All About Flu and Cough
Try to put him through some aerobic sports like swimming and jogging. They really help if you keep at it everyday. Help to build up resistance naturally.[/quote]swimming really gd har.. i also heard ppl saying.. since he born i haven start to bring him to swim cos scare he catch a cold.. jogging.. my boy only 20 mth leh.. haahAloyiusbb:
[quote=\"socks\"]It happened to mine too. She'd fall sick every month. Sick for a week, lose appetite for 2 weeks, well for another 2 and then ill again. Its so frequent that our family physician suggested the flu vaccine. Seems to work for frequency has reduced significantly.
mine even flu vaccine pd also dun suggest cos my son have sensitive airway..
Vitamins! I give my kids vitamin C, calcium, multivits for growth and development. Like someone said, exercising build immune system too. But if for a young toddler to fall sick often, eat lots of food/fruits rich in vitamin c and anti-oxidants. Eg, spinach, grapes, ketchup, tomatoes, fresh fruit juices, etc…and lots of fish.
Fettuccine:
Vitamins! I give my kids vitamin C, calcium, multivits for growth and development. Like someone said, exercising build immune system too. But if for a young toddler to fall sick often, eat lots of food/fruits rich in vitamin c and anti-oxidants. Eg, spinach, grapes, ketchup, tomatoes, fresh fruit juices, etc...and lots of fish.
i tried to give him the cod fish liver oil but he dun want.. and doc prescribe me a syrup for vit but til now haven give cos he sick and on lots of medication.. -
my boy also sick very often eversince he go to childcare. More often after he go to playgroup. Sometimes the interval between him recovering and the next flu/cough/stomach flu can be less than 2 weeks!
But part of the process lah. After almost 2 years in childcare the intervals between illness is a little better…once every 2 months for the past 4 months. And that’s with vitamin C, multi vitamins, lots of fish and fruits, flu vaccine. -
Hi, Aloymum.
welcome to KSP. -
mincy:
ya i also hoping him to get used to it soon.. and slowly becme stronger..my boy also sick very often eversince he go to childcare. More often after he go to playgroup. Sometimes the interval between him recovering and the next flu/cough/stomach flu can be less than 2 weeks!
But part of the process lah. After almost 2 years in childcare the intervals between illness is a little better...once every 2 months for the past 4 months. And that's with vitamin C, multi vitamins, lots of fish and fruits, flu vaccine. -
Hi, Aloymum.
welcome to KSP.
hihi.. :lol: -
The most effective solution is to pull out from child care. Even switching from air con to non air con child care, your child would still prone to getting flu/cough due to closeness with other children who are sick. Ventilation also plays a part.
caroline3sg:
meaning there no ways to prevent..The most effective solution is to pull out from child care. Even switching from air con to non air con child care, your child would still prone to getting flu/cough due to closeness with other children who are sick. Ventilation also plays a part.
Aloysiusbb,
My son also kept falling sick when in Kinderland (aircon) when he was there for 2 yrs. He has narrow airways and snored when sleeping (seems like having difficulty in breathing). Every month’s medical bills amount to $300 (ie 2 times to S’pore Baby & Child). GP medicine cannot cure. Finally withdrew last July and now in kindergarten. He is back to normal now.
People would tell you switch to non air con child care. But the problem would still exist. Doctors’ advice is to quit child care.
All those vitamins, cod liver etc etc cannot defend against germs/viruses.
Of course, not everybody is like that. There are children who are very strong. Everybody’s immune system is different.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.