1/

Brenda10

Hi Tamarind

Yesterday, I spent some time read through one of the 笑猫日记 that I bought quite some time ago and found it really interesting and its come with a lot of good words like 啄磨,佼佼者, 先知先觉 etc

This book has 154 pages (with some nice drawing in between) and so happy dd manage to read about 54 pages and she requested me to get the other 8 -9 books.

Thank you for your recommedation in all these wonderful CL story books.

tamarind

Brenda10:
                      Hi Tamarind

Yesterday, I spent some time read through one of the 笑猫日记 that I bought quite some time ago and found it really interesting and its come with a lot of good words like 啄磨,佼佼者, 先知先觉 etc

This book has 154 pages (with some nice drawing in between) and so happy dd manage to read about 54 pages and she requested me to get the other 8 -9 books.

Thank you for your recommedation in all these wonderful CL story books.

Hi Brenda10,
                      You are welcome 😉

My daughter is now reading 幸福的鸭子, a book in the 笑猫日记 series. She enjoyed it very much and often laughed when she was reading. The writing of the book is equivalent to adult books in the choice of words.

However, note that one or two of the books are quite dark, like in one book, the cat's youngest baby died shortly after childbirth, and the cat family spent a long time grieving. So parents who have kids who are very sensitive, you may want to pre-read each book first. You may want to keep the books with themes of death, etc, to when the child is older (like in secondary school).

Brenda10

tamarind:
                        Hi Brenda10,

You are welcome 😉

My daughter is now reading 幸福的鸭子, a book in the 笑猫日记 series. She enjoyed it very much and often laughed when she was reading. The writing of the book is equivalent to adult books in the choice of words.

However, note that one or two of the books are quite dark, like in one book, the cat's youngest baby died shortly after childbirth, and the cat family spent a long time grieving. So parents who have kids who are very sensitive, you may want to pre-read each book first. You may want to keep the books with themes of death, etc, to when the child is older (like in secondary school).
                        Hi Tamarind

So happen this was the 1st book: 小猫出生在秘密山洞 that we read. DD is aware of 生离死别 is a path everyone has to go through. As such just learn to be happy and treasure what ever is with her.

BTW, she has left 40+ pages to go and I will get in the rest a.s.a.p. since she likes it.

She also told me some of her classmates who are very good in CL compo. also reading these serial of books.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 99 / 243