How can a child gain weight? What do you feed your child?
nonKiasu:
I normally use the lowest on the oven. For my current oven, it's 150 degrees celsius. My previous oven was 100 degrees celsius.
Ha, u hit the nail. My DH can tahan I can't cook simply bec his mum also can't cook and so I guess he don't expect mummy = know how to cook.dimsum:
Another thought came to my mind, \"very difficult for his future wife to meet mrswong's high standard of TLC. :lol: \"
mrswongtuition:
Good point. What deg u normally use? What minerals are not destroyed by heat?Nonkiasu, when I grill, I don't use high heat cos I don't want the food to be too crispy also. I use low heat grill to cook the food only. In vege, only vitamins are affected by heat. Minerals are not

All minerals in food can withstand heat, but they will be leeched into water when boiled.
For vitamins, most of them are alright if cooked on low heat.
Btw, my hubs dun expect me to cook. It's because I majored in nutrition, so we have to learn cooking as part of the deal.
My hubs is the rare male that can cook (very nice food) & sew (hand sewing & sewing machine). So I'm not expected to do any of those, but I love it, so I still cook & sew
My 8yr gal is of small size (25 percentile) abt 116cm and 18kg. We have tried to coax her to take extra food, increase her meals size and frequency, give her appleton with lysine but sadly she doesnβt grow much.
She is very healthy tough (havenβt miss a school day since last year) and active too. We keeps wondering if she will ever grow bigger.
Would like to know if anyone can recommend any good doctor/nutritionist who is good at making children grow bigger. May consider bringing her there if her size is still the same by year end. Tks. -
Hi, there's a similar thread here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13359
Perhaps you can get some ideas there? -
mrswongtuition:
Why cannot put barley into water and boil together from the start? BTW is job's tear better than normal china barley?Nonkiasu, when I grill, I don't use high heat cos I don't want the food to be too crispy also. I use low heat grill to cook the food only. In vege, only vitamins are affected by heat. Minerals are not

anyway, my boy loves cucumber, cut into sticks, taken raw!
So he gets cucumber with satay
for cooling barley:
you need to boil the water first. Once boil, then you add barley (wash first). Boil for a while (until the water be ones cloudy). Turn off the flame. Leave it to sit for a while then remove the barley from the water.
Mrswongtuition, you're a gem here. Thanks for all the tips and advises. -
Barley in then boil water = heaty barley drink (very thick)
I only use holland barley. -
i have tried royal jelly, kiddy pharmaton orange syrup, herb, chinese medicine, pedisure but my boy still eats very little. otherwise he is healthy.
any proven ways to improve appetite? -
Hi nonKiasu
So sorry, just saw your msg only.
My mum bought it ~$150 at Serangoon Garden, shop next to KFC. She can't provide me the exact address. So sorry...
Workable... My DD eat a lot but don't see she gained much weight. Not those chubby type.nonKiasu:
Is it 'workable'? Where to buy and how much?chatelaine:
I bought Choon Hoe \"kai wei\" powder to feed my children. It will booast their appetite

cherrygal:
Hey there,
Haha, thanks everyone for your comments.Blobbi:
Did you just talk about my son? :lol:
Does your son eat healthily, as in rice, vegetables, protein etc, 2x a day plus a healthy breakfast? What is this like compared to his intake of candy?
My son is 109cm, 19kg... when he stands next to boys his age at kindy, he is one of the shortest and smallest. The doc said not to worry coz he is active but he is always at a disadvantage when he plays at downtown east or some kids playground. I always worry that he would be pushed down or trampled on.
As he goes to full day childcare, I don't see what he eats for breakfast, lunch and tea. He drinks a cup of milk before leaving for childcare and is supposed to eat his brekkie there. He tells me sometimes he doesn't eat what they serve for breakfast but he eats 2 bowls of rice/noodles for lunch. He eats a good serving of rice, vege and meat/fish for dinner everyday coz we always cook. He treats himself to yoghurt, ice cream, lollipops even after dinner, then downs 2 cups of milk before sleeping. He is quite fussy about his breakfast - no untoasted bread, no jam, no kaya, cheese must be melted (how to melt at the kindy??)...so he ends up not eating breakfast. He said he only wants ham and hotdogs or eggs. But breakfast cannot be the only thing causing this rite?
He eats like a snail at home... taking >1hr to finish his dinner, sometimes not even finishing the rice but I make him swallow the protein and veges.
this sound like my DS. taking 1 hr to finish meal n infront of TV !!
He was 7yr, ht 122 wt 22kg. In the chart it was at the bottom low. Need help here too.
Last yr, we gave DS breakfast before sending him to childcare n let him take some snack for afternoon tea-break. This year his student care dont allow us to pack snack. Sometime he would rather skip the tea-break.
DS eat more during dinner. (very little for lunch, perhaps he dont like the food serve in student care, that become the habit) -
cherrygal:
DS was on Pediasure since 3 year-old till now :stupid: . Still so small build.KSP:
I still let my dd now 8yrs old have Gain for milk since she was 4. She gain a lot of appetite from it. She has 3 full meals plus 3x220ml of milk (3 scopes each time) everyday. Plus some tibits and snacks. I think she is taking more food than me.
Gain IQ is good? I think I will try out Gain. We tried Pediasure on my niece (also another skinny one) last time but she ended up only drinking milk and not eating meals properly... I will try Gain for him after he finishes the last tin of GROW.
Wonder what will happen if we stop Prediasure. Is his grow be even slower! -
my 5yo boy is very small too, only 18kg i think.
he is very lazy to feed himslf. i want him to eat himmsf so he can prepare for p1 but he eats so little if self feed, end up hv to feed him
he is ok for breakfast n dinner at hm. lunch i not sure.
tried royal jelly (u can try, it worked for some kids) but didnt work for my boy. tried pediasure, kiddy pharmaton syrup, also no use.
my elder girl is like that. only started to eat more this year towards end of 7 yo
my kids cant hv tv on during meals. they wont focus on eating.
#3 is entirely different. she takes suppplement during my preg n since infant. eg sprulina, friendly bacteria, veg food, not much meat at all during bb days, n at 3y0 she is comng to 15kg, eats same amt as her siblings n will ask for food if she knows its dinner time. from 6 mths, hv been seated in hi chair throughout the meals. unlike #1 n #2 will run around. reason - differnt upgrading. my mil was ard during early days for #1 and #2 and always carry them up when they are at hi chair.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.